We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Simon's Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is my 4th stay here and once again this hotel exceeds my expectations. The friendliness of the staff is outstanding. The kids are always entertained either at the pool, jungle gym, inside play area at the restaurant or just on the large grass area making this hotel perfect if you have kids. With 2 restaurants to choose from at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantelfo
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Got a upgrade to Exec Room with separate sleeping and living area. First room was close to pool but we could change to a room with valley view. Breakfast is ok altough we only used it once. Better go to one of the vinery's. The hotel is located in the so called techno...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard H
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

My colleagues and I loved our stay in this clean and beautiful hotel. Our rooms were spacious and beautifully maintained. Laundry service was fast and professional. The staff was very kind and helpful to us, despite our late hours and repeated questions. The only problems were that a couple of times some of our keys would stop working and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice M
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Dear Beatrice Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate your beautiful comments regarding our clean and beautiful hotel. I will certainly share your feedback with our Management TEAM and STAFF. Kindest Regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked hotel for 3 days apon my arrival my room was a disable friendly room with no bath.i requested for another room for my stay.i was informed that they are full and will assist me waiting almost over an hour they finally got us a room only for the night and will place me in another room the nxt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayleenwillis
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Dear KAYLEEN, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor, in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences that you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location wth beautiful views. Rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast buffet is of the best with friendly and accommodating staff. Highly recommended. The pool area is great for all ages with a bar and facilities for kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 95tanyam
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day Tanya Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor, thank you for complimenting our great location and beautiful views. It is so good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcome you back to Protea Hotel Stellenbosch. Kindest Regards, Elze Bester

Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a several days here over the December holiday period with the hotel being virtually fully booked. The location of this hotel is great as it is on the outskirts of the town overlooking Kleine Zalze wine/residence estate i.e. great views. Check in was pleasant and efficient. The rooms are a bit small and a bit basic and this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sangeev
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day, I hope you had a good festive season and enjoyed the holidays. I would like to thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor, we appreciate and value all our GUEST comments positive or negative. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experience during your stay, I have shared your feed back with our Management TEAM....

Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are very nice and considering the hotel to be 3 stars it is very good quality. The staff at the reception immediately recognized my platinum elite status with Marriott and were treating me nicely. Some small issues are there in regards of staff. At the pool bar two ladies did not even care if glass broke on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bheinrich73
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day Heinrich Happy New Year! We appreciate that you rated us on tripadvisor, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced with our service. I have shared your concerns with the appropriate departments. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards,

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are staying the night here en route to Hermanus. From the time we checked in to the service at the restaurant for supper, excellent service all round. The room was an en suite bedroom with 2 sofas for the kids plus a kitchenette. The room itself was clean and extremely spacious. We spent the afternoon at the pool. Two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaNaidoo
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day Samantha Happy New Year! Thank you for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards,

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for 3 nights as part of a Dan Patlansky guitar weekend. The room was spacious and well air conditioned. The views were great of the surrounding mountains. The food at the Wingerd restaurant was very good and reasonable. The buffet breakfast was great. Pool was good as well. Overall the service was efficient and friendly. They had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimiti
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for sharing you experience with us, it is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the views around our beautiful property. Looking forward to welcome you back to Protea Hotel Stellenbosch. Kindest Regards,

Johannesburg South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We generally accept mediocre service as the norm in South Africa. We were treated with unexpected great service at the Protea hotel in Stelinbosch. Way above or expectations. Had a really great stay at the Protea hotel. The Staff are friendly and helpful. Very impressed. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for your hospitality

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbritany
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you so much for your compliments, I have shared your experience with our Hotel TEAM. Looking forward to welcome you back to Protea Hotel Stellenbosch. Wishing you and your family a Happy Festive Season. Kindest Regards,

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.7 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,525 reviews
4.1 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
315 reviews
4.0 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
7.3 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
493 reviews
9.6 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad." Nestled between two international golf courses, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch offers all guests the best of the Winelands. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Address: Techno Avenue, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: ₹ 6,895 - ₹ 13,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a room with a view of the valley”
 of 5 bubbles Sangeev, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the mountains!-Upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles StephanOosthuizen, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask about distance from reception according to your needs and avoid Block L if the noise of the frogs is going to bother you!”
 of 5 bubbles isabel955, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the Mountains”
 of 5 bubbles RSAHeartsAdventure, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you don't have a car don't stay.”
 of 5 bubbles johnmarcgo, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay