We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aan Dorpstraat Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
scotland
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We are more used to staying in hotels, but Fiona ( my friend) assured me Guest houses in South Africa were to way to go. I can say were we not disappointed. After a long flight from Scotland via Dubai we were warmly greeted byGwen and Johan. We were shown our room and unpacked while we waited for our friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tummytank
GwenHugo, Owner at Aan Dorpstraat Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Friends I am responding to all of you who have written such kind comments on our guesthouse. Thank you all so much! We are so thrilled to read them all and are very grateful and humbled by these wonderful reviews. The wonderful thing about TripAdvisor is not so much the ranking - although it is really VERY nice to...

Songea, Tanzania
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We were two couples - one from Tanzania and one from Scotland - and our first destination in the western Cape was Aan Dorpstraat. We picked this guest house on the strength of other reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. We chose Stellenbosch and Aan Dorpstraat as our first port of call as we'd travelled fairly long distances...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaVan
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Others have said it all. Gwen and Johan are great hosts and run an excellent B&B. Very well appointed room. Gwen was happy to spend quite some time giving us helpful advice and we wish we could have stayed longer. Stellenbosch is an interesting town surrounded of course by by superb wineries in magnificent scenery. Gwen & Johan got up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WatersideJim
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Spotlessness clean and with every conceivable extra in our large stylish rooms, our stay at Aan Dorpstraat was delightful. Ideally situated in a quiet but very central location, Gwen and Johan were the ideal hosts. Gwen talked and Johan cooked! As a consequence we were told of all the best places to visit, tour and eat whilst feasting on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ggnuk
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 27 May 2011

A fantastic service provided be equally fanyastic couple Gwen & Johan. Seldom will you come across such a commited husband & wife team with the single minded purpose of hospitality with a large dose of personal touch. Certainly anyone fortunate enough to stay at this extremely well managed establishment will be in for a treat seldom found in 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gjsey
GwenHugo, Owner at Aan Dorpstraat Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Friends I am responding to the latest, very kind and generous review (because this is the way to do in on the system), but would like this to include all of our wonderful previous guests who have taken the time and effort to write such kind words about Aan Dorpstraat Guest House. Naturally we are thrilled and very thankful...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2011

we stayed at aan dorpstraat as part of our honeymoon and so were looking for something special. we certainly found it, so much so that we extended our stay with gwen and johan. the best places always reflect their owners and this was definitely the case here. generous, spotless, beautifully designed and very welcoming. gwen tirelessly looked after us, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank manchesterwords
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 1 April 2011

In our opinion, this is the place to stay in Stellenbosch. Very centrally located but still quiet. Our room was super clean and extremely comfortable with a king size bed, crisp cotton sheets, duvet and plenty of pillows. The bathroom was roomy with heated towel rail, thick towels, mixer taps, large shower, bath tub, loo and bidet. Added comforts in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iPotti
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I can only confirm what my father said in his review below. It was a perfect stay. Gwen helped me to find and book a hairdresser who was great and very priceworthy. As a student, you might have interest in where all the university people of Stellenbosch hang out. The three largest pub/cafés for student are at the other side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GabriellaGs
Sydney
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The hosts are, quite simply, amazing. From the moment we arrived they couldn't do enought to help us settle in and then help us with anything else we may need. They recommended 2 fantastic wineries they we visited late in the afternoon. When we arrived back we were invited to join them for drinks. In the morning our breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fires72
Berkshire, England
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We recently had a two night stay at the Aan Dorpstraat. This was our first experience of staying at a guest house and we had a lovely time. Gwen and Johan are superb hosts and made us feel very welcome. They told us a lot about the area and Gwen kindly booked restaurants for us both nights. The guest house...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Traveller from UK

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 km away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#4 of 114 in Stellenbosch
395 reviews
0.8 km away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#40 of 114 in Stellenbosch
86 reviews
1.1 km away
Eendracht Self-Catering
Eendracht Self-Catering
#10 of 48 in Stellenbosch
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Kleinbosch Lodge
Kleinbosch Lodge
#15 of 114 in Stellenbosch
276 reviews
0.3 km away
Black Horse B&B
Black Horse B&B
#97 of 114 in Stellenbosch
60 reviews
1.0 km away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#11 of 114 in Stellenbosch
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4-Star luxury, B&B accommodation including air conditioning, internet, silent mini-bar fridges, filtered water, small swimming pool and secure parking. All rooms fully en-suite - some with bidets. Owners, Johan and Gwen offer warm hospitality and personal service. Located centrally. 2 - 10 minutes’ walk from great restaurants and business centre. Short drive to wine estates, golf course, beach and other attractions (30 km from Cape Town International Airport). No children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aan Dorpstraat Guest House

Address: 14 Papegaai Street | Twon Centre, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: ₹ 7,262 - ₹ 9,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan Dorpstraat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aan Dorpstraat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aan Dorpstraat Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all great!”
 of 5 bubbles CHHLondon, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Most (all?) top floor rooms have low beams. During summer air con needs to be on continuously in the top floor rooms. Conversations from other rooms (and breakfast area) can intrude.”
 of 5 bubbles 735clivem, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Room 7 is really lovely (huge shower !)”
 of 5 bubbles UndercoverGuest, 2 Nov 2014 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues there are main floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Doggles10, 19 Feb 2014 | Read review
“I had number six which was lovely and super bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles CMHDublin, 6 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay