We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Whale Rock Luxury Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Start your review of Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
 Click to rate
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for a few nights in a Garden Deluxe room with a large sleeping platform for the kids. Our room was very nice, the bathroom was good even if water pressure was occasionally poor, the wifi was good but sometimes choked off, breakfast was good but a little limited and might get boring if you stayed for a long stretch,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mysaddlebags
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not bad in general, there us no A/c or fan, poor breakfast, Hermanus has got many much better places around. It has got an ample parking space and a large pool inside the property. Generally manageable, but i will not choose to go there again..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShebeaunM
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are always open to constructive criticism to see how and where we can improve our level of service. I would just like to mention that having a thatch roof means the rooms are generally cooler than those of a standard roof type, and as such we do not have air conditioning. However, we do...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely NOT a luxury lodge and definitely won’t return. Smelly, stuffy room that needed a good airing and a good clean. Positioning not great. Drove in through an open gate and then interrogated, “How did you get in? Who let you in?” No welcome or “hello”!!! NO sea views, though assistant manager assured us telephonically there were partial sea views,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne m
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mrs Morris, Well there is not much more that I can say. We gave you a full 50% discount on your entire 3 day stay, which your husband accepted as a sign of goodwill to make up for any unpleasant issues which you had encountered. When I came on duty Monday morning, your issues were immediately dealt with...

Camps Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting, lovely rooms, very attentive staff. We spent 3 nights here, enjoyed cliff walk to town and very good restaurants. Cannot fault it. Would love to visit Whale Rock Luxury Lodge again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marionjersey
England
Reviewed 20 March 2017

If passing through Hermanus or wanting a few days of bliss then look no further than Whale Rock. The rooms are spacious and elegant and look out on the most wonderful gardens. We were lucky to have been given room eight which is right next to the fish pond, the "human" pond (lol) and the breakfast room. After looking at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Brown_Bottle
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us from the clicking frogs to the cappuccino muffins!! Its was a pleasure having you both stay and we hope that we will see you both sooner rather than later. Best regards Melanie Musson

Essex
Reviewed 1 March 2017

My wife &I were booked in by a friend for an overnight B & B en route to Cape Town. Quite simply we enjoyed welcoming helpful staff / good accommodation set in carefully tended grounds / nice breakfast options-well presented cooked etc. Our biggest mistake was not choosing a longer stopover at least so I could try the inviting pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank COLUMBUSEssex
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this review

Good Morning, and thank you for your very positive review. I hope that you will return one day soon and stay a little longer. Kind regards, Melanie Musson

Donaghadee
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Do not be put off by some of the reviews posted suggesting this guest house is too far from the town centre! Two reasons - it is a sanctuary of tranquility after a busy day sightseeing and secondly you can either walk in via the breath taking cliff walk or take a cheap taxi! The staff and owners make every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George A
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this review

How lovely to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our beautiful Lodge. Thank you for taking the time out to write such a positive review, as it is always appreciated by all the staff that puts in the time and effort to make it an enjoyable experience. Hermanus is an absolute scenic wonderland and the cliff path, which...

Paris, France
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We spent 3 nights and we really appreciated our stay. Our room (#11) was particularly quiet, large and comfortable, with a private terrasse. Warm welcome, very good breakfast and large and lovely swimming pool. We really appreciated our stay and recommend this lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thfra752017
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your really nice review. We try our very best to make guests feel welcome and appreciate your comments about our Deluxe Room (Room 11) . Even though this is our cheapest room, it still has all the comforts the other rooms have and we have just recently installed an air conditioner as well. Privacy is ensured as...

West Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Whale Rock Luxury Lodge is a beautiful house with lovely rooms. We were made to feel very welcome and would highly recommend it to others. It is opposite the new harbour.The old harbour is a 5min drive from this accommodation. There is also a fantastic coastal path between the two harbours which takes about 45 mins to walk with amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andymack
WhaleRock, Manager at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of our Lodge and we hope that you will be back one day to come and visit us again and to enjoy everything that Hermanus and Whale Rock has to offer.

Tjockhult
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This is a plain hotel. Plain luxury. It does not have a view of the ocean but it has almost everything else. A pool. A nice breakfast. Service that works. Ability to fix things and an amount of privacy that you might want after visiting a busy city. You feel that you can relax here. It is close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bootsyfan

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.4 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
663 reviews
1.6 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
5.7 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
889 reviews
3.0 km away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge is considered to be one of the most beautiful buildings in Hermanus and recently had a complete internal makeover into a warm contemporary style. Situated across the road from the New Harbour and the start of the cliff path, it is but a 3 minute walk down to the edge of the cliff and a 5 minute drive to the centre of town. The Lodge has 11 beautifully decorated en suite Rooms & Suites, extensive and well manicured lawns and gardens, a koi pond and probably one of the the largest swimming pools in Hermanus and it is solar heated! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whale Rock Luxury Lodge

Address: 26 Springfield Avenue | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Whale Rock Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: ₹ 6,047 - ₹ 12,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Rock Luxury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whale Rock Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Whale Rock Luxury Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Whale Rock Luxury Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No where near the front door with constant in and out access.”
  • Whale Rock Luxury Lodge- expired 3 weeks old milk in room on 20 March 2017.
  • Whale Rock Luxury Lodge- Previous guests scraps on the floor.
  • Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, stained decorative cushions on bed.
G4455XJannem, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All fabulous but for a family of four then room eight.”
The_Brown_Bottle, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I do not have any comparisons within this hotel”
COLUMBUSEssex, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the room around the back which had its own little garden with chairs and table outside. Very quiet and peaceful.”
JCR104, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms except No4 4 have direct access to gardens via the room's patio doors, except room 4, which has upstairs balcony.”
EasyGoing99Z, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5