We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Compleat Angler

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Compleat Angler
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,834: English reviews
roydon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed as had a wedding in the local area and have to say communal areas and location much better than they appear on the generic Macdonald hotels website . Very helpful bell and reception staff and has a great location on the river as well as a very short walk to a delightful high street . Bar food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james p
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback following your stay with us. It is important that I hear where we are getting it right and where we can also focus our attention to improve on service and guest satisfaction. I am sorry to hear that you felt the property was due investment. We are planning a refurbishment later this year which will...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The best bit is that it is in Marlow and just a walk across Bridge with parking. The rooms are ok but thats about it. Expensive for what if offers. Rooms were very hot. Breakfast was great and overall service was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonSydney2020
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback and I am pleased to note that both breakfast and service were in line with your expectations. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions.

Tadworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here just for one night. We had a great room overlooking the river which was 1st class, clean, very comfortable and lovely and warm on a cold February day but the whole experience was enhanced by the attitude of the staff. The Receptionist was professional and friendly as was the Concierge, who made sure that our dog was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely feedback. I am delighted to note that you had such a pleasant experience and that my team extended high levels of hospitality to you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you both back, with Monty, on many future occasions.

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a party of seven to the Compleat Angler across the bridge from Marlow. The soup was so thick it hardly registered as soup, the carrot and broccaly were undercooked, hard and really not eatable,and my wife thought her pork loin was overcooked and tough. The sweet was, however, very good. It is a great location and a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petergreig
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Dear Mr Greig Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit to the Riverside Restaurant. Both Raj Chakraborty, Regional Executive Chef, and myself were most concerned to learn of your experience and would like to personally discuss this with you. I would be grateful if you could contact my office on 01628 405421 when convenient....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing location and a lovely hotel but at £200 for a nights bed and breakfast it should be. The Crowne plaza used to be our hotel of choice at half the cost but now that's turned really poor under new ownership. The Macdonald is one of the best views (make sure you get a good room with a view!) you'll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joynesie
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback following your recent stay. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the location and accommodation and that the quality of breakfast served to you fully met your expectations. I do hope you will return to visit us again soon so that we ensure you have a very pleasant stay.

High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was my first visit to The Compleat Angler Riverside Restaurant, with my mum, and I couldn't have been more impressed! We had the excellent value Market Lunch - 3 courses for £25. With drinks, 3 courses and tea/coffee (with delicipus petits fours!) and 12.5% service charge, the total bill came to about £77. The quality of every dish was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence T
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your recent visit. I am delighted to learn of your experience and that you all enjoyed the food and service in the Riverside Restaurant. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only spent one night in the hotel and didn't use the restaurant as the purpose of our visit was to visit the fantastic Hand & Flowers. However we did enjoy an excellent breakfast in the Riverside restaurant where there was a very good selection offered and the full english breakfast was beautifully cooked to order. Our room was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. I am delighted to note that you had a pleasant visit and that my team extended a warm welcome to you both. I am sorry to hear that you felt the accommodation was dated and due investment. We are planning a refurbishment later in the year which will be similar and in-keeping...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on a rather uninteresting and expensive rate but I was willing to try given the location and appeal of the town. All went well and the room was lovely. Not so good....came back from a lovely meal and had a few drinks, and then the staff obviously had a changeover....one gin and tonic later and the night "manager"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MattPWilson
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent experience and I am pleased that the accommodation offered to you met your expectations. I was disappointed to learn of your comments regarding our Night Manager and your interaction with him when wishing to order drinks in the bar at 4.30am. The Night Manager was carrying out his duties as expected although...

Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My return visit to The Compleat Angler was a delight even though the weather was not right for the champagne on the lawn that we had enjoyed last summer. Dinners in both the Riverside Restaurant and Sindhu were scrummy. The only thing missing is a proper hand pulled English beer. Bottles just aren't the same and especially when there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit and for your kind comments regarding your experience at the hotel, and whilst dining in the Riverside and Sindhu. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Bangalore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location of this hotel is simply amazing. Right by the river Thames and alongside the beautiful and historic Marlow bridge. Rooms are very comfortable and tastefully done. Service levels are not up to the mark. Do not expect any warm hospitality by the front desk / reception, service levels for breakfast service were really very slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShabbirMerchant
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay and I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the accommodation offered to you. I was disappointed to learn that our usual warm welcome and high standards of hospitality were not extended to you and that some delays were experienced during breakfast service. Please be assured...

324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
3.9 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
1.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
889 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
730 reviews
14.8 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Riverside Restaurant
Riverside Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Price Range: ₹ 11,591 - ₹ 23,933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow, England
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Compleat Angler staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Compleat Angler staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suites overlooking the river are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 558martino, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best Room is the Windsor Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles spencertayl0r, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“have a room overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles johnde215ll, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Several options, ours in the main building were easily accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles ianbB855GV, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“River View in original building”
 of 5 bubbles Mikysussex, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5