We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hide Away Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hide Away Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hide Away Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 342: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Cecil and Colleen made us very welcome when we stayed for a couple of nights in October, the views from our room across the bay were fantastic. Coleen was very helpful on our arrival where she was able to make bookings for restaurants, and offered a number of alternatives for us to choose from. The guest house is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alistair M
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there Alistair Thank you so much for taking the time to do the thorough review on your stay with us at the beginning of October. We do appreciate the great comments! As we said, you have loads of reasons to come back to Knysna as there is just so much more for you to see and do and of...

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We choose this guest house to stay as we want to "hide away" from the city. Good choice as far as the view over the lagoon is concerned. Unfortunately the noise of the highway close by was somewhat disappointing. Service given at this guest house was very structured and organized. In some way made up for the noise if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kobus S
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Kobus & Lisbe We hope that you had a good flight back to Johannesburg! Thank you once again for staying with us at Hide Away and for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the noise from the road, which fortunately does quieten down considerably during...

Uppingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were staying here for 2 nights but stayed for 3 as we really enjoyed our stay here. It is a great base for the many attractions there and Colleen was very helpful with advice and arranging transport and bookings for us. Cecil cooked a great breakfast and all the staff were great. The room was lovely and comfortable with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heathergreasley
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for the great review! It is so encouraging to receive positive feedback on the efforts we make to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and its even better when they decide they will return when next they are in our part of the world. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in...

Reviewed 10 September 2016

We loved our stay here. Colleen was so helpful answering all our questions and my friends and I really loved staying at Hide Away. The rooms were spacious and quiet. The breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kara W
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Kara You have probably returned home by now and getting back into a normal routine. I hope you managed to see as much as possible in Dubai on your layover and that it wasn't too hot for you. This time of the year in the Middle East can be quite unbearable especially if you are not used to it....

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I booked into the Hide Away guest house for 2 nights whilst visiting Knysna for the first time and couldn't have asked for better service or accommodation! The room was fantastic! Spacious, comfortable and had all the cosy amenities and extras you could ask for! Colleen was so helpful with her advice on what to do, where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenna P
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Jenna Thank you so much for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us earlier this week. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and Brett! We hope you enjoy the last few days you have here in South Africa before returning home to Zimbabwe. The weather looks like it is playing ball! We are...

Bournemouth England
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

What an amazing guest house! The rooms are beautiful and Cecil,Colleen and their staff were fantastic. You start the day with a great breakfast with a beautiful view over the lagoon. The guest house is a historic part of Knysna's past and Colleen has written a great blog on the guest house website. Cecil & Colleen are lovely people and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuJ999
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Stuart & Lynn Apologies for not responding to your review sooner! Thank you indeed for the great feedback. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we are so delighted that you have decided to make Knysna your new home. Just think, you have already made two friends besides Cecil & I - Johan & Manon...

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the Knysna Forest Marathon. The guesthouse is well located to walk to town, shops and restaurants and from the finish back to the guesthouse. Transport was coordinated to the start by Hide Away. Friendly staff, Manager and Manageress. Attention to detail was evident. Restaurants and sites were recommended. Check in and out was very efficient. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigwW9764ZH
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Craig and Linda Apologies for not responding sooner! No excuse ... Thank you so much for the great review of your stay with us during the Knysna Oyster Festival last month. We hope to see you back again next year. Kind regards Cecil & Colleen PS: Craig - we hope the transition to Airlink has worked well.

Kent
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Hide-Away is just a few minutes drive from the centre of Knysna. It's a beautiful old building, with stunning views over the lagoon. Colleen and Cecil are what make Hideaway so great. They are incredibly accommodating, nothing seems too much trouble and they are just genuinely lovely people who are passionate about showing their guests the best of Knysna. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan C
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Dan Thanks so much for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us recently. It was indeed a pleasure meeting and chatting to you especially about the adventure you are currently on. Oh to be young again! Thanks also for helping me with my first attempt at blogging. We are looking forward to welcoming you...

zurich
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We really enjoyed our 2 nights in this guesthouse. I was very comfortable and relaxing after long days of adventure!! The owners a very helpful with suggestions and help organising things! Thank you for the excellent service!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stampferli
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Greetings from a cool and wet Knysna Winter has finally made itself felt here in South Africa, but looking at the weather in Europe it is not much better! Thank you once again for staying with us and taking the time to do the short review on your stay with us. Reviews are extremely important to our business as we...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I stayed one night at the Hide Away B&B and was left with great memories. The reception was professional and Colleen a friendly host. The room is spacious, beautifully furnished and facing the lake,so I had a stunning view. Cecil is a great cook so meals are hearty and delicious.Overall a great experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roelf1
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Roelf Thank you for taking the time to do the short review on your stay with us earlier this week and we hope the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us and to enjoy the braai together. A good South African braai and a bottle of red wine always...

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
3:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.1 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
540 reviews
8.7 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 km away
The St. James of Knysna
0.3 km away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hide-Away Guest House, a 4 Star TGCSA graded B&B, located on the Main Road into Knysna with excellent lagoon views and within walking distance of town. 7 well appointed en-suite rooms ranging from Executive with lagoon view to Standard with no lagoon view cater for most budgets. Free wireless internet, air conditioning in all rooms and gym facility. Seasonal rates apply.Make Hide-Away Guest House your home-away-from-home on the Garden Route as you explore the area. Easy driving distances to Tsitsikamma National Park, Plettenberg Bay, Wilderness, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hide Away Guest House

Address: 2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: ₹ 4,254 - ₹ 7,920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hide Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hide Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Guest House Hotel Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hide Away Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs if you want a view”
 of 5 bubbles MikaelR810, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with views overlooking the Lagoon you will not be disapponted.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonc70, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 1 which was a good size and great views of the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles Ali24566, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Main floor Executive room was spacious, easily accessible and with a lagoon view.”
 of 5 bubbles Want2play, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“First floor over looking the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles 71dianeh, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5