We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

10 Alexander

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
10 Alexander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 367: English reviews
Start your review of 10 Alexander
 Click to rate
Reviewed today NEW

The 10 Alexander is a 5 minutes walk away from the city center. Its is lovely. The owners are so nice and solicitous. The rooms are specious and very clean. Breakfast is hand made and just delicious. I would definately come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aga H
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful time at Alexander B&B, enjoyed the time at the swimmingpool, wonderful breakfast and helpful tips and advises by Evelyn who manged the place perfectly. Thank you! Richard & Katharina (Austria)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard_weiskopf
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Evelyn will be so pleased - she really does her utmost best to make guests feel at home.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a look around Stellenbosch before booking, but since I've been here before, I chose 10 Alexander. Quality, quality, quality. Food, cleanliness, staff, tourist information, conversations with the hosts. I travel a lot. I just know, this is the golden standard!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ria8653
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you so much Ria. It was a real joy having you here. There is still so much to talk about. you will have to come again.

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our 3 nights at 10 Alexander--it was a comfortable home base from which to explore Stellenbosch on foot (recommend walking guide Inge at Information Centre) and short taxi ride home after dark. Wietske couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming (good restaurant guidance) and without extra charge moved us for final night to No. 11 - a suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susannaj
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thanks Susanna. It was a pleasure spoiling you. The room you refer to as the tree top room is in fact number 6, in case some else wants book there.

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful time in 10 Alexander in Stellenbosch. We felt home and safe and sound in this lovely B&B. It has a beautiful green garden with a pool and many possibilities to sit and relax. And it has the best breakfast you can imagine - including self-baked bread.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christianhR6433KE
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you Christian. Keeping the garden in shape in the worst drought in recorded history is a major challenge. Thank you for noticing it. Safety is always a priority, and Otto, our delightful dachshund, contributes a lot to this.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Charming and welcoming B&B near the center of town (short 7 minute walk) to wonderful restaurants, shops, and souvenir market. We were welcomed by Wietske upon arrival who showed us to our rooms. She oriented us to the place and to the town, giving us excellent food recommendations for lunch and dinners (Java Cafe and Oppie Dorp). This place has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate the extensive review, and all the wonderful compliments, and hope to spoil you again.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Paul & Wietske - It was indeed a pleasure to share in your wonderful B&B. At last I had the opportunity to confirm what so many others on TripAdvisor said - "The breakfast is out of this world" - And it was. The room was very comfortable and everything I needed for my quick stop in Stellenbosch. This great experience...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanderwatth
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

We really enjoyed your company, and your kind words inspires us to try and make other guests experience the same. Baie dankie.

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at 10 Alexander with my wife. The property is very clean, and has rich garden flowers and trees. The environment is like home, the owners are kind and very charming. Very Clean rooms and breakfast area. The breakfast was very nice! I will visit again for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maharage
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Maharage. Thank you so much. The terrible drought and resultant veld fires create huge challenges in terms of the garden and keeping the resultant dust and soot under control. For this reason, your comments are doubly welcome.

Europe
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The b&b is comfortably located, if you like to be in town. Lovely courtyard, ok breakfast. Nevertheless, rooms are dusty, uncomfortable and the furniture poor and old. This b&b seems really overpriced for what it is. They could make a bit more efforts in cleaning and comfort for those rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlefrida
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. I am at a loss to understand how your experience could be so different from more than 400 other reviews where we received five star reviews for cleanliness and service, and 4.5 stars for value, location, rooms and sleep quality (including beds). It is such a pity that you did not bring the matters...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot recommend this lovely haven enough. The owners were so helpful and attentive, the staff were friendly and even their dog Otto was well mannered and adorable. The gardens were so peaceful and only a 10 minute walk away from Town it was a great find! The rooms were spacious and there was a honesty bar we ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamieharris1986
10alexander, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review

You made our day! Our staff were thrilled when I shared this with them, and Otto dug up a well preserved bone to celebrate his celebrity status. Thank you.

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
352 reviews
0.8 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.7 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
725 reviews
3.8 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
591 reviews
5.8 km away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and run, rustically appointed 10 Alexander is perfectly located to visit local attractions, restaurants and museums on foot. Wine farms, Franschoek, Hermanus and Cape Town are in close vicinity. We provide up to date advice of the best reatuarants and wine-tasting options, based on feedback from recent guests. All 8 rooms have own bathrooms, free tea/coffee facilities and a fully equipped kitchen. Parking is on-site and secure. There is a swimming pool, barbeque and a shady patio, with bird watching as a side attraction. Free Wi-fi and TV bouquet, comprising movies and sport. Perfect for a relaxed break-away in a ambient setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 10 Alexander

Address: 10 Alexander Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: ₹ 8,476 - ₹ 13,774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 10 Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 10 Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 10 Alexander staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite 11 in treetops is spacious but beware morning traffic noise and church bells Room 3 on ground floor is modest but quieter”
 of 5 bubbles susannaj, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing the pool for a quieter stay.”
 of 5 bubbles michellefM3322XW, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very clean.”
 of 5 bubbles Maharage, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had Room #8, which we loved as it came with it's own kitchen,”
 of 5 bubbles Lin116, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms would be equally nice to stay in.”
 of 5 bubbles AlisonE482, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5