We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Upper Paralia Estate, Valparai India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (322)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (11)

About

#2 of 31 Specialty lodging in Valparai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Hidden Gem
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Room types
Family rooms
151Reviews20Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 118
  • 23
  • 4
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shyamala & Geetha wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions
My friend Geetha, my grandson & I stayed in this property from September 27th to 30th. It is an ultimate property for nature lovers. Ms.Meenu Nair who is in charge of guest relations is a wonderful person who took care of all our needs. Should mention Mr. Murugan the care taker & Mr. Asirvadham the awesome cook. The room is spacious with victorian furniture. The verandah over looking a beautiful Valley was the bonus. The bungalow is located in the Parry Agro Tea Estate. The entire property is well maintained with beautiful gardens & lawn. Mr. Murugan took us to stream in the estate to bathe which was a wonderful experience. Sinnadorai Bungalow is THE place to stay in Valparai. Reviewed by Shyamala & Geetha
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
audant wrote a review Jul 2022
Kochi (Cochin), India137 contributions82 helpful votes
Though we have been a few times there, it never gets bored. This time we took our niece over. We had to share time between Munnar and Valparai. Thinking the young girl would get bored in Valparai, we just spent a night there and planned to spend the next two nights in Munnar. But every one of us were so much in love with this property, that we regretted we stayed just one night. Homely, and no nonsense food. Hospitality at its best.. We even wanted to know what is the brand of rice they cook, and then when we left we searched and bought the same rice. I would love to spend every holiday there
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for the last room next to the valley
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
premwilson wrote a review May 2022
Chennai (Madras), India37 contributions13 helpful votes
Sinnadorai bungalow is a well maintained property at a very beautiful and serene location. The drive from the main road to the bungalow itself was quite an experience with greener all around and occasional encounters with bisons among other wild animals. The rooms are well maintained and the property retains its colonial charm. The staff members here were extremely humble, and their personal care and attention to every guest were remarkable. Murugan was an excellent host - very patient and attentive towards comfort for every guest. He also doubled up as a superb tour manager in helping us see the charm of the Paralai Tea Estate and Valparai. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and vacation indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room in Main Bungalow any day
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
shoma65 wrote a review Apr 2022
Mumbai, India130 contributions22 helpful votes
This is a lovely, well maintained property with 6 cottages/rooms with fabulous views. Courteous Staff, long walks, and extremely fresh and mouth watering food has been our experience. The drive is little tiring since it is on top of a hillock.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: rooms that are at lower levels are more private
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Meenu Nair, General Manager at Sinna Dorai's Bungalow
Responded 3 May 2022
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to give us a good review. Much appreciated. In the service part you have given us only 4 stars so would appreciate if you could tell us what was not upto the mark so that we can rectify the same. Thank you once again and tc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Prabhu S wrote a review Feb 2022
New Delhi, India2 contributions5 helpful votes
Worst property.Enough unnecessary hype by interstate people from URBAN jungle. Below Average food. Trekking is just next door. Horrible internet. Hefty price and Long drive. HORRIBLE WIFI with powercuts. Please avoid for the cost of travel and the cost of stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Meenu Nair, General Manager at Sinna Dorai's Bungalow
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Thank you for your review, but as I mentioned in response to your Google review too, we do not remember hosting you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sri Vishnu wrote a review Jan 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 4 days with family, the place is neatly maintained, staffs are so courteous and are following strict covid protocols. We were taken for tour inside the estate for wildlife spotting (we did get lucky) and for spending quality time at falls, ponds, etc., One thing that stood out was food - be it the taste, be it the meticulous effort by the staff to meet everyone's needs, it was just awesome. Over all, fantastic place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Meenu Nair, General Manager at Sinna Dorai's Bungalow
Responded 1 Feb 2022
Thank you for your great review Vishnu. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Look forward to having you with us once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RaviRaaja wrote a review Jan 2022
Coimbatore, India9 contributions17 helpful votes
2nd Visit-Quality Degrade and depressing experience here. Feeling exhausted and ripped off Total rip off for nothing. This is my 2nd visit to this venue by recommendation by friends and relatives Worst experience in Sinna Dorai estate-Valparai for the cost. Not Worth the cost too Except Tea- its too late they open their kitchen and Rooms with water heaters – Power cuts and power WIFI connections. Worst and Pathetic food menus and diners. Traditional food is horrible of any cuisine which you have request. Food is not made with passion and proper proportion. Vegetarian food is a mess but edible but non veg food is crap and they throw some kind of recipe in the chicken called ROAST chicken melted with burnt onions. Cold and oversalted curries with Salty rasam. Salads & Desserts are like horrible amateur done. Strolling around as trekking with Staff Murugan was a luxury walk and they provide lights with assistance to walk to your accommodation-cottage. If you love nature and peace of mind with tolerance by not bothering about POWER CUTS, Pathetic Wifi and the humiliating food experience. Total Disappointment for the long drive to Valparai. Highly not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Meenu Nair, General Manager at Sinna Dorai's Bungalow
Responded 11 Jan 2022
Dear Ravi, Kindly let me know your date of visit here.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachitha K wrote a review Jul 2021
67 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for 3 days it was one of the best experiance. the place is beautiful we stayed in the bunglow. the food was simply but very tasty. care taker Murgun was very good after having language he is the best. we had a wonderful morning walk and dip in the stream.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nimi wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution5 helpful votes
After a year of lockdown, we 10 girlfriends decided to getaway on a break and chose Chinnadurai bungalow in Valparai. We spent 3 nights there, from 4th to 7th of March 2021. The rooms were lovely amidst the lovely tea estate and the view were stunning.I We had a relaxing stay and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights the. The staff even went out of their way to decorate the conference room for our friends birthday and baked a lovely cake. However being a chef for 35 years in the hospitality industry, I wanted to share some of our dismal dining experiences. We were greeted by Meenu the manager when we arrived but then she had to leave for Coorg. She left us with her staff & Murugan was left in charge, to take care of us. The food was simple but tasty and we had no complaints there. However the food served was not sufficient for 10 of us. We informed them on the first day itself, (infact I went to the kitchen and spoke to the cook) and briefed him about the veg and non veg numbers in our group and requested himto make enough for the10 of us. The next 3 days we were served good food but quantity was not enough. The staff even wanted us to share things like the fried fish (as they did not make enough), only bringing us more, after we insisted. Evening snacks were only one piece of something, for each of us and again after insisting they brought more. On the 3rd day, we had idiappam with mutton khorma for dinner, vegetarians got Idiappam with chutney in spite of requesting in the afternoon to make potato and peas khorma for vegetarians , there was no dessert and hence instant sliced banana with milk maid was served as dessert!! Pathetic Vegetarians were left out big time. On the last night during dinner, we asked Murugan for a late breakfast at 10:30am, as we were checking out. He said that's fine and told us Idli, dosai with sambar and chutney will be served, so we asked whether we can have some vadai as well. He straightaway told us there is no urud dhal in the kitchen. The day we checked out Sambar was in a small hot case and a friend told the staff that it looks very little hope you have more in the kitchen and they said they did have, however half of us did not get any sambar and by the time they made a new instant sambar batch, we had finished our breakfast. No effort was made to get urud dhal to make vadai, inspite of having enough time to make it, if they wanted to. We put up with all of this, as we didn't want to ruin our holiday. Murugan who was left incharge was very nice and polite person, however he had no authority and hence couldn't make things happen. You would wonder why this was not communicated to Meenu during our stay. The booking was done by a good friend who didn't want to complain, hence I thought of giving my honest feedback for improvement at their end. I'm sure that she must have been in touch with her staff and getting feedbacks from them I personally felt that any of this was not the fault of the staff. Out of 6 rooms in total, we had occupied 5 rooms, for 3 days. First and foremost there should have been a manager to attend to guests, especially when there was a full occupancy. If the manger had to leave, then someone who is capable of decision making should have been there to take care of the guests. We were not fussy, we paid in full (wasn't cheap) and I feel that we were let down very badly. We did not let this bother us and continued to have a good time. Being a hotelier I wanted to share our experience so that this does not happen to other guests. Thanks very much Chef Nimi
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Meenu Nair, General Manager at Sinna Dorai's Bungalow
Responded 30 Mar 2021
Thank you for your detailed review and thank you for the positive part of the feedback. Much appreciated. We at Sinna Dorai's Bungalows pride ourselves on the quality and quantity of food that we serve so we are very sorry that we fell short of those expectations. This review has been taken very seriously by us. We sincerely hope you will come back again to experience what we have to offer and return completely satisfied with your dining experience. That's our guarantee.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan wrote a review Jan 2021
Chennai District, India1 contribution
I went to this place after reading a lot of reviews.....I was not disappointed....you are one with nature at this tea bungalow...tucked away in sprawling tea estate..its nature nature that surrounds you...The staff are extremely specials mention to the care taker Murugan Annan for taking taking us around the estate. His patience is commendable...he must be doing this like for how long ...but always a smile on his face willingly to answer our umpteen questions... The rooms are big and luxurious ..the food wont say exotic...but simple warm home cooked meals
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
IndiaTamil NaduCoimbatore DistrictValparai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SINNA DORAI'S BUNGALOW (Valparai, Tamil Nadu) - Ranch Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sinna Dorai's Bungalow
Which popular attractions are close to Sinna Dorai's Bungalow?
Nearby attractions include Aliyar Dam (2.5 km), Nallamudi Viewpoint (5.4 km), and Balaji Temple (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sinna Dorai's Bungalow?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sinna Dorai's Bungalow?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sinna Dorai's Bungalow?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.