We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cliff House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cliff House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliff House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,466: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had short break here recently. Very enjoyable. I like the very different hotel layout, it's location, tucked into the cliff side. All views are of the sea which is at the hotel's feet. Rooms are great - very cleverly laid out, great feeling of being suite-like. And 2 balconys to boot. Staff were super efficient and courteous. Ate in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian186600
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian186600 Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your comments very much. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon sometime. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a really wonderful visit to this exceptional hotel. Our greeting and interaction with staff from check-in through to restaurant was really personable. Food in restaurant simply exquisite. Will return!

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23jasono
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 23jasono Thank you so much for your very kind words. We loved looking after you and hope to have the pleasure some day soon again. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic hotel, friendly staff with a warm welcome (we had a toddler with us and they were brilliant with him) amazing views, breakfast was lovely and the cliff walk was the icing on the cake! Would love to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharkboy10
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sharkboy10 Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind review. It was our pleasure to look after you and we look forward to welcoming you back some day. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here one night last weekend. Such an amazing place, the staff are hands down the friendliest of any place I have ever stayed. It's got a cosy guesthouse feel to it but with the absolute best of everything. Food was great and loved the breakfast. Forgot an item post check out and it was posted back without any fuss....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oakster29
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear oakster29 Thank you very much for your visit and also for your review. Delighted that it ticked all the boxes for you. Hope to see you back soon sometime. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an overnight stay at the Cliff House which included the Tasting Menu in the Michelin star restaurant. The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly by everyone we met. The check in was fast and efficient. We were shown to our room by the lady who checked us in, and she informed us on all the hotel amenities....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martina F
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martina F Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate it and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back next year. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's a more modern take on a hotel, and similar in venue and Acutrament to the Malmison in Oxford. Staff is polite except as noted in other reviews, we too were ignored after dinner (in the bar) when it was time to settle. The venue is nice but starting to show wear and becoming a little unkept - maintenance would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul K
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul K Many thanks for your comments. Maintenance is ongoing and busy in January when we quieten down a bit. We hope you will see the improvements on your next visit. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took a last minute break to the Cliff House over the weekend. It was wonderful from start to finish. Beds are so so comfortable, meal lovely and waiting staff excellent. A great place to visit and picked up some great Christmas gifts in the fabulous gift shops nearby the hotel. A little bit more chat and banter perhaps in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carole K Thank you so much for staying with us and for your very kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of you return visit for some more banter! Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Truly exceptional, service was amazing, food was delicious and all staff made our mini moon so special. The staff was very attentive and made us feel so welcome. I highly recommend people to stay here. One word, exceptional!

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian F
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian F Thank you for visiting us and we are delighted that you were well looked after for your recent stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back again, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here recently, the entrance is lovely, room had a fab view, comfy bed, good facilities, shower a bit grotty around the bottom😝 Food in the bar wasn't great, service was slow and overly fussy. Drinks in the bar that evening were again fussy and slow. Breakfast was probably the most disappointing, tasteless cheap tomato, a very average sausage, very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wexguy
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wexguy Really sorry that you were disappointed. Pity that you did not mention it at the time as we would have liked to address the issues you raised. Nonetheless we will take heed of your points and appreciate your candid feedback. Yours sincerely Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 10 December 2016

I cannot fault the ambience, food or waitstaff here. They did a wonderful job explaining the fare and it was a lovely, special evening. Unfortunately, the evening ended on a somewhat sour note when paying the bill. The maitre d or manager, in a suit with a bald head and glasses completely ignored us as we paid at the table....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CorkFoodLover84
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CorkFoodLover84 Thank you for visiting us and for your review. I am glad that for the most part that you enjoyed your meal but I am very sorry about the poor experience you received when departing, I do sincerely apologise as there is no excuse for this. I hope that it won't put you off returning. Yours sincerely Adriaan...

931 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (614)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (238)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Balcony Suite (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
Deluxe Terrace Room (45)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Terrace Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
24.2 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,513 reviews
17.4 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.9 km away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
278 reviews
9.3 km away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
333 reviews
0.0 km away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Price Range: ₹ 14,261 - ₹ 28,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth spending the bit extra for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles D4456EWemmad, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book dinner early. The restaurant is always busy”
 of 5 bubbles MartinH325, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the deluxe rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 23jasono, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Delux Balcony Rooms are worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles 360martinaf, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All have great views anytime we stayed”
 of 5 bubbles 424carolek, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay