We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santa Cruz Backpacker's

Save
Share
Traveller (77)
Dining (6)
Room & Suite (5)
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good35%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
17
15
11
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
17
15
11
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking suppliesthe kitchenprivate bathroomshowerhostelwifi
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Nice hostel with good prices and very good location, just one block away from the main square. Just try not to stay during Carnaval time (bad environment and too noisy). It does not have kitchen and it does not inclued breakfast!

Thank Catalina M
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Don't stay here. Staff not very enthusiastic, room dark and noisy. Worst of all, they have a "bodega" storage room for your luggage if you are staying in town after checkout. Someone stole my Kindle tablet out of my backpack while it was in there...More

Thank jf002
Response from Monica F, Propietario at Santa Cruz Backpacker'sResponded 18 December 2017

good afternoon my dear friend what a shame to find out about this through your comment but not when you left the hostel did not receive any complaint of loss of a tablet that I regret that you did not feel comfortable in our hostel...More

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

I guess it was because of low season, but the hostel was calm and almost empty. They have to houses, we went to the one with share bathroom and it was perfect. We used the kitchen and after check out, they let us take a...More

Thank Paloma R
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Very well located. Quick hot showers. It has its charms and is very cheap. Do yourself a favor and spend a couple bucks and stay somewhere nicer. Rooms are dark and appear dingy. You reserve with a credit card but can't pay with one. Very...More

Thank Timothy T
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

I was nervous to go here after reading the reviews that it was noisy. I'm not a partier, and are a light sleeper but after our hostel we were staying at (erupicion art) was booked & suggested we go here, we decided to try it...More

Thank Kelly H
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Casino and Gambling
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 14 - US$ 40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 14 - US$ 40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (77)
Dining (6)
Room & Suite (5)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Santa Cruz Backpacker's staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Find a different hostel."
Read review
"Stay near the common area if you can!"
Read review
"Don;t stay anywhere near the communal area."
Read review
"Upstairs room may be quieter"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing