We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

America del Sur Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
America del Sur Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 328: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Only positive points: super clean, great breakfast, friendly and helpfull staff, they organize activities from the hotel, they have a basement to relax (netflix, espn) and computers to use, room is cleaned every day! Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StefanGuirten
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hostel is a great location. The communal areas are great especially the terrace outside. The room were good but walls needs to be repainted soon as the paint was peeling off and some large patches of mould were on the walls. Beds are super comfortable! Bathroom was tiny but we didn't mind. It had hot shower and ok pressure. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecile M
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ignore the initially sterile interior, the dorm rooms are great, 4-beds en suite. There is no bar so you can bring in your own drinks, and there are usually people around in the main area or the lower level relaxing with a movie. They also have a variety of activity recommendations and walking tours that start from the hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ditha311
AmericaHostelBA, Front Office Manager at America del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review!! We're happy yo hear that you enjoyed your stay with us :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So there are few things which were really annoying and many were good. Overall a decent experience in terms of location of the hostel, look n feel, staff, amenities, breakfast, information desk, day reception staff however, was really disappointing when they hostel charges us additional 50 peso's for pub crawl, in return for nothing, not even transfer. Thats not ethical!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yu S
AmericaHostelBA, Front Office Manager at America del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Hi!! Thank you so much for your review!! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. About the pubcrawl, just wanted to tell you that the price is the same if you pay here in the hostel or at the bar, is not that we charge a fee of AR$ 50. We apologise if there was...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a week travel to Argentina, couple of days for business, the first days I stayed in belgrano in and hotel payed by the company, and the next 3 days I stayed in America Del Sur Hostel in San Telmo just to know a little more about the city... Amazing staff they know the spots for everything, for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin P
AmericaHostelBA, Front Office Manager at America del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

You should come back!! Now you have to teach everyone back home how to drink mate! :)

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

America del Sur does not subscribe to the philosophy that a hostel should be an improvised affair with some creaky bunkbeds crammed into an old moldy building. No, this place is very well designed, planned ánd maintained. Comfortable 4 bed dorms with good beds, AC and private bathrooms. Big breakfast, nice big and light common areas inside and outside. Loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PLPdeW
AmericaHostelBA, Front Office Manager at America del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

We think you should come back soon!! :) Thank you so much for the review!!

Haifa, Israel
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Was here for my first night in Argentina. Good located, not very far from Florida street by foot, close to a metro line, and the neighborhood is rather safe. The room was for 4, pretty cozy, good AC, which fit me is very important in the heat of January. Breakfast is part of the deal and they offer pretty big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aviel A
Oakland, California
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The front desk staff were generally helpful and knowledgeable. The hostel has a great location near the San Telmo market. Our double room was small, but generally clean and agreeable. OK breakfast provided, with the usual starch products.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
Bushey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

I would stay in América del Sur again for sure, any time I come to BA! I stayed here over Christmas, and it was the perfect vibe - everyone cooking together, and then partying into the night. They have a nice kitchenette, chill area downstairs with Netflix, really social breakfast area and outside area. Staff are friendly, and beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steffica W
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 January 2017

America del Sur is a factory hostel, but it is a fairly well run one. The main reason I've given this hostel a bad rating is our experience at their Christmas Eve dinner. On December 24th, the hostel had invited guests to a dinner where everyone was to bring a dish from their home country. We had a good night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guri R

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (194)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Suite Room (34)
Viewed
Four Bed Shared Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#63 of 449 in Buenos Aires
1,278 reviews
Hotel Rey Buenos Aires
#182 of 449 in Buenos Aires
208 reviews
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#79 of 449 in Buenos Aires
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 481 in Buenos Aires
845 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 481 in Buenos Aires
654 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#7 of 481 in Buenos Aires
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Telmo

Neighbourhood Profile
San Telmo
Characterized by cobblestones and narrow streets, San Telmo is defined by the tango, the dance that made Buenos Aires world-famous. Tango is a fusion of many different cultures: a true child of immigration, much like the city itself. Nowadays, it comes alive after dark in the milongas (dance parties) attended by both locals and visitors alike, who dance until the wee hours of the morning. During the day, the antique shops and classic cafés and bars around Plaza Dorrego dominate the scene. The emblematic Bar Plaza Dorrego, with its green awnings, checkered tile floors, and wooden interiors, takes you back in time the moment you step inside. For true porteño traditions, San Telmo is the place to be.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about America del Sur Hostel

Address: Chacabuco 718, Buenos Aires 1098, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Price Range: ₹ 1,143 - ₹ 5,847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — America del Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your America del Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Del Sur Hotel Buenos Aires
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from America del Sur Hostel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from America del Sur Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be careful with the price... Ask, ask, ask... and ask to write it down... Do not expect it to be true...”
 of 5 bubbles 511robsonc, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a higher room, common area in the basement and music can be loud. It didn't bother me since im a heavy sleeper but just an FYI”
 of 5 bubbles espijuli2014, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“4 bed dorms are very good.”
 of 5 bubbles bearchri, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“clean rooms everywhere”
 of 5 bubbles spilungo23, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Higher floors are better, there's a lot of noise from the lobby”
 of 5 bubbles 884th, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5