We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Herdade da Matinha

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Herdade da Matinha
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Herdade da Matinha
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
Veenendaal, Utrecht, Netherlands
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Never seen something like this: remote, quiet, relaxed, it almost seems time stood still in a mix of Western and a little bit of the hippy times... Breakfast was very fresh, a very Large wine chart (great), Nice pool and the best part: a tv with no channels "bad news stays at home"... You can have dinner here, no menu,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Hello! We're so happy that you felt Herdade da Matinha was a great place to unwind. It's this real simple side of life that we wish to bring to our guests everyday :) Many thanks for your words and we look forward to welcoming you again to this country retreat in Alentejo!

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2015

I've been going to Portugal for over 40 years, having been brought up near Lisbon till the age of 14, and having alternated my visits between Estoril and the Algarve. What have I been missing? Well, the Alentejo is Portugal's jewel in the Crown. Why? It has beautiful beaches, authentic and unspoilt villages and it's not been commercialised. This country...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Hello from sunny Alentejo! We are so happy that you felt so good here at Herdade da Matinha. Feel free to come whenever you need a break from the city, to breathe the pure air of Alentejo and feel the sea breeze of Alentejo coastal beaches, so close from here :). Many thanks and all the best for you and...

Leiria, Portugal
Reviewed 17 April 2015

We went with our baby daughter and we became huge fans. The staff and owners were delightful and made our baby's meals much simpler and healthier. The place is amazing, very quiet, the room was adorable, and it had the most confortable bed I ever slept on. There are lots of activities available, like massages or horse riding. also, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Hello! With small babies we know that our guests are always a bit afraid of travelling, however we make our best to welcome the small ones to Herdade da Matinha, so that the parents can enjoy some piece of mind and have some rest. So we hope you had the time to relax and please be always welcome to our...

Portugal
Reviewed 1 April 2015

My wife and I won a night here in a raffle and decided to book an extra night and turn it into a long weekend (we live in the Algarve). We had not really researched the place and had no idea what to expect and were very impressed. We loved the décor, the food, the very comfortable beds with high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Makantudo
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Hello! Today is a happy day for our team, with such nice words about your experience in Herdade da Matinha :) ! Many thanks and we hope to have the honour to welcome you again!

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

Super b&b in a wonderful place. A bit hard to get there (we arrived late evenings). But they helped us out by phone. Great welcoming, even if we were very late, they still prepared us a nice meal while we are enjoying our gin tonic in this amazing b&b. After checking in, we arrive in our room. The terrace is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bart D
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Hello! Many thanks for your kind words. We are so happy that you have enjoyed the small moments of Matinha like the sky full of stars or the glass of wine in the terrace, because it is all about these little details of life, small and simple, that bring us back to our essence as human beings :). All the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2014

I have stayed at Herdade da Matinha twice now and have never been disappointed. Tastefully decorated and in a beautiful location, the hotel feels like a family home. Monica and Alfredo are warm and friendly people, nothing is ever too much trouble and all the staff go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The horse...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PizzaGirl999
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Hello from sunny Alentejo! We were so happy with your words about our country house. Many thanks and we hope to see you again :) Have a fantastic 2015!!

Split, Croatia
Reviewed 25 October 2014

We stopped here just for one night on our way to Faro. We had a bit of problem to find it - until we inputed coordinates of the place provided on their web site on gps. We came late afternoon and we were pleasantly surprised with entire place, farm with horses, nice cozy rooms, pool area. Staff was nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yellenita
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your kind review of Herdade da Matinha. We are happy to hear that you liked the house, the rooms and this country atmosphere. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon again!

kskwared
Reviewed 8 October 2014

The Herdade da Matinha property is absolutely beautiful. Rolling hills, horses, very natural. The owners were fantastic and we enjoyed chatting with them. We loved their open attitude about welcoming people to their property. The rooms were very pretty, clean, and I enjoyed the attention to detail in the decor throughout the property. The breakfast and snacks were outstanding as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kskwared
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Hello! we thank you for your review. All activities at this time of the year are available, on request at the time of booking. We are sorry for the misunderstood and hopefully you will come back in other time so we can ensure you will have the Total Matinha Experience. Many thanks and all the best!

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 7 October 2014

What I do like about this type of places is that you do not feel to be in a hotel but visiting friends or relatives. Until you get the bill of course-) Perfect conditions and setting to chill out, all day and night long. Great food also. I would just use more seasonal local products/fruits for breakfast - eg figs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antoine c
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Good morning! so good to read your encouraging words. Many thanks for your visit and we hope to wlecome you back at Herdade da Matinha. All the best!

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had only one night on the way from Faro to Lisbon. It seems quite expensive – especially when comparing it with Casa Da Insua and InterContinental in Porto, both 5 stars and about the same price. The room was quite good, and ok in size. A lot of the furnitures were from Ikea – bit disappointing – Trying to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Benjamin_Soerensen
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this review

Hello! We thank you for your comments. We do have an expresso coffee machine in the living room, we are sorry you didn't find it. We try to become better everyday and hopefully you can visit us in the nearby future and feel that the price of the stay is well balanced. All the best from our team!

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cercal
13.0 km away
Monte Xisto Hotel Rural
Monte Xisto Hotel Rural
#1 of 4 in Santiago do Cacem
49 reviews
10.7 km away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
250 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Apartamento Porto Covo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Duna Parque
Duna Parque
#3 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
190 reviews
10.7 km away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
146 reviews
22.1 km away
Hotel Dom Vasco
Hotel Dom Vasco
#1 of 4 in Sines
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Herdade da Matinha is a country house in the middle of the nature in Alentejo, very close to the beach. We have 20 rooms (7 classic double rooms, 8 romantic rooms, 3 familiar rooms, 2 suites). A place for relaxation and rejuvenation, Herdade Da Matinha is surrounded by old oak trees. Start the day with breakfast in bed or on the covered veranda. Meals are prepared by the owner and feature farmhouse breads and cheeses, as well as renowned Portuguese wines. Sample local specialities made with homegrown, organic vegetables.Spend time exploring the area on horseback. Alternatively, you can soak up sun while relaxing next to Herdade Da Matinha outdoor pool.The entire building is kept in white, earthy tones, with comfortable seating areas inviting you to take it easy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Herdade da Matinha

Address: Cercal 7555-231, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Cercal
Price Range: ₹ 6,186 - ₹ 17,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdade da Matinha 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Herdade da Matinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Da Matinha Hotel Cercal Do Alentejo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Herdade da Matinha staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is a good choice because the hotel - Super.”
  • ocean
_C6881MY, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Suite Familiar”
sofiamK1959NY, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“nice room, large enough, authentic.”
Verve7777, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Suite Atelier, previous Alfredo's art atelier is amazing for a couple!”
  • Suite Atelier
  • Suite Atelier
jnevesjose, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“It's not a place to come for cheap stay, but you get what you pay for. Don't skimp on your visit.”
chrissB6986EV, 12 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5