We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Iguana Perdida Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
La Iguana Perdida Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Iguana Perdida Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I spent a week at La Iguana Perdida and had a fantastic time! The people who worked there were friendly and helpful; the meals they made were delicious (french toast with fruit and bacon was my go-to every morning); the communal dinners were great for making friends; and having an on-site diving school was perfect. The walls were a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My girlfriend and I spent the last 2 nights of our Guatemalan backpacking trip at the "luxurious" La Iguana Perdida. We had been budget traveling in dorms up until then and had decided to splurge on a private room at a nice hostel. My girlfriend had booked a specific room in the hostel 3 months prior. We arrived around 11:00...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sladebass
Oakland, California
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The Iguana is in a truly gorgeous locale. And I had one of the best rooms in the house, a lakeview with private bath. Lovely. However, I was leading a retreat at a home nearby, the week between Xmas and New Year's, and so I needed peace and quiet in the evenings - and this was NOT the place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthpoet
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ruth, Thank you for you feedback, as always we do appreciate an outside perceptive and view on what we are offering. I understand your perspective on the 'fun' signs displayed in the bar for a bit of morning humour. I will ask for these to be toned down to ensure they are not communicating a wrong kind of message....

canada
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I wrote a review of the Iguana exactly 2 years ago. This year, I went back with a tribe of 13 friends and family members to celebrate my 70th birthday. Needless to say we changed the demographic of the place. Several of the regulars probably looked up and thought their grandparents had arrived. We ranged in age from 38 to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmac08
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review! It was such a pleasure in having you back at the Iguana with your tribe. You all brought so much fun to Sam, the bar staff, and other guests. The variety in demographic is what we are all about and the diversity brings much pleasure and surprise to other guests we have staying. Please come...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the hostel! Lovely staff, great food (we always had the vegetarian option), wonderful location and much more! We had a room close to the diving shop, were its really calm and quiet all day round. One of the best hostel during our three-month travel! Would also recommend everyone to dive in the lake, since...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elskypelsky
Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Overall, we had a wonderful time at La Iguana Perdida. The location and the view is simply unbeatable. Wonderful places to sit and relax, taking in the lake and the volcanos. Especially wonderful when you're enjoying a meal with a view! Their kitchen serves awesome meals all day! The private rooms are definitely worth it, especially ones set a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elihirch
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Elihirch, Thank you for your review and feedback for your stay at La Iguana Perdida. We are sincerely please you enjoyed you time with us! In regards to the staff, this is something we are always working on as the business model for hiring travellers in a work exchange situation does take a great deal of input. However, for...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Ended up staying 2 weeks here because it's such a great place. Waking up every morning to the view of the volcanoes and lake is the main attraction of this place but added into the experience are the friendly and helpful staff, great family meals every night and the general relaxed vibe of the place. The dorms are cheap and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jessicajane44
Reviewed 30 November 2016

If you would like a change of pace from Panajachel or San Pedro this is a chill spot. Great authentic cuisine made from locals with love. Great place to meet travelers and staff from all over the world. Scenic views of the lake and volcano's are abundant.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew N
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location, but odd vibe. The guy in charge was annoyed when I wouldn't sit for dinner with the other guests, some of us were sitting out front instead. He supervised how much food I put on the plate and told one of the girls off for stroking the cat. It was like being in high school... except we are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie C
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Natalie, We can appreciate this is your personal experience but regret you have this view of the hostel. Our family style dinner is served in the restaurant for each of the individuals, no one is annoyed if you chose to sit somewhere other than in the restaurant. However, when you move yourself outside without telling anyone, you cannot be...

Dieppe, Canada
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I'm giving this property 4 stars because the location is exceptional, with majestic views of the volcanoes across the lake, in a tiny village that feels like a welcome respite from the madness in Pana. I attended the Saturday BBQ and I must say the vegetarian patties were excellent, the salad bar was rich and varied and as you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Audrey, Thank you for your honest review both the positives you experienced and the areas you feel need improving. The basic rooms are exactly that which is makes up the the original area of La Iguana Perdida established 25 years ago. We have continued to expand to offer more variety to guests requiring a less rustic feel but still...

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
1.0 km away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
467 reviews
1.2 km away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
625 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
288 reviews
4.9 km away
Hospedaje El Viajero
Hospedaje El Viajero
#13 of 30 in Panajachel
52 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the idyllic north shore of Lake Atitlán, Santa Cruz has long been a favorite destination for international tourists, back-packers and locals who want to get away from it all.And for more than fifteen years, La Iguana Perdida has been one of the main reasons for the popularity of this unique oasis, thanks to owners Deedle and Dave. The choice of lodging runs the gamut, from big dormitories, to luxury rooms with a private bath, balcony and lake views, to a rustic cabin. Seven bathrooms are scattered around the spacious property, all with hot water. The climate is perfect for lounging in a hammock or comfortable chair all day. La Iguana Perdida is one of the best places to enjoy the beauty and serenity that Lake Atitlan has to offer.A Yoga session on the deck is a good way to start the day. Next you can go kayaking, or follow shaded trails and paths with picnic spots for along the way. After a day of hiking or kayaking, treat yourself to a wood-fired sauna or a massage. Water Sports, ScubaATI Divers, based at Iguana and with an office in Panajachel, has many options for scuba diving and snorkeling. ATI Divers operates a number of PADI scuba diving courses include certification in high altitude diving as well as other courses for professionals. Lake Atilán is one of the few places on the planet where you can swim amongst huge underwater volcanic formations and petrified trees, and actually feel hot volcanic mud on the lake bottom. Fish, crabs and other marine life add to the color. World Famous BBQ The restaurant offers inexpensive breakfast and lunch. Dinner is a delicious three-course meal with an option for vegetarians. Meat-eaters: don’t miss Saturday night’s all-you-can-eat barbecue, topped off with chocolate brownies. Theme parties, poker games, and other entertainment round out the La Iguana Perdida experience in Santa Cruz, one of Guatemala’s top vacation destinations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Iguana Perdida Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: ₹ 735 - ₹ 2,942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Iguana Perdida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Iguana Perdida Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Iguana Perdida Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from La Iguana Perdida Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The dog rooms, (ask) are the best bang for the buck. Rooms are located in a manicured jungle of beautiful flowers, bananas and avocados.”
  • The view from breakfast.
 of 5 bubbles bushpilot2, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“One second floor room was quiet. Food was good.”
 of 5 bubbles jackf338, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Splurge the $50 (can you imagine?) for one of the two upper floor suites!”
 of 5 bubbles FunOverload, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Atitlan and Toliman provide great views, and a balcony with a hammock.”
 of 5 bubbles lovestotravel2z, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room further uphill, away from the common areas.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeG494, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5