We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel 502

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel 502
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 221: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel 502
 Click to rate
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Besides agreeing with the recent reviews of this place being disgusting, I paid for my room in advance booking through trip advisor and when I left, they charged my credit card again for the room. After multiple calls and emails, they were "so helpful" on the phone, but NEVER REFUNDED the second charge. This place needs to go out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendakisling
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this is a very run down hotel, phoenix has left it behind. the rooms smelled bad, the passages smelt bad, the airconditioning whizzed and didn't do much. the bed wasn't good. the carpet is dirty, this place had a tripadvisor award for 2015, how has it fallen so far? the pool is a good size but is dirty, the concierge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Drove up to about 5 cars in an unlined, gravel parking lot. (2 of the 5 looked abandoned...) Multi story hotel, had 2 lights on, one at the front desk and one room several floors up. It looked abandoned. There was a couple with a pitbull in the parking lot, not sure if she was a working girl or it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Good day Erin, Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel 502. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad stay at our hotel. Please feel free to call me at your convenience to discuss.

Monument, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the renovated part of the hotel where they have removed the carpet in the room leaving bare concrete with these odd Velcro strips that I guess held down the old carpet. Weird and disconcerting to step on especially with bare feet. Bathroom renovation was poorly done as the sink hole didn't match up with the sink. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen S
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Hello Karen, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that your room was not clean. Please contact me at your convenience to discuss.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I should have known to walk away when we pulled into the parking lot and there were hardly any cars there. I will say the front desk lady was nice and that is where the good things about this place end. The first room we went to was awful. The blankets were threadbare. Only one light worked so it made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer S
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Hello Jennifer, Thank you for reviewing Hotel 502. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please contact me, Dorothy at your convenience to discuss.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The receptionist was a great guy. He checked us in and while I voiced my concern because the lobby smelled like cleaning solution, he convinced us to give it a try. We selected this place off trip advisor for the rate and location. Besides having Jimmy Hendricks stenciled on the walls, the halls were grimy and dirty like a vacuum...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, Thank you for your review. Our hotel is quite a bit off the road, so I am sorry the first room was too loud for you and I am glad the staff accommodated your move. I am sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. I would love for you to call me at your convenience to discuss.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 March 2017

I've been to many rehabbed old hotels that were perfectly fine and inexpensive in other cities. The people here were reasonably helpful, but the place is really run down and not in a good area. I had to cancel on arrival and found a fantastic Airbnb for less $ in a better area of town, much closer to downtown. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PandMandR
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for review. Our hotel is still being redone and has come a long way. I am glad you found a change of stay since you were not happy. And I am more than happy to discuss with you if you like.

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel 502 is an older hotel decorated in a comic book theme. It is right off the light rail at 7th and camelback so very accessible to downtown. It has a lovely outdoor pool. It is very clean. The staff are exceptionally friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mama_Clark_KC
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you in the future!

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Well...this particular area of Phoenix is a little sketchy. The hotel itself is actually an old Days Inn that was converted into a themed hotel named Hotel 502. It is definitely colorful in the hallways and rooms, but dated. The breakfast was a pretty bad presentation. Waffles and that's it with milk in a pitcher who knows how old that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mmmduffser
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. The area the hotel is in is up and coming as all of downtown Phoenix is being refurbished. We are doing so as well. We appreciate your taking the time to review and hope you will give us another chance in the future as we rebuild.

Reviewed 4 December 2016

I spent all of last week at this hotel.I had driven from LA to Phoenix and spent a night at the Ace Hotel in Palm Springs on the way through.Considering the Ace Hotel was approximately 5 times the price of the 502 this is great value for money.The rooms are very similar with polished concrete floors,upgraded bathrooms,nice bedding and really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Z5151SOtonyg

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Encanto
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
North Mountain
Quality Inn Phoenix North I-17
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Candlewood Suites Phoenix
#69 of 175 in Phoenix
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel 502 is at the heart of The Melrose District just 7 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Conveniently located just 1 block from the 7th Ave. Metro station, providing access to all points of interest including The Phoenix Convention Center, downtown sports and theater venues, museums, shopping, and Sky Harbor Intl. Our enormous pool area provides a great space to relax and soak in the Arizona sun. Rooms are furnished with plush mattresses along with all the pillows you could want, flat screen TV's, in-room Keurig coffee makers. We have meeting space available that can accommodate up to 350 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel 502

Address: 502 W Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85013-2202 (Formerly Camelback Sahara Hotel)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Price Range: ₹ 4,405 - ₹ 7,838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel 502 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 502 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Camelback Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Red Roof Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#38 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#41 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 502 staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 502 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay far away!!”
brendakisling, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for a higher floor so you can open the window to ventilate the room.”
951bruceb, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Find somewhere else, anywhere else, to stay”
jennifersI107TF, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pick an upper floor its safer”
  • Beds are basic, but light above is kind of cool
  • bedside table and power strip
mmmduffser, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No comment.”
JRLxGreenbriar, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5