We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portumna House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Start your review of Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Very friendly. Nice welcome for two franchies spending a night in Portumna and good advice to go to Hayes' pub. We get some new fellows and stayed for à couple of hours there. Better to walk when you go to this pub.. Breakfast, room everything was great at the B&B

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bacou D
Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We spent two very comfortable nights in this homey B&B and would highly recommend it. Our room was bright and handsomely decorated, fitted with everything that we could possible need for our stay. The very best feature was David and Oona, who shared hosting responsibilities, making us feel welcome and valued. We so enjoyed our conversations with each of them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fofullam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We stopped off here on the way home from a hotel stay in Bantry. The breakfast at the B&B was far better quality than the one in the hotel. We got a warm welcome from both David an Una and would highly recommend Portumna House.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PatOcarson
isle of man
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We have just come back home from our stay at Portumna House and our hosts Una and David cannot do enough for you.It is spotlessly clean and the welcome is second to none .The breakfast is brilliant and you get a great pot of tea- Love this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandyles
Talgarth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015

This is an easy one to review. There is only one thing to say........Perfect. How nice to meet hosts such as David & Una. All B&B owners should be sent here to learn how to do it properly. Thanks very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you both for kind comments, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Portumna House.

Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2015

I have stayed at Portumna House b&b twice now and I have never been disappointed! David and Una are lovely people who are extremely welcoming, friendly and they can't do enough for you; nothing is ever too much trouble! The breakfasts are amazing and the rooms are lovely, spacious and clean with extremely comfortable beds. The b&b is situated in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Galwaygirlruthy90
DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stays at Portumna House and look forward to your future visits.

Leland, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by David and Una, and made to feel right at home. Our room was fresh and appealing. There is traffic on the road in front, so if this is inclined to bother you, ask for a room facing the back. It wasn't very busy, but there is traffic. Breakfast in the morning was substantial...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoisNCNY
DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you Lois and Bob for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet your family. we hope your trip to Sligo was a success.

Reviewed 20 September 2014

really enjoyed my stay, one of the most welcoming B & B's I've stayed in, great location, and a lovely spacious room with great facilities. its very close to all the amenities, there's a very relaxed and warm atmosphere - David was so welcoming, and helpful and the wifi worked great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Niamh M
DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you Niamh for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Portumna House during the Shorelines Arts Festival. And thank you for your encouragement " Write "

Belfast
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have just stayed with Una and David and we couldn't recommend it more. This was my first time returning to Portumna in many years and both Una and David showed an avid interest in hearing all about my previous holidays there. They are so welcoming and friendly and would go out of there way to ensure you had an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CathyMcGiv55
DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Portumna House.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed in Portumna House B&B last March with my wife and we both plan on going back there soon. The owners were welcoming, the facilities were top notch, and the food was delicious. Highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone who plans on visiting the area. 5 stars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Portumna House. We look forward to seeing you again.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portumna
0.3 km away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
0.6 km away
Pod Umna Village
Pod Umna Village
#1 of 3 in Portumna
159 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Curra House B&B
#4 of 6 in Portumna
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Cartron House Farm
Cartron House Farm
#3 of 6 in Loughrea
38 reviews
0.0 km away
Murrays Bed & Breakfast
Murrays Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 6 in Portumna
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome awaits you at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast. Portumna House is a purpose built Bed and Breakfast with all rooms en-suite with TV/dvd and tea/coffee making facilities. Situated 200 meters from the town centre and close to all amenities like Portumna Golf Club, Lough Derg, Shannon Cruises, Portumna Castle and forest park walks. Tea coffee and home made scones on arrival. Children welcome. Guests' sitting room available with multichannel TV, tea/coffee available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portumna House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Portumna House Saint Brendans Road | Portumna County Galway, Portumna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Portumna
Price Range: ₹ 4,977 - ₹ 5,537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Portumna House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portumna House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at back is probably quieter but it didn't bother us being at the front.”
sandyles, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Go and visit the Portumna Workhouse...it will open your eyes. Ask for Gerry,a very knowledgeable guide.”
RogerH361, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in a room at the front and it was lovely”
SharonMarshall66, 3 Jun 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are clean and tidy, ours had an ensuite and the kids although had 2 single beds was very spacious”
Dom0576, 13 May 2014 | Read review
“All rooms were very good, ours has both a double and a single bed in it”
  • View of the garden from the breakfast table
Lsh55, 13 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5