We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Posada del Bosque Encantado

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Posada del Bosque Encantado
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

We were under the impression that there was a double bed in the loft area and another bed downstairs in the room (probably from Lonely Planet). The two beds are actually downstairs. There is a loft but ours just had some bare mattresses leaning up against the wall and broken glass in the windows. The beds were quite comfortable though....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RacheyKK
San Francisco Bay, CA and Southern Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 April 2015

We spent a very relaxing night here in February. The place was clean, quiet (thick adobe walls) and friendly. Oh, and very well priced! A great place from which to explore San Marcos. We enjoyed wandering through the garden, and lounging in the rancho with a morning cup of coffee was a pleasant start to the day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toucanbob
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2015 via mobile

It's a lovely posada, a bit pricey, but you get your money's worth. You wake up to the chirping and singing of birds, the skylight in the room guarantees you'll wake up early with the sun on your face. The room is lovely with comfortable beds. The showers have very weak pressure so forget about washing your hair... If you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank superkaika
Penticton, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We stayed here only one night because it was a bit out of our price range, and we wanted to splurge after our terrible experience at our last place. Terry had ties to my hometown in the east (She lived many years in my home town's sister city) and she played us a lovely song on guitar before she left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElleBeck
Ajijic, Mexico
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We reserved this hotel locally, as we were already staying in various villages around Lake Atitlán. Made it clear we were looking for a quiet respite. the owner required a 50% deposit to her bank account even though we were already here, which in retrospect ought to have been a warning sign. When we arrived there was major construction happening...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ekknox
Tioga, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 December 2014

My group of 4 women stayed at Bosque Encantado for four days and it really was an enchanted visit! The small posada is set facing a quiet garden/forest, away from any traffic (not that there is much in San Marcos!), so we felt that we had not only our rooms but the porch and the garden to enjoy. The setting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nuedi
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewed 25 September 2014

This was my second stay at this lovely hotel. The Owner Terry and the staff ( her family ) are all really nice people to be around. They make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. If you are lucky and have the time you should go see Terry perform with her band they are really good musicians. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JossefGuate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and found San Marcos to be lovely and peaceful. Our room was lovely with loads of room and it was great to have our own bathroom. There are only 3 rooms but they are set in beautiful gardens. Terry the owner was very helpful, giving us recommendations and even showed us her beautiful house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatyHS
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went to Posada del Bosque Encantado's restaurant for dinner because the atmosphere was very nice. The food was quite good but the service... horrible. When we arrived there was no one to welcome us or even pointing us a table. So we went to the kitchen window to ask if it's possible to eat and we were very rudely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lallukka
Terry R, Owner at Posada del Bosque Encantado, responded to this review

I am the owner of the Posada del Bosque Encantado. Normally we do not serve dinner, only a very delicious breakfast. We were experimenting with a possible new chef and only served dinner twice. I am sorry for your disappointing experience with us. This chef is an excellent cook, but does not speak much spanish(from Denmark). He was not a...

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed there unfortunately only for two nights. The big, clean and nice furnished rooms are directly in a lovely garden. Any room is supplied with free drinking water every day. The local staff and the ownerin are really nice and helpful! By the way, this hotel is only a few minutes walk away from the national park, Cerro Tzankujil.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8M_Ma-rt-in_n7

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
4.9 km away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
639 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
143 reviews
9.0 km away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
481 reviews
2.9 km away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
294 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Horus
Casa Horus
#5 of 7 in San Marcos La Laguna
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Posada del Bosque Encantado

Address: San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Posada del Bosque Encantado staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Anoka, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Posada del Bosque Encantado staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All 4 rooms are the same, so no need to specify.”
toucanbob, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Book in advance and make sure you bring all you need to San Marcos la Laguna as it is an isolated town and this is the real beauty of it.”
JossefGuate, 24 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Hotel only has 3 rooms for 3 people each”
saria_x, 6 Jan 2014 | Read review
“I liked the end unit, the one farthest from the entrance. More solitude and privacy.”
gogoglobal, 25 Sep 2013 | Read review
“They are all the same as they are in a row of only 3 rooms in total with the verandah joining them”
SoPeru, 28 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5