We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bank House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Start your review of Bank House Hotel
 Click to rate
Tottenhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came here for a birthday meal with family.. have come previous times and all have enjoyed. First time my mum has been and she really enjoyed. She has the sharing fish platter with her partner and both enjoyed. Me and partner had the sirloin steak which both enjoyed! Not a very busy night so had good service will deffiently come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited here on 24/4/17 after reading reviews on trip advisor. Asked for a menu to order food at the bar but was told there was a 75 minute wait for food as a few tables had arrived at the same time. Shame really as the menu looked good!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magicbloke
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stay in this hotel each year for our business stock take that is not too far. Great hotel, staff are lovely and helpful, rooms are lovely and clean with a lot of wonderful finishing touches. The Sunday roast is amazing but you need to order quick and they quickly sell out!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was excellent, service a tad slow but was not a problem and gave us a chance to catch up with friends. A good choice of beers and wines reasonably priced. All in all a good experience and we will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you can, make sure you are not offered a table in anywhere other than the main dining space. We walked out after 50 minutes of being ignored in the room at the back and no sign of anything we'd ordered actually arriving. A vague attempt at an apology by staff on the way out. Our money was taken for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinH065
Michael B, General Manager at Bank House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Bank House. We are always grateful to customers who take the time to write but I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the experience. We normally pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, and also on the quality of the food we serve, all prepared from fresh...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to this venue for a friends baby shower and had the classic afternoon tea. At £15 per person i felt completely cheated. Traditional tea in a pot made with loose leaf tea. On opening the pot found it to be literally half full of mulch, suggesting that pit is not emptied between services. Plates of sandwiches stacked and muddled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandradee212
Michael B, General Manager at Bank House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Bank House, we appreciate all feedback and I am sorry that you feel we have let you down on this occasion. I would like to address some of the points that you raise individually. The loose leaf tea that we use here at Bank House is blended for us and as it steeps in...

London
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed having travelled from Surrey to enjoy a long weekend of good beer and food to find ourselves let down at the highly rated Banks House. There are two dining areas and as a previous reviewer pointed out you don't want to be in the quiet one. So frustrating to be given your table after a long day and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hackman1
Michael B, General Manager at Bank House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review of Bank House, we appreciate all feedback good or bad as it helps us to review and improve on our service to our guests. I am sorry that you were let down by us on this occasion. I believe from reading your review that you arrived at particularly busy part of the evening and...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This is everything a good restaurant should be. Welcoming staff, great food and lovely surroundings. Iced water brought to the table as soon as we were seated (always goes down well with me!), friendly but unobtrusive staff and the food... Ox cheek with dauphinoise potatoes and kale was truly wonderful, and my friends assured me their meals were just as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidfmn
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at Bank House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, all of the staff are grateful to receive such positive feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the tour of the cellar too. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bank House in the not to distant future. Emily - Bank House

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff at Bank House, from big to small requests, and their welcome made all the difference to our family weekend. We had two big dinners and all the details were taken care of. The rooms (we used 6) were wonderful, especially the fabulous larger Nell's Room which looked directly out over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luja2016
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at Bank House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, all of the staff are grateful to receive such positive feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to Bank House in the not to distant future. Emily - Bank House

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Was a miserable wet day. We popped in on the off chance. Nice pint of Southwold bitter a glass of Sauvignon and the sea food platter to share. Absolutely bang on. Service was efficient, had lovely table for two. No TV, No music, just the sound of people. We shall return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
Emily N, Public Relations Manager at Bank House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much, what a nice review to read, many thanks and we do hope you return soon. Emily - Bank House

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
0.4 km away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
994 reviews
0.3 km away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
707 reviews
9.9 km away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,077 reviews
1.1 km away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
259 reviews
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Bank House
The Bank House
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Relaxed atmosphere, contemporary style" Bank House is a unique Grade II * listed 11 bedroom Georgian town house hotel, set on the quay side in the heart of the historic and business areas of King’s Lynn, and a step away from the renowned Corn Exchange theatre and Arts Centre. Recently renovated to bring an eclectic flourish to the building’s Georgian grandeur, Bank House is now King’s Lynn’s most exciting and inviting place to eat, drink and stay. Our stunning bedrooms are each individually decorated and immensely comfortable. We love food at Bank House! Our menu offers modern brasserie food, using top quality fresh ingredients and taking full advantage of the wonderful produce of the area in season. Our elegant Bar, once the bank manager's office, is open all day. Teas, coffees and delicious home made cakes are available throughout the day, with the Bank House tea of sandwiches, scones and cakes served during the afternoon. We have a number of private rooms available for meetings and conferences, private dinners, parties and weddings, large or small, and can tailor our catering to suit your exact requirements and budget. Wi-fi internet is available throughout. Why not visit our older sister, The Rose & Crown, Snettisham? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Address: Bank House Kings Staithe Square, King's Lynn PE30 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Price Range: ₹ 9,473 - ₹ 11,857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Bank Hotel Kings Lynn
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#6 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bank House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Stroud, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bank House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Splash out and get the Captain's Room - excellent!”
Hannah261, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don,t book a room on a Friday”
williamk169, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book rooms overlooking the river, lovely views. Parking available on the quay (pay on display).”
janecN9473VQ, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room overlooking the river is nice”
richard_and_robbie, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nell's room has view over the water front and is large and comfortable”
  • Nell's room
  • Nell's room
  • Bathroom of Nell's room
BigwigFrance, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5