We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sa'Moana Resort

Show Prices
#11 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sa\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sa'Moana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

After staying in beach fale and hearing good words about this place I was having big expectations - it turns out a big disappointment. Bed comfort was minus 10. Extremely uncomfortable spring mattress in pool view bungalow gave me bad back! To access this premiss you have to take 7 km on a bumpy dirt road. It is an isolated...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Leszek D
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

I have been eagerly awaiting your review and was not at all surprised by your comments. This is purely based on my observations whilst you and your partner were here and how you treated the staff and showed your clear displeasure with the rain and wind whilst you were here. Funnily enough, the weather completely cleared immediately after you guys...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Samoa is a beautiful, simple, natural country. The people are friendly, embracing, generous and proud. This is a country that you should only go to if you are looking for a 'cultural' experience because to compare it to anywhere else in the world is simply unfair. Dont go there looking for fancy restaurants, theme parks and masses of entertainment with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank VCW123
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi guys! Thank you for your great review - we have let the staff have all your incredible feedback and it was such a pleasure hosting your wedding day here at Sa'Moana. Couldn't agree more with all of your points - Samoa is a country that needs to be researched before travelers make it their choice for destination - but...

Reviewed 7 September 2016

Nice looking bungalows. Nicely kept surroundings. But to get there is a nightmare. Road is - sorry there is no road - a dirt path with gigantic holes. Nice owners. And most staff. But cold approach. The young waitress - rude with face saying -why u r here!? Asked for black coffee got cappuccino asked for black tea got whith...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam S
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Adam, I have been eagerly awaiting your review and was not at all surprised by your comments. This is purely based on my observations whilst you and your partner were here and how you treated the staff and showed your clear displeasure with the rain and wind whilst you were here. Funnily enough, the weather completely cleared immediately after...

Waitakere > Piha
Reviewed 5 September 2016

With only 9 accommodations this place is not crowded which is my #1 ++. Each accommodation is a 'stand alone' so privacy is no problem and nor is noise. Clean, beautifully positioned and everything we needed we extended our stay. Neat owners and staff always somewhere to ask anything you may need to. Great kayaks and the best snorkeling gear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbiec
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Bobbi for the review - was a pleasure having you and Julie here and was great to see you make the most of the kayaks / snorkeling and generally having a great time here. We hope you guys return soon and will definitely be over to your place in NZ when we manage to get away for a short...

New Zealand
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We came here not knowing what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised. Only 9 fales and they are quite new and very well designed. Perhaps they need to be made a little more Polynesian but that wouldn't be hard to do. Clean and set in a coconut Grove on the water. The coast is volcanic rock and this allows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Westiegal
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

G'day and thanks for the review. Was great having you and Bobbi here as guests and appreciate your honest feedback as people from the hospitality industry. The fish is fresh and straight from the boat at the main fish market and replenished every 3 days or so - but we appreciate your honest comments and opinions. We do weekly specials...

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my family, daughter only 9months old. This resort was amazing, if you want something out of town and very relaxing tgis is the place. The resort only has probably 12bungalows so it was never over crowded. You always had the opportunity to relax in the pool or at the beach by yourself. We stayed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natty2230
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Natalie Thanks for the review, great feedback and photo's. Really enjoyed having you and your family here and seeing you have a great time. Hopefully see you guys again soon. Looking at doing special rates for Air Crew so please share with your colleagues and also remember to contact us directly for the best rates. Take care Daniel

Wellington
Reviewed 19 August 2016

My sister and I wanted a midwinter getaway from NZ - not too far and with good value. This resort surpassed our expectations. I had orginally booked to go solo but my sister decided to join me and I am glad she did as it is quite remote and I would have been a bit lonely on my own for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonJoanna
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jo Thanks for the feedback - was a pleasure having you and your sister here. You seemed to really enjoy your time with us and hopefully are going to be heading back over again soon. Keep in touch guys and contact us directly for your next planned trip @ Sa'Moana. All the best Daniel

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Visited the resort with 3 friends in April. We stayed in a bungalow called Hibiscus which comfortably slept all 4 of us (1 queen and 2 singles in a beach studio). Stayed for 6 nights which we felt was the perfect length of time in this spot. We hired a 4x4 which was ideal as lots of roads are uneven...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GNomad70s
Daniel M, Manager at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hey guys Thanks for the lengthy and honest review of your stay at Sa'Moana and going into so much detail about Samoa and our resort. We are a 3.5 star hotel and not 5 star as you rightly pointed out- but at the same time we have a very laid back, simple, comfortable but cool vibe going on here and...

North Ward, Australia
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I went with a friend back in 1999, which is a long time ago. I think the resort was relatively new back then. Two guys were running the place, Paul and someone else, the manager. Both are great Aussie guys. Very friendly, jovial and accommodating. We had trips with them around Apia, and saw some amazing waterfalls, rock pools and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dannyolsen2016
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review on a resort that you stayed at in 1999 - which is 17 years ago. Very confusing as to why you thought this is relevant to the existing resort, especially your comments re food 'cold salads and hams Aussie style'. Really? Reviewing food from 17 years ago is quite strange. Please anyone reading this review please...

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We booked a 3 bedroom beachfront house via Expedia at a discounted rate. Over a month had passed when I received an email saying they had no accommodation for us. Attempted to contact them, called at least 10 times all at different times of the day and on different days and all went unanswered emailed also. Contacted Expedia who attempted...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 343hestert
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

This review is incorrect in all of its detail. You booked with Expedia for the Beach House. We did not have availability as it had been booked by another guest and we advised Expedia immediately through the correct portal that we could not accept the booking. We were very open, honest and in NO way 'deceitful' with Expedia from the...

315 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
47.3 km away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#6 of 31 in Apia
190 reviews
25.2 km away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
24.2 km away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.7 km away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
24.4 km away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
34.6 km away
Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small 3.5 star remote, idyllic beach resort located at the end of the long, windy Salamumu beach road (about 6km track off main road). Our simple colorful wooden bungalows are all absolute beach front with their own private outdoor lava rock bathroom, private deck and of course fabulous beach and Pacific Ocean views. We are the perfect location for active families, couples and singles who want to totally switch off from the World for the length of their stay and be "Off The Grid" and see the real Samoa and maybe want something a little different from the standard "out of the brochure" vacation. We have an all-day bar and restaurant with comfortable seating for a sunset cocktail, good music including traditional Samoan tunes and great vibes. All our staff are local so can share their knowledge of the best places to visit, and the stories of the real Samoa. We do a weekly cultural show and a traditional Samoan Fire Dance and Haka display every Thursday - free to our guests. Guests are welcome to surf out front - its intermediate to advanced level and you need to bring your own board. Surf Tours can be arranged with local operators when you are here. There are several within 20/30 minutes of our resort. Car hire is highly recommended so you get to see the best of our beautiful island and discover your own magical parts of it - we can recommend lots for you to do and provide a map and some local advice. Please note we are not near any public transport, shops or other resorts / restaurants - we are literally a tropical island hideaway! If this is what you seek - you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sa'Moana Resort

Address: End of Salamumu Beach Road | Salamumu Village, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Price Range: ₹ 4,427 - ₹ 16,576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sa'Moana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sa'Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Moana Hotel Apia
Sa'Moana Resort Samoa/Apia
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Apia
#3 Family Hotel in Apia
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Apia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sa'Moana Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sa'Moana Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are beach front and the sea can be quite loud but worth it!”
  • Our balcony of our accommodation
 of 5 bubbles lorettaschmidt19, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Every room is fantastic, with beach frontage, private outdoor showers, verandah.”
 of 5 bubbles 910hazels, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the bungalows are beach front”
 of 5 bubbles siaosi45, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hibiscus room was great for a family of 4. one double bed and 2 singles”
 of 5 bubbles 892leanneh, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the fales are fabulous and are so close to the beach, pool and amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles VCW123, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5