We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Agoda.comUS$ 75*
View Deal
#10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 109*
US$ 75*
Great Deal
US$ 107*
US$ 97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Knysna Hollow Country Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 392: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

Beautiful property and adorable thatched cottage setting. However two of three pools were greenish and the rooms had paper thin walls. We had tremendous difficulty falling asleep as we could hear conversations in adjacent rooms on either side. The staff reception were cordial and helpful and made a restaurant booking on our behalf, but most other staff on the property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and for the very detailed feedback, We are all very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I fully understand why you were dissatisfied. We have been struggling with our swimming pools in the summer heat and apologise...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Wow what lovely individual cottages, there are 3 swimming pools to choose from. We had one outside our cottage so my children were very happy!, the cottages are spacious and very clean. Staff very attentive and the Manager couldn't do enough, in fact he was always there - not sure when he ever got time off! Breakfast was a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeoneR33
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us on the Garden Route and hope to welcome you back at some time in the future. All the very best from Clive and the Team at...

Chennai, India
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We loved this charming estate with individual spacious cottages. Even the bathrooms are huge. The breakfast buffet was on par with the best. The service levels are excellent. All the sights in Knysna and the waterfront are all very close by. Lots of pretty flowering plants all over the estate. The Wifi connectivity was bit spotty. Would definitely love to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kumar311
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it really makes a difference to everyone in our Team to know when our guests are happy. Thank you again and all the very best from Clive...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Had fun when my son got locked in the bathroom but all handled effectively and efficiently and added to a most enjoyable stay with excellent facilities and food. special mention for the staff who were lovely. we ate at the restaurant two evenings as we enjoyed it the first evening as good as the harbour restaurants. this is a value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneHR
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us on the Garden Route and hope to be able to welcome you back sometime soon! With warm regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.

Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

Between the murky water that comes from the taps and the terrible bug infestations in the thatch I would not go back there. Similar value to be had at much better places with a view. Breakfast choices were limited but staff very helpful and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Collin G
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If I may just respond to some of the specific points you mention in your review as follows: - The 'murky' water to which you refer, was caused by a...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2014

I stayed here for two nights as part of a Garden route tour. The setting is beautiful and when you arrive and see the grounds and swimming pool you do think wow! However the chalets are in serious need of renovation and updating and ours (along with most of those stayed in by our group) smelt musty and was damp....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljw1971
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all sorry to hear that you found our accommodation outdated. We do our best to offer a standard which matches the value-for-money rates which we charge and find that most of our guests are very happy...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 December 2014

If it's space you'r looking for .... this is it ! This lovely hotel , situated on a large estate, offers superb accommodation in the most pleasant surrounds with beautiful trees, well kept lawns and flowers aplenty . The rooms are individual , spacious rooms with a unique character of it's own. There are three large swimming pools, all very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul S
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Garden Route and we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime soon. With warm regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Stayed for two nights as part of tour.lovely hotel, well kept grounds and thatch cottages.when we arrived after being in the hotter Kruger area for A week it was very cool in knysna.foer me the electric radiators in the room did not provide enough heat thought it did not spoil our stay in this lovely setting.can highly recommend the a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denise w
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all tremendously thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you had safe travels home. Until next time, best regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Very comfortable spacious room, with large bathroom including double shower. Free wifi. Good laundry service. Lovely grounds. Restaurant very good, excellent food and wine at very reasonable prices. What's not to like?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thetwojs
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for such wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Garden Route and hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. With warm regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Stavanger
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We stayed at Knysna Hollow for 2 nights when we experienced Garden Route. Beautiful garden with green areas and lost of flowers, charming bungalows with good facilities, nice pool, excellent food, helpful staff. Would stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GyaStavanger
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back sometime soon! Kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
7.3 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
7.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The St. James of Knysna
3.3 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
5.1 km away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 2km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedaght Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: ₹ 4,651 - ₹ 12,402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Knysna Hollow Country Estate staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Hollow Country Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are spread on ground level and there are a number of swimming pools on the property.”
jansR7793BY, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“anything but the hut-looking chalets due to the reek”
, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“You cannot leave without experiencing a dinner. The Chefs are great at healthy omelette options for breakfast.”
WarrenManuel, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The thatched roof chalets are brilliant!”
markdX7622TS, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms were situated around swimming pools so children would need to be all supervised.”
Jmd4649, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 75* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 107
Hotels.comUS$ 97
CancelonUS$ 109
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates