We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Show Prices
#37 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe\/mesa\/phoenix Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 663: English reviews
Osprey, Florida
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Air conditioner louder than jet engine. Musty smell. Room overlooked a very busy street and loud noises from auto traffic were heard clearly in room. Bathroom layout such that one banged into towel bars or door when entering. Shower/ bathtub did not drain. Booked through corporate website and were charged $10/ nite more than if I had called the facility...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was not what you were expecting. I read your review and have addressed these concerns about the condition of your A/C and musty smell. These types of reviews do indeed help us identify issues and gives us the chance to improve our hotel. Again, my apologies concerning your stay.

East Aurora, New York
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan Z
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Los Altos, California
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G8329HAjimm
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T5767TWmelissab
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in! Rooms are dingy, stained carpet, room darkening curtain torn off and hanging, sheets wrinkled, bathtub not looking very clean. This was just first impression on arrival. At 3:30 on the first day asked if they had daily housekeeping and they sent someone up. Replaced dirty towels and tucked in our bed. Nothing else was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

I want to apologize for your stay with us. We strive for excellent customer service, and it looks like that did not happen during your stay. I have taken your feedback very seriously and will strive to rectify those situations like you encountered. Thank you for your honest review.

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Casa Grande, Arizona
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Upon check in was given key to an already occupied room. No coffee pot, kitchen towels, or anything else in kitchenette. Coins and other small items on floor were never picked up by housekeeper. On two evenings I had to return to lobby because the key didn't work. Hot items on breakfast buffet were often empty and slow to be...

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 909gayleh
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

I want to apologize to you concerning your recent stay with us. This is not what we want our guests to experience and I am very sorry that we did not provide the services that you were expecting. We are working hard to ensure that these issues are eliminated and that our guests may enjoy their stays. Again, my sincere...

Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Person that checked us in acted like he didn't want to be there AT ALL. He barely looked at us or talked to us. Treated us like he wished we weren't even there. After he checked us in, the room keys didn't even work. We had to talk to 3 different people at 3 different times to get a late...

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank loral15
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. It sounds like nothing went right for you during your stay and I am truly sorry that your stay was not pleasant, especially on your wedding night. Please accept my apologies and if you are ever in the area, please contact me directly and I will...

St. Joseph, MO
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We were grateful to get rooms here since our family was in town for a funeral. Staff, especially night clerk and manager, were very helpful, efficient, and polite. Day clerk seemed inexperienced and uncomfortable with guests. We appreciated the discount on rooms when we had to extend our stay--also appreciated laundry, breakfast, and computer use in lobby. Overall a good...

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne D
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with us recently. I have reviewed your comments and will be addressing your concern about the day shift agent so that all of our guests receive outstanding service that our guests deserve. Again, thank you for your honest review and we hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Tucson
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Just like home, some things were excellent, which made it well worth staying at, and some things you have to ignore. I felt safe, staff were responsive to my needs, access and egress were convenient, and most things were clean and in good condition. The highlight of my stay was having clean towels every day. That was a nice amenity...

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertao844
Douglas F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your honest review of our hotel. We appreciate feedback so that we may provide excellent service to our guests, and I am pleased that you consider us your home away from home when you are in the area. We hope to see you soon and thank you again!

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
7.3 km away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
6.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
7.9 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
10.9 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chandler/Phoenix Area
2.7 km away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#31 of 52 in Tempe
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Address: 2301 E Southern Ave, Tempe, AZ 85282-7637 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Price Range: ₹ 4,778 - ₹ 19,505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tempe, Arizona

if you had prior knowledge that the cab wasn't doing a deal, why would you take it? At that point it's your fault. And ultimately your responsibility. My family has stayed at this hotel many times. and recently met the girl at the front desk your review givers the wrong impression of her. in fact i was in line when you came. i remember specifically because of your nasty attitude toward the girl.. and asked the kind man next to her who was helping us not to put my family next to you. Taking the first cab was your decision to make. You should have called the hotel to verify the cab company. You had demanded she pay the difference for your incompetence. I'm surprised she was so calm and reserved. Next time I'd pay a little more attention to your actions if i were you.

On a good note: unfortunately i had booked my room with the hawthorn in chandler by mistake. The man helping me Chris i believe was helpful in making a new reservation and even called the other hotel to confirm that my friends reservation was made there. The girl Jordyn? i believe the other receptionist was quick to give her apologies for the scene the lady has caused.overall it was a hectic morning but the attentiveness of the receptionist made it a little easier to bare. I enjoy this hotel and the staff.

I had read the reviews regarding "the smokers section" yes this is a non smoking hotel. Smoking is not allowed in side the rooms or building. However you can smoke out front. Many guests do live here due to their own personal life's ranging from flooded house, sick family, hard times...ect But they are far from"Sketchy" Very social in a good way. welcome you in and out and also do their part to keep this hotel clean. (they aren't messy) They are good people in rough situations

over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles michaelfv1017, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a room away from Southern Ave”
 of 5 bubbles Karen&MikeTP, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Here's my tip; don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles J6712MSjoer, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a couch.”
 of 5 bubbles SenseIntoDollars, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from AZ101”
 of 5 bubbles PhillyPhan46, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5