We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Gigur by Keahotels

Save
Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (29)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent8%
  • Very good20%
  • Average41%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“tap water”(2 reviews)
“hot springs”(2 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Free Breakfast
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
2 Star Hotel
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Skutustooum, Lake Myvatn 660, Iceland
48.5 km to Akureyri Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
11
21
33
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
11
21
33
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstap waterhotel is locatedhot springsshort drivepseudo cratersmyvatn nature bathskristenbirdvolcanoducks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, location is very convenient. Rooms are a little bit small but for one night was perfect. We were a party of 6 and there were no complaints. The restaurant is very nice and dinner was amazing, we really enjoyed it. We would stay...More

1  Thank Enrique G
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am 5 days into a 7 day trip of the country and I have stayed in 5 different cities. Some North Americans may complain about the size of the room as it is small but when I am on vacation all I need from...More

1  Thank djmToronto
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The smallest room i have ever been in europe. No place to move, heating system not working, smelly water. having read the reviews in tripadvisor I realized The hotel managment is aware of the fact that rooms are tiny but they are too greedy to...More

2  Thank עומר ה
Response from Dísa Rún J, Reception Manager at Hotel Gigur by KeahotelsResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. The water smells of sulfur because the hotel is in a geothermal area and it is perfectly normal. We hope you had an overall fantastic time in Iceland. On behalf of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place has huge potential, they just haven't quite got there. The room was very small and hot with only two tiny windows for ventilation. The beds were comfortable enough. The bathroom was tiny but serviceable. The driveway tried to eat my car when I...More

Thank Heather M
Response from Dísa Rún J, Reception Manager at Hotel Gigur by KeahotelsResponded 1 week ago

Dear Heather M, Thank you for taking time to write a feedback here on tripadvisor. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay like we would have wanted you to do. We will take all of your comments to consideration and hope that...More

Reviewed 11 June 2018

The location is the greatest at the southern end of the lake. Amazing to be in the dining room or the bedrooms facing the lake and watch the swans, incredibe variety of ducks there for nesting, Interesting bird walks lead from the hotel. The staff...More

Thank GS-Ojai
Response from Dísa Rún J, Reception Manager at Hotel Gigur by KeahotelsResponded 1 week ago

Dear GS-Ojai, It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Hotel Gígur. We appreciate your pleasant feedback regarding our staff and the restaurant! We value that you took time to write review our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again, hopefully...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 179 - US$ 281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 179 - US$ 281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (29)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hotel Gigur by Keahotels staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"ask for rooms not next to the parking lot"
Read review
"A room with view of lake"
Read review
"All rooms are good"
Read review
"Ask for a north (lake) facing room."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing