We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
Oudtshoorn
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Everything was just uncomplicated and easy to handle. Nice guided tours and lots of interesting Information. The area is very clean and its a nice view from the top of the hill. All animals having lots of space and are wild. :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thordist2016
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the luxury camping experience we are so proud to offer. We have created a home for our incredible wildlife, and lots of free roaming space was an absolute necessity. We hope that you have traveled home safely, and that we will have...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic! A real hidden gem 15 minutes drive from Cango Caves. Good service. Excellent 5-star glamping experience! Amazing peaceful view to wake up to in the morning. Wonderful experiences on offer: walking with and feeding the elephants, meerkats drive, watching hippos wading into the water while sipping on a sundowner gin and tonic, just to mention a few. Onsite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha L
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hello from Buffelsdrift! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at our lodge, nothing makes us happier than hearing that our guests have enjoyed the unique experience we are so proud to offer. Our onsite activities are always a highlight for our guests, as well as our restaurant, and we appreciate that you have made...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Taste of the food was good, but the service was so bad. They were all so busy with nothing. Our food was cold and even when we were done eating they took 30 min to get the plates. The waitress was really nice. But overall not a good review for this restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eli K
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is unfortunate that you did not get the 4 star service we are known for. We humbly apologise for this. We hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience our restaurant as it really is.

Kimbolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Not a full blown reserve but the camping is first class .Tents beautifully furnished ,beds so comfy and when we were there the nights were chilly but electric blankets made our bed snug.Lovy staff beautiful setting great value!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamjW2055AM
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hello from Buffelsdrift Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience of your stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you found your accommodation comfortable, and that our wonderful staff have been a highlight for you during your stay. We pride ourselves on giving our guests a unique 'glamping' experience, and we are...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Buffelsdrift is one of those rare places to stay, where -from the returning visitor's perspective- high quality standards in every field have not been only maintained over the past eleven years since the opening, but constantly and proactively being enhanced and broadend. Management's sensible focus lays on everbody and everything involved. Buffelsdrift is a place to visit, for a short...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank moonstar2016
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hello from Buffelsdrift! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in such a beautiful review, nothing makes us happier than hearing that our guests have enjoyed every second of their stay, as well as all the little things that make our lodge so special. We hope that we will have the pleasure of...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We unfortunately didn't stay over at Buffelsdrift which looked like very nice accommodation but went to the spa. This was an absolute treat. The spa is tented rooms with a beautiful view over the dam. While being massaged or receiving a facial it is to the singing of birds. The ladies did a awesome job with both. After the massage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elise01_11
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at the Spa, we are so pleased it has been one to remember! We have only received positive feedback from this addition to our lodge, and we are pleased to hear that this is the experience you have had too. We hope that you will be back to...

Oudtshoorn
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a nice, stay at Buffelsdrift. Everybody was very helpfull and we had a great time. Every year we stay there for a weekend to celebrate our anniversary and we hope to do it for many years to come.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wenzelv2016
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us over such a special occasion in your lives, and for sharing your experience with us in such a beautiful review. We look forward to spoiling you many more times in future :) We love hearing that our guests have felt well looked after by our amazing staff, and we are...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Great luxury tents and we stayed in a family tent (4 of us) which worked really well as all in great condition and comfort. Game drive was good and great to see rhino, wildebeest and hippo as well as many bok. Restaurant was a is carte and good considering often lodges have limited dining options. Service throughout was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelus55555
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear that your stay with us has been one to remember :) We are always so pleased to hear that our service has been a highlight for our guests, as excellent and friendly service is something we pride ourselves on at Buffelsdrift. We are also happy to...

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Bufflesdrift Lodge is located just a short drive from the hub of Outdshoorn, and is easy to find with very good signage. Check in was efficient and included an orientation of facilities and tented room with a hardwood floor set away from main lodge , it also had a deck with a table and 2 chairs with a partial view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hello from Buffelsdrift! Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear that your experience with us has been one to remember. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to experience our popular meerkat safari, but we hope that this is a good enough excuse for you to come and visit us...

Wellington, South Africa
Reviewed 18 September 2016

It is beautiful. Just make sure you have a reservation confirmation, because they use students and they don't always know all the things. We stayed in an old tent, they are busy renovating. The place is beautiful, very well situated and the food is excellent! The service and permanent staff is good and friendly and helpful!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank liannevr
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you back to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge in the near future.

631 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (577)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (313)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.8 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
466 reviews
23.3 km away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
166 reviews
25.2 km away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
298 reviews
15.9 km away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
862 reviews
5.4 km away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#13 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: ₹ 9,529 - ₹ 19,577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buffelsdrift Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Buffelsdrift Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a waterfront tent - got to sit and watch the hippos play!”
Lpk1119, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beside the water is great ,but some people may be disturbed by the noise from the birds.”
jcjohnston43, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a tent by the lake as close as possible to the reception building.”
mlx11, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tents close to the waterhole has the best views! The birds are noisy, but that's all part of the experience.”
hannetjier, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“luxury waterfront are great , overlooking the dam”
petra974, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5