We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surval Boutique Olive Estate

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Surval Boutique Olive Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 259: English reviews
Milnerton, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Stayed as a couple and a family of three. Occupied rooms Mission and Don Carlo; both were excellent and they had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. However, service at the restaurant was very slow, and although breakfast was very good, dinner was very average, and could be improved.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
GvW1, Owner at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review

1. Dear Surval Guest. Thank you for your review and for choosing Surval. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest at Surval soon. kind Regards

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We did not feel welcome at all. A blond young lady was at the reception. She has no clue about hospitality!!! No porter assistance offer with luggage. We asked her several questions, she was unable to answer during our stay (one night)... The day of our departure, we had our breakfast and we decided to pack everything, load the car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marieannepain
GvW1, Owner at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for alerting me to this with your review. We work hard to offer good informed and friendly service, and I’m sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. I want to reassure sure you that I will personally follow up, investigate and rectify all the comments and recommendations made. I hope you will give us another chance...

Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Excellent!!!!! The property is just astonishing. Great food, very nice restaurant. We had a beautiful view from our room over the property. The swimming pool is also great. For breakfast we could even drink champagne.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 327daisyc
GvW1, Owner at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest ensured, that we will take you comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your next visit. Warm regards

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I rated the rooms and sleep quality average. We were given a room with a view of the car park and this was not explained to us on booking, very disappointing. Also extremely noisy, there was some sort of club/party thing going on at the farm next door and that went on to early hours and then had a tree...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
GvW1, Owner at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your direct and genuine comments. We really appreciate the feedback, and I can assure you that I will be looking into the comments you have made regarding reservations feedback, however the room that you referred to overlooks the Outeniqua Mountain Range in the distance with a parking area strategically positioned amongst a 35 hectare Olive...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We stayed in "Boswara" overlooking stunning grounds....but I didn't manage to sleep all night. Management sympathetic but only refunded us R275 which we didn't feel was adequate compensation for no sleep when we also had a long drive next day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dixie321123
GvW1, Owner at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about the air-con mounting of the room next door, that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we already...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Beautiful location and very friendly staff. We liked our bedroom and the amenities in the bathroom. The atmosphere is so restful with lovely vistas all around. The reception staff was particularly helpful about the sights we should see, and her suggestions were spot on. The only downside was the very slow service at dinner. It shouldn't take 90 minutes to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Afroqwn
GvW1, Owner at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other prospective traveller's. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care !

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing rooms with superb view. Clean swimming pool. Cold beer and friendly staff and food service. Dinner and breakfast was amazing. Some of the best food we had on this holiday. Everyone went the extra mile for us

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sw170876
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

So pleasantly surprised by this hotel, a real hidden gem and so much better than you'd imagine as you pull off the road. Quality rooms, quality service, great food and a view to die for. Will definitely book again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallydutoit
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Had to sleepover for next day business meeting. Everything went great . Was given one of the new rooms . Only problem could be DSTV remote doesn't work as receiver is behind the tv. Well that was the only fault . Well done and thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marius D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We spent 2 nights at Surval, and used all the facilities. In particular, the restaurant is excellent and service level provided by team lead Willem is outstanding. The view on the valley and mountain is a real pleasure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanlorainbroca

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.3 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
468 reviews
7.0 km away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
510 reviews
6.7 km away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
818 reviews
14.3 km away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
866 reviews
6.2 km away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#13 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surval Boutique Olive Estate is situated about 5 km from Oudtshoorn on the R328 towards the Cango Caves. We offer 31 luxurious rooms in our newly restored 18th century homestead. The estate boasts both a fine dining restaurant overlooking the spectacular Swartberg Mountains and the Schoemanshoek valley as well as a beautiful functions venue. Our team promises to make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surval Boutique Olive Estate

Address: R328 - Cango Caves Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: ₹ 6,119 - ₹ 8,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surval Boutique Olive Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Surval Boutique Olive Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surval Boutique Olive Estate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Surval Boutique Olive Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps ask for a room/suite with a view over the beautiful mountains. Not sure of room numbers to request. It will be worth it.”
garthj_12, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“opt for a luxury room. well priced with extra space”
manelion, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to book a luxury double room with Mountain views just in front of the pool.”
Oudtshoorn1, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing East, wake early, draw the curtains, and watch the sunrise - certainly in Winter!”
  • View from the lawn outside our room at sunrise
richardcM5608JS, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room with view of the mountains”
AnneF190, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5