107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel

107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel

Traveller (87)
Rooftop view
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#13 of 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel, where history, luxury and technology blend perfectly to create a relaxing haven, offers intimate yet modern accommodation for the discerning leisure and corporate traveller. Ideally situated on the famous Dorp Street in the historic town centre of Stellenbosch - heart of the Cape Winelands.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa

Location

107 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600 South Africa
217Reviews0Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 34
  • 19
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lingers247 wrote a review Mar 2023
Worcester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I feel that I have to write a review following the bad review by a couple on holiday which I read literally a couple of days before we were arriving as it had been booked by our travel agent some months previously. However we arrived early and were able to park our car in their car park which is very narrow so leave be warned when choosing your hire car! They let us check in about an hour early and we were shown to a lovely boutique style hotel room which was very clean and smelt very nice! The bathroom was very modern, there was an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities although the kettle didn't hold enough for 2 cups, a fridge, safe. During load shedding, which was happening 2-3 times a day for a couple of hours, they had a generator which meant you had lights and WiFi but no telly. An improvement on our hotel in Cape Town which didn't have anything. The breakfast was fine - a choice of continental or cooked; the couple next to us had cooked and it looked very nice. There is sushi restaurant underneath the hotel where you eat breakfast, which is open for dinner. However, you get no noise from it. The staff were very friendly which we've come to expect from hotel staff in the Western Cape. Result, a lovely stay in a beautiful and laid back town.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware of load shedding if you rely on hairdryers, etc.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jubeida Neels, General Manager at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear Linger, Thank you for your lovely and honest review of how you experience 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel We hope to see you again in the near future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Willem B wrote a review Oct 2022
Boksburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't be fooled by looking at the door you need to enter to go to this little gem of a place, you sort of walk thru a Asian/ Suhi bar to enter, but when you go to the rooms you are transported into a modern sleek building. The rooms are all looking out on Dorp street with double glazing so no noise can bother you. The rooms are well decorated and reasonable in size. The only don side it the breakfast that is served. The Asian place doubles up as the breakfast area, but the service is NON existent. we wated more than an hou for two raw croissants and jam. This left a it of a sour taste in the mount, but all ana all a place i will go to again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jubeida Neels, General Manager at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear Bronkhorst, Thank you for your lovely review of 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel. We look forward in welcoming you back in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PamperPrincesses wrote a review Nov 2023
WIGAN
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived early and we were able to park in the car park ( very tight, but was fine).
Ideally located close to quaint little town with lovely shops & restaurants (The Wine Glass restaurant and Java cafe bar were our favourites) . Hotel receptionist Chez was brilliant - very friendly and knowledgeable,& the night porter Sammy was great . We had a front facing room on the 2nd floor overlooking the street ( triple glazed windows which blocked out the noise). The room was modern , spacious and very clean . The bathroom was adequate & toiletries are supplied (also an iron and hairdryer in the room) .
Breakfast was served in the sushi bar next door . Selection of fruit and cereal and a selection of hot dishes on request . Staff were lovely and friendly .
We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this value for money hotel in a good location .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BJJMc wrote a review Apr 2023
West Kelowna, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is neither boutique nor luxury. The photos on their website are very misleading. Bistro is now a sushi restaurant, facade is simply a door beside the restaurant. No lobby - just a hallway with a desk. Staff were lovely - very welcoming. But … no amenities, no room service, mini bar in (tiny) room had only water & not refilled until we asked. Our room had the shower & sink literally beside the bed & toilet behind a wooden door with no separate light. Comfortable bed, quiet but no luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jubeida Neels, General Manager at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear BACJ, Thank you for your review of 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel. We are sorry that we could not met your standards .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilde d wrote a review Apr 2024
2.0 of 5 bubbles
During our 3 week trip through South-Africa this hotel was one of 11 hotels we have visited. This one was the only one that did not fit our needs or expectations at all. It has a 5 star rating and we do not know why. The rooms are very small, basic and they smell of sewage. (in every bathroom they have automatic air fresheners that go off every 10 minutes. but that is no way to fix this problem). Everything is quite old in this hotel and does not get repaired. Like broken corners in the shower, or the roof terrace. All the furniture there is broken, also the pillows are torn. The hotel is above a sushi restaurant and to go to your room with the stairs you will have to go through the restaurant, to the parking, and there you can take the stairs. Most of the personel is friendly and the hotel is well situated, next to the town centre. But unfortunately this still did not make up for the basic small rooms, the smell, and that it was a bit scruffy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy H wrote a review Mar 2022
Cape Town, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
So we were passing through Stellenbosch and found this place. We should have known better than to book late during a long weekend.

We chose the Boutique Hotel because the look of the rooms, location and off street parking. To be fair the room was modern, well equipped and decent with the location really central.

When we arrived at 4pm we had to wait outside the locked reception and phone the hotel, all the time waiting to go through the gates. When eventually the receptionist graced us with her presence we were treated to the car park, which could best be described as cosy .

The hotel wifi worked ok, albeit unsecured. The service was inconsistent and awkward. Breakfast was functional and no medical issues following.

After performing a 78-point turn in the car park, we were finally released from 107 at the 2nd time of asking. It's the first and last time we'll need to park there.

Advice to Management - Be honest about the parking and train your staff around customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Keep scrolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jubeida Neels, General Manager at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear Andy , Thank you for your review of 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here as we will improve where needed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shayooo wrote a review Feb 2024
Dublin, Ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly young lady. As we were checking in she informed us that we would have to change rooms for the third night of our stay. When we asked why, we were told that the room was double booked. I then asked if we had to move to another hotel and was told that we just had to move to another room. I then suggested that that it would make more sense if the newly arriving guest take the vacant room. The young lady then proceeded to explain the definition of double booking, which I found as an insult to my intelligence. I then asked if the rooms were all the same and was told that they were. So I repeated my suggestion. She said that she could arrange our luggage and all personal items to be moved and we would not have to be present if we had plans. I said that it would still be a huge inconvenience and requested to speak to a manager. After being conveyed to our room in the strangest and noisy elevator I have ever encountered ( operated only by one’s finger being pressed on the floor number button to ensure arrival on the desired level).
A few minutes later we were informed that no manager was available and that she would do her best to allow us remain in the room for the duration of our stay.
I returned to my car to try to park it in the designated car park and my first obstacle was the extremely narrow gate with about 4 inches clearance on each side of my wing mirrors. When I managed to get through to the car park I was unable to turn and park so I returned to the street outside where I was very fortunate to find parking.
Breakfast was included in our stay and was absolutely dreadful. Served in the adjoining restaurant which on arrival you were greeted by friendly staff but the terrible greasy smell was very unpleasant and unappetising. The menu was basic and the food was very poor.
All was not lost however because as we departed for dinner that evening we were greeted by the night porter, Sammy, the most charming and infectious person you could ever have the pleasure to meet. He greeted us on our departure and return each night of our stay and we delighted in his enthusiasm and sense of humour.
We were allowed remain in our room for the duration and the room was quite adequate despite the bathroom’s glass door being fitted badly preventing it from closing.
Would probably not stay again but then we may not get to see Sammy again, which would be a terrible pity.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Judy H wrote a review Mar 2024
Zug, Switzerland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 3 nights. Large studio room (no balcony); breakfast (included) was served in the “sushi” restaurant which seems to be part of the hotel. Very friendly, competent check-in. Generally helpful and friendly staff (both hotel and restaurant). Only 4 very “tight” parking bays on the premises but there is sufficient parking in the area. Comfortable, “no frills” stay in the centre of Stellenbosch. Wlan available.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
maryke1974 wrote a review Sept 2021
Somerset West, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The pictures on hotel.com definitely does this place a huge favour and definitely is deceptive.
Once you enter your “lovely spacious” room you are shocked at what the pictures portray to the real life experience.
In my opinion just a dolled up City Lodge. The room is super small and no luxury to speak of or anything Boutique as they call it! An atmosphere lacking entrance and breakfast room. Not being able to even have a sundowner before going to town.
The price, well at R2600 a night i would suggest go find another place in Stellies. Theres plenty to choose from, but this one is a 100% skip from my side. Unfortunately my beloved booked and paid by what he saw on the photos, very deceiving of this hotel! But NEVER again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jubeida Neels, General Manager at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Thank you for your review of 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel. We are sorry we could not met your standards what you had in mind.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shane R wrote a review Apr 2022
Grand Baie
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the hotel for approximately three months from August to October 2021. We were stuck in South Africa, due to Covid lockdown restrictions. The hotel is very well situated, on a lively street, within walking distance of several great restaurants. It’s a short walk to Central town and there’s a great supermarket just across the road. The hotel is very well suited for self catering. The facilities are high end and the decor is contemporary. The staff are very friendly and professional. The hotel was always clean. The complementary breakfast in the morning was fantastic, along with a bottomless coffee. The internet was good but can be improved. We can highly recommend the hotel for both short and long stays if you intend visiting Stellenbosch. They also have a great rooftop patio, with incredible views of the mountains. There are facilities on the patio to braai, but we didn’t make use of these.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is parking in the back, but be careful it’s very small, so large cars would be a problem.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jubeida Neels, General Manager at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear Shane, Thank you for your lovely review of 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel. We enjoyed you here as you became family of us. We will improve where needed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
EadMcN wrote a tip Mar 2024
Ireland5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Didn’t seem to be any fee for parking on the street despite the signs. Car park is first come first serve."
Read full review
Neil T wrote a tip Sept 2023
17 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If staying one night you could stay on a wine estate, but the town is beautiful so definitely worth staying in town if you can. "
Read full review
robert14 wrote a tip Apr 2023
18 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking requires care"
Read full review
Lingers247 wrote a tip Mar 2023
Worcester, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of load shedding if you rely on hairdryers, etc. "
Read full review
amandajb254 wrote a tip Jul 2022
Brooklyn, New York61 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"100% recommend"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stellenbosch area.
PRICE RANGE
₹5,262 - ₹6,849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeStellenbosch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

107 DORPSTRAAT BOUTIQUE HOTEL (Stellenbosch) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Stellenbosch Village Museum (0.4 km), Dorp Street (0.3 km), and Unlock Escape Rooms (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Helena's Restaurant, Stellenbosch Kitchen, and Casa Cerveza.
Does 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Stellenbosch.
Are any cleaning services offered at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boschendal (11.6 km) and Vergelegen Picnic (15.0 km).
All Stellenbosch HotelsStellenbosch Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in StellenboschHotels near 107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire