We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Globe Inn

Certificate of Excellence
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Globe Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Globe Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2017

On a day out we googled places to eat and came upon The Globe Inn. The difficulty in Wells next the sea is parking. So we were very lucky to find street parking outside The Globe on a busy sunny day. People were able to sit out front. I inquired about a list for allergies and a very helpful chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HBHRobina
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Globe on this forum. Sadly these days, parking is a bit of an issue in small towns, but I am pleased that you were able to find such a perfect spot close by. We take allergies and intolerances very seriously and always try to be helpful and provide a solution, our chefs...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

What ever has happened to this place. 9-00 pm, several families with young kids all running riot. Food choices were unavailable so four of us ordered haddock and chips. We should have gone to Plattens or Frenches because although fish was ok , chips were hard and unappetising . Something has seriously gone wrong with this establishment. Such a shame...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victor1937
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feed back on the Globe, Im afraid I cant apologise for families coming to the Globe or what time they allow their children up to we are open to everyone. I am sorry you did not enjoy your fish and chips but "hard chips" and families enjoying themselves is hardly worthy of the comment...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Wells next the Sea is a charming little seaside resort on the north Norfolk coast which is well worth a visit and it's ideal for a weekend break. This plenty to explore in the surrounding area, and great walks to be had. If you stop at Wells you could do no better than stay at the Globe Inn. We spent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Byron R
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review and for your strong recommendation. Yes our beds are truly comfortable, hand made in Ipswich, they makes a real difference to one's sleep! The black pudding is quite delicious, I agree, it is made in the traditional way by a local business called Fruit Pig Company and completes the picture of a splendid hearty...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Visited the Globe several times last summer and always satisfied with the service and the food. First visit this year for lunch was disappointing due to lack of interest shown by staff when we went to the bar. There were several members of staff in the bar area including a male who appeared to be management but no one seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your meal with us on this one occasion. We take staff training very seriously and the Easter period is when we have new staff joining the team and learning how we do things at The Globe, which, as you know from previous visits is generally very good. It saddens me...

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We pre-booked here having not got in last holiday due to it being so busy. We booked for 6pm so we could eat and be out in time to get our 1 year old to bed. Sadly despite being one of the first people in for 6, it took over an hour for our food to come out, we observed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TomBowran
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

I am saddened to read your poor experience with us, particularly as you waited for your next holiday before you could come. It certainly doesn't sound like our normal service and I can only apologise. Please do bring these things to my attention next time as if I know I can make things right for you. I hope you wil...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We visited here as a group of 8. We arrived about 3.30 but knew the all the tables were booked but we were allowed to wait until a table came free for us to sit at. We had to wait for about 1/2 an hour which wasn't an issue as we had a drink or too. We sat in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trickydisc0
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

I am very happy that we were able to accommodate your party on Easter Sunday. It was an exceptionally busy day and tables come and go so quickly! It's good to hear that all your different choices came to you hot and delicious so swiftly. We are very proud of our loos as indeed they are in what used to...

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with our dog for two nights and we're impressed in all areas. The customer service was excellent and efficient with warm welcome, smiles and staff checking whether we were happy throughout our stay. Our room was comfortable with additional treats left - sweeties in a jar, a birthday card for hubby plus some bath bombs, all prettily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KateMcKay
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to tell everyone of your happy experience. Many of our hotel guests don't 'do' trip advisor but experience the same excellent stay that you have detailed, so it is lovely to read yours. I am pleased that you, your husband and the pooch enjoyed our gifts in the...

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We have had a couple of evening meals recently & it was wonderful. The food was excellent, beautifully presented too. The staff were welcoming & helpful. Service was excellent. There was a really lovely atmosphere. We shall return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hlmoye
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us on this forum and thanks for your 5 stars, I am so happy that you enjoyed the true Globe Experience. The team and I love creating that special atmosphere that makes people feel comfortable. I look forward to welcoming you back when you return.

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Had a pint of ghost ship and some chilli cheese chips. It was nice in the beer garden but busy. A good place on a sunny day. They offer a good menu and stock a large selection of beers, wines and spirits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - when all is said and done, there's nothing better than a pint of bitter and some chips, I am glad you enjoyed them. The courtyard is really sheltered from the wind of the north Norfolk coast and I hope we will see you again!

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We sat down in the restaurant at 6.30pm - family of 4. We didn't order starters but had to wait about 45 minutes for our main courses of curry, fish and chips and crab linguine. The curry was nice but more of a home made rather than authentic indian flavour and not very spicy despite ordering the hot version. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rumpole1968
TheGlobeatWells, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your food service seemed a little haphazard. We were in the midst of staff training when you visited as we take on new staff for Easter and the season and this could have contributed to your slow service. Our curries are one of our most popular dishes and the chefs make their own Madras paste using...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.1 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
655 reviews
8.6 km away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,261 reviews
15.7 km away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
203 reviews
11.1 km away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
382 reviews
18.1 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking a pretty, leafy Georgian square in the bustling seaside town of Wells-next-the-Sea, The Globe Inn is a great base for a break on the beautiful north Norfolk coast or an ideal spot for a pint of beer and some simple, home cooked food. Accredited with 4 stars and a silver award by Enjoy England, the Inn offers exceptional quality in all areas. We are also proud to have been approved by the Visit England Cyclists Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Welcome Pets schemes. There is a sun-filled courtyard for alfresco eating and dining and a perfect spot to read your morning paper whilst having breakfast. Take a short walk down Staithe Street to the quay and you’ll see fishermen setting out on a good tide for inshore crab, whelk and the passing sea trout and bass. The town offers a central base for the nearby beautiful Holkham Beach with more than four miles of golden sand, and the world-class bird watching sites of the Holkham Nature Reserve, Cley-next-Sea and Titchwell. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Address: The Buttlands | Norfolk, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range: ₹ 8,273 - ₹ 14,974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
The Globe Inn Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Globe Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Globe Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms were a little noisy early in the morning due to deliveries to the hotel”
heatherlM7551XR, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Not sure, probably the best one”
KnownTravelWriter, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we were in room 3 quiet view overlookiing the green”
patandjune98, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wonderful location”
229kellyF123, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are travelling with dogs room 3 is the best”
EWTG1, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates