We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gumtree Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gumtree Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

527 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gumtree Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 428: English reviews
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We stayed in the cottage, which was great value,sleeping four of us in adjoining rooms with separate bathrooms. i was really impressed with the attention to detail in explaining everything about the room and breakfast. Linda went out of her way to fetch her cats for the children to pet and made us feel welcome. I loved the use of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petetashton
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Gumtree Guest House is situated in the center of Outdshoorn, just a few steps away from Restaurants and Shops. The nice and clean rooms are situated in a beautiful garden with pool. Our host was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed in the evening a (complementary) glass of good wine . All in all a great place to stay for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catellani
Obidos, Portugal
Reviewed 2 May 2015

and it had everything we could have wished for - lovely room and bathroom, nice toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar. Lovely outside space to sit and relax, overlooking the gardens. Welcome drink on our first night in the bar (although we didn't avail as it was a sweet wine which we didn't fancy before dinner). Unfortunately Phil...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayboia
THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kaybee, Thank you for your positive review and comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants and Meerkats etc. We were sad to have missed you but we did enjoy our short break away after a very busy Summer season. Our practice is to provide guests with a delayed breakfast upon their return from visiting the...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Unfortunately we could only stay one night as it is one of the nicest places we have stayed. Our room was quiet and very elegantly furnished. We received a welcoming drink, lots of travel advice and the breakfast was superb. A warm and very professional approach is taken by Linda and Phil.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlena675
LONDON
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Gumtree Guest House for one night during our garden route tour. The guest house is very cosy and close to restaurants. Phil and Linda were great hosts and were very helpful. Rooms were very spacious and had everything we needed. Breakfast was also delicious. There is a good Italian restaurant nearby which Phil recommended to us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atishghai
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 April 2015

The. hosts are certainly the best you will ever find. from the moment we entered the property we were made to feel welcome and at home. We received excellent advice on scenic routes and attractions in and around Oudtshoorn. At the end of a busy day drinks on the deck whilst watching the sunset is just perfect. Will definitely return....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerda V
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We booked online after reading a few reviews, and thought this would be a good place to stay. We requested two rooms close by, and were very happy with the rooms we got, as they had a connecting door. We arrived in the late afternoon, but still in time to have a swim in the pool. The rooms were very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Lich, Germany
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We were here for two nights. The rooms seems not to be very old and are quite modern compared to what we have seen sofar after our 25 days in Afrika. The accomodations offers more then you can expect from a B&B guest house. A nice terrace, a swimming pool, a bar, free wifi a parking place, accessible via a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond5000
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2015

We stayed at Gumtree Guesthouse for the last two nights of our three week trip to South Africa. The accommodation was superb but what made it really special was the friendliness of the owners - Phil and Linda. From the first phone call to book they provided helpful advice and while we were there they really helped us make the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We visited with friends and we stayed in two separate rooms. The rooms are very comfortable, neat, and spacious. We had everything we needed. The B&B location is fantastic, as it's only a couple of blocks from restaurants, shops and other interesting sights. Phil and Linda and lovely hosts and they made great recommendations regarding local restaurants, and also made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reginafug

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
447 reviews
0.2 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
274 reviews
0.5 km away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
277 reviews
0.2 km away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#6 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
458 reviews
1.4 km away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: ₹ 4,503 - ₹ 8,536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gumtree Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior room”
 of 5 bubbles 926margarete, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the room facing the large patio.”
 of 5 bubbles BeaK486, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“3A & 3B are private and very big”
 of 5 bubbles 970elmariev, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Small selection therefore all rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles fabians522, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Cottage suite is excellent for a family of 4.”
 of 5 bubbles E9477YDianr, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5