We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Adley House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Adley House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 72: English reviews
Start your review of Adley House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My colleague and I stayed at Adley House last night for the first time. What a charming place! The grounds and guesthouse are beautiful and relaxing. The young lady that greeted us was lovely and welcoming. We asked for a recommendation for dinner which turned out to be spot on. The rooms are so comfortable and homey, and comes fully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meridy A
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Meridy A THANK YOU!!! for the stunning review. Your feedback is inspiring to the staff and we appreciate you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward in hosting you again. Kind regards Adley House Team

Quorrobolong, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at Adley House as part of a 15 day motorcycle tour of the east coast of South Africa. As soon as we rode into the driveway I knew we were in for something special - from the greeting at the door to the room, gardens & facilities this place is really special. Our room was quite spacious, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi David W Absolutely awesome!!! Thanks for the great review while you are still on the road. Have a save journey. Hope to see you in the near future with some friends. Kind regards Adley House Team

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Adley House is situated in a quiet road near the centre of Oudsthoorn, a beautiful old building with the most lovely garden, full of birds. The rooms inside the house are beautiful, cool with high ceilings, but we stayed in a purpose built annexe which was comfortable and provided everything you needed. Expert and friendly advice was given on where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janechater
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi janechater Thanks for the great review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Oudtshoorn. Please do visit again. Kind regards On behalf of the Adley House Team

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The fantastic gardens and large, immaculate rooms would have been good enough, but the welcoming hosts and delicious dinner/breakfast topped off our visit! Quiet and efficient location. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elvistoo
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi elvistoo WOW!! What a stunning review. It is reviews like this that inspire the team even more to walk the extra mile for the guests. Kind regards Adley House Team

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We only stayed for one night and therefore the rating cannot be really representative. All together the stay was nice, except that we did not have light in the room and bathroom at night and had to find things in the dark. Electricity had dripped, but nobody informed us or put the switch back- This was only when I asked...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uta J
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Uta J. Sorry for the unfortunate incident. It was only brought to our attention the next morning. One of the other guests used something that tripped one of the circuit breakers. Our phone number is in the file in the room and we do stay on the premises so we could have resolved the problem immediately if you have...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

I've visited twice within the last month. Adley has recently been taken over and under new management. The folk running the accommodation now are kind, friendly and sincere. On my last visit we had a traditional ostrich BBQ, the salad buffet was to remember but also the pre dinner drinks followed by a perfect meal. A big thank you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trenga-Steve
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Trenga-Steve Fantastic!! Thanks for the great review. We do try as a team to do our utmost best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay at Adley House. Your group were fantastic and was a real pleasure hosting you. We hope to see you in the near future. Kind regards Adley House Team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

What fantastic service! Broke down in Oudtshoorn with a blown gasket on 16 December 2016, long-weekend had to wait for Monday and after that until the Thursday 22 December 2016 for the car to be fixed, arrived at Adley House on Friday 16 December 2016, amazingly friendly reception, made a car available for transport for myself and the kids (no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francois2017
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Francois2017 WOW!!! what a great review. It was our pleasure in hosting you and making your painful experience a bit more bearable. Kind regards Adley House Team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We had a lovely stay at Adley house for 2 nights. We arrived very late like 10:30pm. But we were welcomed by Nicky with no complains but just friendly greetings and smile. Breakfast was good, once again Nicky was very friendly gave us a lot of suggestion where to go around the area, and Helene made phone calls to book...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kzhang_481453
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Kzhang_481453 Thank You!! for the great review - much appreciated. We as a team take pride in quality service delivery at Adley House and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Adley House Team

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

If you are looking to relax and enjoy old charm, this is the place. Friendly staff, from the boss to the gardener. Great breakfast sets you up for the day. We used both swimming pools to cool down from the hot Oudtshoorn weather. Beautiful gardens with the smell of flowers perfuming the air. The rooms are clean and have everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Martin S Thanks for the great and helpful review. It was our pleasure to host you and please when you or friends are in the area do visit us again. Kind regards. The Adley House Team

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I was looking for something authentic to the area and that is what i got with all the comforts. Breakfast was sumptuous. If I can make a recommendation it would be to rather replace the single beds with double or queen. Lovely stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicov769
adleyhouse, Manager at Adley House, responded to this review

Hi Nicov769 Thanks for the positive review. We do have rooms with double and queens but it depend on availability on time of booking. We do try our utmost best to cover our clients specific request/needs and if that specific room is booked we can't change. Please when you are in the area request a double bed. Maybe this time...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.6 km away
Advocate's Manor
Advocate's Manor
#23 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
51 reviews
0.1 km away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
125 reviews
0.8 km away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
499 reviews
1.1 km away
Avondblij Guest House
Avondblij Guest House
#24 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Roux's Guest House
Le Roux's Guest House
#14 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1905 by Sidney Herbert Adley during the 'Ostrich feather Boom period' 1880 to 1914. This magnificent Sandstone Victorian Homestead is situated on an acre of land in a quiet up market residential area near to the centre of town. Rated 4 stars by the S.A. Tourism grading council, it has 14 Air Conditioned, individually decorated rooms with T.V, tea and coffee facilities, Hairdryers, bar fridge and all the necessary amenities to make your stay most pleasant. Relax at our 2 pools in our well kept English Garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adley House

Address: 209 Jan van Riebeeck Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: ₹ 5,496 - ₹ 8,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adley House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Adley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Adley House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breat room, good bed, fantastic food!”
 of 5 bubbles nataliee921, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fabulous!”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were good”
 of 5 bubbles myrnamcf, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are big and surrounded with flowers”
 of 5 bubbles ColinB120341, 29 May 2014 | Read review
“Together with outbuildings, there are about 14 rooms in total. We stayed in the main house with opening doors to the garden and direct access to the dining room which we found most convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles S33ORL, 26 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5