We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
#14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lofts Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 280: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Really enjoyed a two night stay. Room was large and well designed/decorated with attention to detail. A well located and safe feeling place on the island where everything is close by. Clean, stylish and tasteful. Breakfast is not on site but a one min walk to amazing Ile de pain which I highly recommend but there are other options available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Wonderful hotel perfectly located on Thesen Island and just down the road from the Knysna Waterfront, there are a number of great restaurants in the area too. Great service from the staff. Great rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KFB13
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KFB13, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. The location on the water's edge on Thesen Islands is the perfect spot for this hotel and being surrounded with nearby activities and restaurants is a bonus as it is safe for guests to walk from the hotel during the day & night to go...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is more suitable for holiday makers. It is in excellent location and enjoyed the breakfasts at Ile de Pain. The staff are fantastic and helpful. What irritated me most, was the lighting in the room, with all the spot lights and the noisy fan in bathroom. The room had lovely patio as well to enjoy the views. I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TienieL
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TienieL, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. Our team really appreciates that you mentioned how "fantastic and helpful" they are. We pride ourselves to provide our guests with a special experience. The issues you mentioned are very helpful and we have taken a look at the bathroom fan and why it is...

Riyadh
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fantastic venue with excellent staff. Quiet yet close to restaurants and attractions. Stayed in a suite with a wonderful view of the lagoon, people fishing and boats anchored a short way offshore. Room was elegant, clean and underfloor heating just the thing to chase away the winter chills. Definitely a must do again for us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GEAleRoux
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GEAleRoux, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. We really appreciate you commenting on the excellent staff as they pride themselves on giving our guests a special experience when staying with us. The Exclusive Lagoon Suites are amazing and having the underfloor heating is definitely a winner in the winter. We hope to...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very helpful receptionist, helped us with dinner and spa bookings in town as the hotel spa was fully booked. Great chill out lounge where we sat and read looking out over the water. Room was comfy and quiet. Breakfast at Ile de Pain was amazing, wish we could have stayed longer.........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louloutraveller, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. Our staff pride themselves in assisting our guests to the best of their abilities and love offering a personal touch to each guests stay by offering a concierge service. We are really happy that you made use of the public areas. We hope to welcome...

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

What a disappointment!!! Dark, small rooms at R1350 per night with a spectacular view of the street! What a waste of money. And when we requested a room with a view (other than the street), the uninformed receptionist LIED and said that the (empty) hotel was fully booked. Also, the (dark and small) room was filled with a stench of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meandra J
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Meandra J, We appreciate the comments you made in your review of The Lofts. We have fixed the issue with the fridge and the smell that you mention. We do apologise if you feel you were lied to and that you were unhappy with your room. As you discussed the situation with the manager that same day when you...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a stunning experience! Stunning, friendly and helpful service from the personnel, stunning views from our lagoon facing room. Impressed with the breakfast voucher to eat at Ile de pain (amazing experience!). Just disappointed with the quality of the shower head in the shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanah2244
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hannah2244, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. The lagoon facing rooms are fantastic and we love hearing that our guests enjoy their stay in these. We have fixed the shower head in the room that you stayed in, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 July 2014

In choosing the Lofts we first read up on other peoples experiences and asked what we wanted from the hotel, checking the provided the services are what we required for our family holiday. I feel its important to know what you are getting before you book to avoid disappointment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

A sweet little hotel, but the rooms for small children can be a little dangerous as their rooms are upstairs and it's not easy for them to go up and down. Apart from that the scenery is beautiful, and the town is lovely, very clean and very very laid back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTsielepis
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tazbaby, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have amended our child policy recently to only allow children over the age of 12. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

De Doorns, South Africa
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Home away from home is not a cliche at this hotel. Best hotel experience of my life .WOW I think I must rather give a bad review, because I am scared that too many people are going to flock there now and then I won't get a vacant room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris V, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Remember to make your bookings in advance and there will always be a vacant room for you. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#7 of 30 in Knysna
535 reviews
4.8 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
747 reviews
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The St. James of Knysna
10.2 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.1 km away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: ₹ 8,240 - ₹ 16,873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lofts Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“East-facing rooms offer stunning views over the Knysna Lagoon.”
  • View of The Lofts Boutique Hotel from Thesen Pier.
 of 5 bubbles B9406LCsaraht, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“definitely a view on the lagoon is a must (but probably all rooms have that view)”
  • view from The Lofts
  • Evening view from the pool terrace.
  • Even in the tub one can enjoy the view...
 of 5 bubbles SielVdD, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book the Luxury Loft rooms with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Oudtshoorn1, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be very specific when reserving whether you want a lagoon view.”
 of 5 bubbles rweisfe, 22 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The suite with view over the lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles wilnaventer, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5