We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived and couldn't dine at location due to a wedding party, unfortunately we were not informed in advance So could change plans. Attention wasn't there for us due to,large group. Room is very nice but not very clean, with dirty windows and dust. No cushions for patio chairs. While on time for breakfast most was finished and tough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aryan v
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Dear Aryan, thank you for your review.We would like to extend our deepest regrets for not being informed about the wedding at the guest house in advance as well as the lack of attention from our staff and we will ensure this will not happen in the future. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cleanliness of rooms and we will...

Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Hawkmoor House is an old landhouse, which is currently used as Bed&Breakfast. There are several buildings and in each building you find a different variety of rooms, each with an own theme (Chinese room, white room etc). The house is situated in a wineyard, so has beautiful surroundings. The location is perfect: away from the 'busy' Stellenbosch, but close enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara t
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, thank you kindly for your review. We, at Hawksmoor House are pleased that you had a great stay at our guest house and that you thought our location was great as it is away from the hustle and bustle of Stellenbosch. We work had to ensure all our guests have a pleasurable stay at all times, thus we...

Echternach, Luxembourg
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We spent to nights in this marvellous old county retreat. The rooms are comfortable, the food was good and we loved the atmosphere of this quiet place located in a marvellous countryside in the middle of huge vineyards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cali125
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Dear Cali, thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay at Hawksmoor House. We always work hard to ensure we provide the best atmosphere for our guests to enjoy a peaceful getaway in the Winelands and we love to share our passion for great food with all our visitors....

Mertert, Luxembourg
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed for 2 nights at Hawksmoor House and we all loved it. The surroundings are very well kept and the views are stunning. The main house is a historic farm which you can almost feel every step you take! The rooms itself are very comfortable and cozy and have all amenities you can think of. We had dinner once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romain1301
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hi there. Wow! We loved reading this review. We are so happy to hear you had such a great stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the historic atmosphere of Hawksmoor, we are very proud of our roots and the history of the Hawksmoor House is one of our favorite stories. We look forward to having you...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Amazing service! All the staff members were super friendly, and went out of their way to assist! ( our car broke down on the dirt road that day, just as we arrived! ) And the managers on duty came up with a very quick solution to have our car towed by a tractor, right to the front of the guesthouse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liezl N
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hello, Wow, your review blew us away! We are so happy to hear you and your partner were able to unwind and let us spoil you. We can’t wait to see you again soon. Best, The Hawksmoor Team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Food for the soul, peace and tranquility, this rustic farmhouse is rich in history and filled with the most beautiful antique furniture and decor. The service is excellent, friendly and helpful staff, and the breakfast was good. Our room was very comfortable with under floor heating, fireplace, a magnificent bed with fresh crisp linen and a bath for 2, all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda T
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hello, Yay! We are so glad to hear it. We always love hearing when our guests enjoy their stay as much as we have had having them-each guest adds to Hawksmoors history, for which we are truly grateful. Please do visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Hawksmoor Team

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

14 Oct 2016 What a great team. All staff a so friendly and always going the extra mile. Attention to detail, beautiful room, beautiful views, ensuring you can truly relax away from the noice of city life. Will come and revisit with kids next time as your self catering unit is just perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FJ S
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for these kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Hawksmoor House. Thank you for the kind words of praise to our staff members. We look forward to you visiting again with your kids. See you soon, The Hawksmoor Team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed at Hawksmoor for one night during the week and throughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was elegantly comfortable, with all the necessaries to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, with spectacular views of the farm, Table Mountain, and the sea in the distance. The manor house has a delightful veranda with views of Table Mountain, a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aBlondeandaBeard
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hello, You have made our day! Thank you so much for such a stellar review. It is always so great to hear when our guests experience all that Hawksmoor has to offer. Living in the quieter Cape area means a healthy dosage of laid back living is always welcome, and those sunsets and views just add to your stay! We...

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

The farm is 25 km north of Stellenbosch and we arrive late in the afternoon, tired and looking forward to dinner because we didn't really want to drive. After a warm welcome we were shown to the brown room, that's in the main farmhouse. Unfortunately they had a big group in that nice of a dozen other people who were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulrichmond
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for such kind words! We are smitten with the history the old farm house has to offer and love having guests experience an authentic Cape stay from yesteryear. That combined with our view and the fresh, crisp summer air has us head over heels and we are so glad you were able to experience this...

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic weekend at Hawksmoor House. Management was very welcoming and made us feel right at home. The fireplace in the cold evening winters was enchanting and we thoroughly enjoyed the cheese and meat platter. All in all a great experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maolz
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hi There We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing better than a roaring fire during the winter. We look forward to your next stay with us, we will have the cheese platters and the fire ready for you. All the best The Hawksmoor team

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (315)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
10.6 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
557 reviews
15.8 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
752 reviews
14.8 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
15.8 km away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
648 reviews
11.3 km away
Weltevreden Estate
Weltevreden Estate
#50 of 112 in Stellenbosch
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hawksmoor House is an authentic Cape Dutch retreat located on a wine farm near Stellenbosch, only 25 minutes from Cape Town. Meticulously restored and decorated with exquisite antiques and stylish contemporary touches, it occupies a stunning location overlooking Table Mountain. Hawksmoor House offers a totally unspoilt, unpolished and relaxed country home experience. If you love dogs, dirt roads, sunsets, wine by candlelight and an owl outside your window, you have found your place! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm

Address: Matjieskuil Farm, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: ₹ 3,695 - ₹ 11,280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor House At Matjieskuil Farm Hotel Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“White room will give you wifi in your room”
MrPaul007, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Huge difference between the best and worst rooms, so take a look or phone before you come. Get an outbuilding far from a swamp.”
intrepid1406, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Fire place in the room makes for a great setting.”
Brettmdk, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We have always loved the White Room”
majiksea, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the house itself is very comfortable.”
Azillahe, 26 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5