We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Samoan Outrigger Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Wellington, NZ
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the Samoan Outrigger. Beautiful garden, good swimming pool, lovely staff, and a beautiful old wooden building. We had an air-con room, which was clean and comfy, but a little bit small and concrete-blocky - it does open nicely onto the garden, though. Next time we're going for a fan-cooled room in the old building....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMW015
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Manager at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa lava, "Lovely spot in Apia", what a great start to my day. Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your nice comments regarding our colonial building, staff and breakfast are very much appreciated. Faafetai lava, Manager The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Pago Pago, American Samoa
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed for a long weekend on our Anniversary August 2016. We chose a double room with ceiling fan because we are acclimated to the temps and used to no AC. I believe the Air Conditioned rooms are more. There are also Fales outside by the pool which looked fun. The staff is friendly and nice and accommodated any request...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smart_Alec_Tron
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Manager at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alec, We truly appreciate you nice comments and wish to thank you for taken the time to upload this review. We are pleased that you were happy with our staff service and breakfast. Keeping our rooms/facilities clean is something we really work hard on. Once again faafetai tele lava and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed here 3 nights, 2 nights in a room and one night in a fale. The room was big enough with a ceiling fan, no airco. The shower was the only shower we had in Samoa that also had hot water. The breakfast was good. Also each morning pancakes and eggs. When we slept in the fale, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martijn K
SamoanOutriggerHotel, General Manager at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Martin, Thank you for you nice review and positive comments regarding our breakfast. As the garden Fales are outside and situated in the garden the sound of neighbouring roosters and dogs are unfortunately present sometimes. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you next time you visit our island. General Manager The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The style of accommodation is what I would call a guest-house with various accommodation options available. A place where conversation with fellow travelers flows readily especially in the dining areas and pool-side. I stayed 4 nights and during that time staff could not do enough for me. Extended breakfast times and a seemingly endless supply of great coffee surrounded by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PetrinaQuinn
SamoanOutriggerHotel, General Manager at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa lava Petrina, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for staying with us. Your nice comments regarding our staff, breakfast, facilities and collection of historic items are very much appreciated. Faafetai lava and hopefully we will see you again soon. Regards General Manager The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Outrigger for 5 nights in the family room and it was great. The staff were lovely and the breakfasts filling. We stayed in the family room which consisted of 2 doubles and a single and we provided our own cot. The kids found the beds comfortable and slept well. Ceiling fan helped with the heat although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lukalei
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Manager at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lukalei, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind review. It was a pleasure looking after you and we are happy that you had a good time at the Samoan Outrigger Hotel. Really nice to hear your positive feedback regarding our staff and breakfast. Once again faafetai tele lava and we hope to see you...

Kaitaia, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Overall I found the Outrigger quite basic, the first room I was put in had only a bed , side light, a over head fan and a shower with a used bar of soap. The road noise was terrible. I was moved to a better room with air conditioning, tv, fridge, side light, phone and a safe. The ranch slider...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seionie
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Seionie, Thank you very much for your review. As you know we met/talked several times while you where here. I do apologies if you feel that you didn't get a polite service by the night receptionist. As mentioned to you while you were here we have rates for single and double occupancy. Should guests wish to change the amount...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

A well priced hotel for the accommodation on offer. However, it could do so much better with just a little bit of thought and expenditure without changing its character or primary market. Some examples, more variety at breakfast (effectively no choice and same thing every day), more efficient air conditioning, more comfortable seating in the lobby and by the small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeke O
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Manager at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Zeke, Thank you for your review and your ideas regarding possible improvements. We appreciate your comments. We are glad that you find our accommodation well priced. Regards Management

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I only stayed one night here (with my three children) on our first night in Samoa. We had hoped to stay longer but there was some confusion around the bookings .... We stayed in a fale in the lovely gardens, and the kids enjoyed the pool, which is a decent size. We all thought the breakfast was awesome, there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elleffem
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Manager at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elleffem, Faafetai tele lave for taken the time to write such a lovely review. We are very pleased that your family enjoyed our Fales, facilities, pool, staff and breakfast. Next time we hope to be able to accommodate your for a bit longer. All the best. Kind regards Management

Glenelg, Australia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The highlight of this establishment was the staff. We arrived at 0500AM and presented to the hotel after a long overnight flight. The staff were happy to offer a free early check in to allow us to get some rest. This was really appreciated by us. The hotel offers breakfast, which was simple, but satisfying. The location is close to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quinkintravel
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Manager at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa lava Quinkintravel, Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind review. Good to hear that you were pleased with our staff/service. We just got a feed back card from a guest suggesting to get some board games, which we will have sorted out this week. Once again thank you for staying. Kind regards Management

uk
Reviewed 12 July 2016

A long trip from Maui but interesting to see this remote part of the world. The hotel was fine and so was the food. the whole town was clean and we did a trip around the island to see the local trades and crafts. Well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank daveandjanb
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for your great review. Hopefully you will return to Samoa and the Samoan Outrigger Hotel. All the best. Regards Staff and Management at the Samoan Outrigger Hotel

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apia hotels
1.4 km away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
2.4 km away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
37.8 km away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#6 of 31 in Apia
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 31 in Apia
238 reviews
0.7 km away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
24.2 km away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#11 of 31 in Apia
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is located in Motootua only 15 min. walk from downtown Apia and only 5 minutes walk from the national hospital. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel offers budget accommodation "with a touch of style" Clean and affordable rooms with ensuite and without ensuite. We also have traditional Samoan garden fales overlooking the swimming pool. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is surrounded by a lush tropical garden. All rooms with ensuite and AC renovated in February 2012. Come and enjoy a cold Vailima on our new pool deck.WI-FI available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Address: Cross Island Road | Motootua, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Price Range: ₹ 3,764 - ₹ 4,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoan Outrigger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Samoan Outrigger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Hotel Apia
Outrigger Apia
Apia Outrigger
Samoan Outrigger Hotel Samoa/Apia
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Apia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Apia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Samoan Outrigger Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Samoan Outrigger Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on bottom floor were quiet, close to pool, kitchen and dining area.”
 of 5 bubbles corinaayraim, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a fale!”
 of 5 bubbles trollewest, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sleep in a fale!”
 of 5 bubbles LThaisen, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Large rooms available for multiple people. Outdoor fales available for more of a cultural experience.”
 of 5 bubbles tchristian16, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Everyone we met was happy with their room.”
 of 5 bubbles huntlywelches, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5