We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Knysna Herons Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Knysna Herons Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Start your review of Knysna Herons Guest House
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Breakfast poor, we booked a double room which is clearly a single sized room with a double bed within, advertising as a spa hotel but no opportunity to book a treatment and little interest shown by owner when asked regarding a particular treatment

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y6808VNmarieb
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

Good Day Your review is definitely not of us, We are a bed & breakfast and on no website do we offer spa treatments, Your review is clearly on the wrong establishment

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Superb room, well set out. Garden and pool inviting. Brilliant idea to have own parking spot for each room, makes life so easy. Overall a great experience with helpful owners who advised us of all the local restaurants. As it was not our first visit we knew where we were going but good for those who do not know the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rodger B
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, It is just what we strive to do

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful stay we had! The place is beautiful; nice rooms and very friendly staff. They have a great breakfast too and the portion satisfying. We are definitely coming back. Its value for money

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V3584VIveronicam
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

Truly pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review and see you soon

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This is an excellent place to stay in Knysna. The room was good, clean and spacious with all the facilities required. Colin is a very helpful host. The breakfast was good with everything you need in a nice surrounding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickrQ6547KS
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. it was lovely having you here

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 30 January 2017

A clean facility in a quiet part of Knysna within a few miles from tourist attractions and golf courses. There is an inviting pool in a shady part of the garden. Check in was very quick. There is a restaurant within 1/2 mile as well as those on Thessen island and the yacht basin

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brianrM207HZ
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review, We are blessed you enjoyed your stay

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Many thanks for the good service we received when staying at your B and B in December 2016. Colin many thanks for being so helpful and informative about Knysna and surrounding areas. My husband was very impressed with the info you provided about the Motor Bike collection that is on show in Knysna. The only recommendation that I can make...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marksI1270LF
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

Good Day Mr & Mrs Scott We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be making a few alteration to the Guest House and Air-Con will definitely be place in that room. We are really happy to see you enjoyed your breakfast and our comforts of Town

Gordola, Switzerland
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This Christmas time we decide with the family to go in South Africa and visit our friend in Plettenberg Bay. We found this place to sleep and it was a great surprise!!! Is in a very quiet position, each room has a dedicated parking, the rooms are fantastic, the structure is a small one but has mentioned is very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat75Pat
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

We are Please you enjoyed your holiday with us and seen Knysna. We are truly happy to hear you had a good holiday in our Beautiful town. Best wishes to you and the family for 2017

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We spent Christmas 2015 at Knysna Heron and we did not book again this year was because Robert and Quinton were leaving in February 2016. Believe me you will know what I mean when you visit. They are welcoming hosts and the service is excellent at this lovely B&B. I said they had left but they were quickly called back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oliviac949
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review, You are truly a Guest who has become family with us. We truly loved your stop over even though for a cuppa coffee and seen that we still got it. Thank you again truly for stay with us

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely stay over Christmas. Hosts very friendly and small touches like Christmas gifts from them made one feel very welcome. Clean, comfortable, great location, all in all a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

Jacqui it was so lovely meeting you and all the family over this amazing festive season, We are truly blessed you enjoyed the Christmas lights and small touches. The gift we believe in giving over this amazing time and we cant wait for you to return to us

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Quiet residential location, very comfortable beds, great breakfast, very friendly host, swift check in & great food recommendations. Definately enjoyable stay. Would 100% recommend & come back in the future

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annazI31VQ
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review

We are always so blessed that our Guests enjoy the small part of their Holiday with us and we truly appreciate the feed back

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 km away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#14 of 129 in Knysna
192 reviews
3.1 km away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
0.4 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#12 of 129 in Knysna
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#51 of 129 in Knysna
231 reviews
2.2 km away
Lavender Hill Guest House
Lavender Hill Guest House
#42 of 129 in Knysna
101 reviews
2.9 km away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#31 of 102 in Knysna
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Knysna Herons Guest House is Home Away from Home, We have a sparkling pool with stunning views from the breakfast patio of the Knysna Heads and the Knysna Lagoon. We have all en-suite rooms and two self/family catering room. All our rooms have WIFI, Satellite (DSTV), Tea/Coffee Trays, and all with there own private entrances into the surrounding gardens. 4 of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning units. We can arrange almost anything you require from the comfort of the Guest House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Herons Guest House

Address: 11 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: ₹ 2,095 - ₹ 4,451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Herons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Knysna Herons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Herons Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Hoepoo Room. Lovely and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 827estellej, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great value for money, Upstairs lounge to relax , Beds are super an great.”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamCumming, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The self-catering rooms are spacious and makes you feel more at home.”
 of 5 bubbles errols742, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Private access to your ground floor room with a swimming pool to relax.”
 of 5 bubbles marionb945, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Air conditioned room is recommended”
 of 5 bubbles Mish14, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5