We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

10 Alexander

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
10 Alexander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 10 Alexander
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a wonderful time in 10 Alexander in Stellenbosch. We felt home and safe and sound in this lovely B&B. It has a beautiful green garden with a pool and many possibilities to sit and relax. And it has the best breakfast you can imagine - including self-baked bread.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christianhR6433KE
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you Christian. Keeping the garden in shape in the worst drought in recorded history is a major challenge. Thank you for noticing it. Safety is always a priority, and Otto, our delightful dachshund, contributes a lot to this.

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Charming and welcoming B&B near the center of town (short 7 minute walk) to wonderful restaurants, shops, and souvenir market. We were welcomed by Wietske upon arrival who showed us to our rooms. She oriented us to the place and to the town, giving us excellent food recommendations for lunch and dinners (Java Cafe and Oppie Dorp). This place has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate the extensive review, and all the wonderful compliments, and hope to spoil you again.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Paul & Wietske - It was indeed a pleasure to share in your wonderful B&B. At last I had the opportunity to confirm what so many others on TripAdvisor said - "The breakfast is out of this world" - And it was. The room was very comfortable and everything I needed for my quick stop in Stellenbosch. This great experience...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanderwatth
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

We really enjoyed your company, and your kind words inspires us to try and make other guests experience the same. Baie dankie.

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We spent 3 nights at 10 Alexander with my wife. The property is very clean, and has rich garden flowers and trees. The environment is like home, the owners are kind and very charming. Very Clean rooms and breakfast area. The breakfast was very nice! I will visit again for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maharage
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Maharage. Thank you so much. The terrible drought and resultant veld fires create huge challenges in terms of the garden and keeping the resultant dust and soot under control. For this reason, your comments are doubly welcome.

Europe
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The b&b is comfortably located, if you like to be in town. Lovely courtyard, ok breakfast. Nevertheless, rooms are dusty, uncomfortable and the furniture poor and old. This b&b seems really overpriced for what it is. They could make a bit more efforts in cleaning and comfort for those rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlefrida
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. I am at a loss to understand how your experience could be so different from more than 400 other reviews where we received five star reviews for cleanliness and service, and 4.5 stars for value, location, rooms and sleep quality (including beds). It is such a pity that you did not bring the matters...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I cannot recommend this lovely haven enough. The owners were so helpful and attentive, the staff were friendly and even their dog Otto was well mannered and adorable. The gardens were so peaceful and only a 10 minute walk away from Town it was a great find! The rooms were spacious and there was a honesty bar we ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamieharris1986
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

You made our day! Our staff were thrilled when I shared this with them, and Otto dug up a well preserved bone to celebrate his celebrity status. Thank you.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

A small b & b with excellent hosts and lovely breakfasts. Small but nice gardens and pool. Good position within walking distance of Stellenbosch centre. Would recommend this b & b as a nice place to stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevegadsby14
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Steve, thank you for sharing your experience at 10 Alexander B & B. Your kind words are sincerely appreciated.

St. Gallen, Switzerland
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We loved staying at 10 Alexander! Especially the owners were very friendly and welcoming. We felt more like a part of their family. The breakfast is to die for and all is fresh out of their garden. 10 Alexander is central and safe. We just would of preferred a double bed to two single beds.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tammyr417
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

You are so kind, Tammy. Thank you so much. We have made some changes, and next time, there will be a double bed, guaranteed.

Berlin
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We are a family of four (children 4 and 6 years old) and spent two nights at 10 Alexander. The moment we stepped in, we felt that the place is very peaceful and calm. The Owners were very kind and helped us with every the question we had. You can park your car on the premises and absolutely safe. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BaddielBerlin
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Your review is number 400 since we started in March 2014 and is such a wonderful cherry on top of what has been an exiting experience all along. To be rated so highly by so many guests on Tripadvisor is wonderful encouragement for us and our staff to try and live up the expectations this creates. Thank you so very...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We were very well looked after by our hosts and had an enjoyable time. They were helpful in providing advice and we would recommend them to friends who might want to stay in the Stellenbosch area. It is conveniently located next to the R44 but the downside is that it is a bit of a walk back in the evening...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoberHolmes
Wietske2016, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, Robert. We enjoyed sharing some thoughts about our wonderful town, and hope to see you again next year.

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
359 reviews
0.8 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
8.0 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
612 reviews
0.8 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
752 reviews
5.8 km away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and run, rustically appointed 10 Alexander is perfectly located to visit local attractions, restaurants and museums on foot. Wine farms, Franschoek, Hermanus and Cape Town are in close vicinity. We provide up to date advice on the best restaurants and wine-tasting options, based on feedback from recent guests. All 8 rooms have own its bathrooms, six of which are en-suite. Tea/coffee facilities are available in a fully equipped kitchenette plus a comprehensive bouquet of TV options. Free parking is on-site and secure. We also provide complimentary Wi-Fi in addition to a swimming pool, barbeque and shady patios, with bird watching as a side attraction. 10 Alexander is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of the whole of the Western Cape in a relaxed and ambient setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 10 Alexander

Address: 10 Alexander Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: ₹ 6,797 - ₹ 9,572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 10 Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 10 Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 10 Alexander staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For familys travelling with baby, ask for the garden view room so you dont have to worry about stairs.”
468shanid, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suite 11 in treetops is spacious but beware morning traffic noise and church bells Room 3 on ground floor is modest but quieter”
susannaj, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing the pool for a quieter stay.”
michellefM3322XW, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very clean.”
Maharage, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had Room #8, which we loved as it came with it's own kitchen,”
Lin116, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5