We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Milkwood Lodge

TripAdvisorUS$ 114*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 119*
US$ 114*
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Milkwood Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Milkwood Lodge
 Click to rate
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have visited Milkwood. The location is stunning, the cottage is perfect for our needs (it is spacious, well equipped and has stunning views of the mountains. It feels like a home away from home. Linda is also friendly and welcoming. We unfortunately had to leave unexpectedly before the end of our stay and Linda...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diyan M
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which is much appreciated. So sorry that your holiday got interrupted and you had to leave earlier than anticipated. We look forward to seeing you again on a return visit.

Le Tampon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a brilliant idea of staying overnight in Hermanus area at 17:15. TripAdvisor net connection gave us the available bed and breakfasts around the area and we blindly booked in the Milkwood Lodge for the night. We were received by the owner, no fuss, just presented the passport and were led into our room. The room (and the bathroom)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martti974
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - we appreciate. We are happy that we could assist you with accommodation and that it fulfilled your requirements. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and we hope to see you back in Hermanus at Milkwood Lodge in the near future.

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Milkwood Lodge is a wonderful place to spend rest time whilst only being a few minutes drive from the delights of Hermanus central. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and plentiful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DuncanMackay
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review

It is always nice to see returning guests and welcome them back at Milkwood Lodge. We look forward to another visit in the near future and thank you for your review. Enjoy the Spring weather at home and have a wonderful year.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The place is an above average B & B with large but rather old fashioned rooms. Our room was close to the pool and had amazing views up into the hills behind. The place was run very efficiently by a charming and extremely helpful owner/manager.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philip t
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review

Your review is much appreciated. The property is over a 100 years old and therefore not all the rooms have a modern feel to it as We are in the process of bringing the decor up to date. However we do offer facilities which you may not find at other establishments, such as international plugs built in for your convenience,...

Nelson, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We had a lovely large room with an enormous bed. It had a large balcony and to the side was the swimming pool. Linda was very helpful. She gave us directions to the wine store and rang restaurants to book dinner for us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susanbW1793IS
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we look forward to welcoming you back to Hermanus in the near future.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights here after a week in Simon's Town. Large spacious and apartment and huge bathroom. Everything spotlessly clean. Good well appointed kitchen with full cooker and a microwave oven. Very comfortable stay and Linda our hostess was excellent. Her local knowledge was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. She even handled our shark cage diving booking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EAH592016
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review

Your review is much appreciated and it is good to hear that you enjoyed Hermanus as well as Milkwood Lodge. Our aim is to make our guests comfortable and to ensure that their stay is enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Room was large and very comfortable. Pool looked good, but it was too windy (not their fault!) Breakfast was excellent except for the lack of sausages - surprising since all other places we stayed this trip had them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Lodge. We are sorry that you missed sausages for breakfast. However we are happy that you still enjoyed your breakfast. We offer a selection of cereals, plains and fruit yoghurt, cold, meats, cheeses, spreads and fish together with our famous fruit salad and other items on our breakfast table as...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Overall it was a good experience, the service was friendly and the breakfast was decent. We did have to change rooms in the middle of our stay which was not ideal, some miscellaneous error I assumed, but the lodge was quiet and comfortable has a beautiful pool and braai area with stunning mountain views. It is not really suited for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank justineb571
Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Fantastic service, the hole staff was very nice and friendly. Breakfast was also very very good.The pool was not 100% clean. Good parking possibility, The location is 10 min with car from the centrum and that was not the best.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gustafe2017
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which is much appreciated. We did have problems with our pool - a pipe leading to the filter had sprung a leak and was replaced as soon as we noticed it. A repair like this takes 24 hours as the new joint has to be glued and it needs time to dry. We apologise for...

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This was such great value for money and the photos did. Ot do the rooms justice. Fabulous breakfast as well. Thanks so much wish we could have stayed longer. We will recommend to friends and family for sure

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 755bridgetteh
Travelbag6, Owner at Milkwood Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your response and we look forward to see you again, this time for a much longer stay so that you can enjoy everything Hermanus has to offer.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
5.0 km away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#23 of 87 in Hermanus
134 reviews
0.4 km away
Hermanus Beach Villa
Hermanus Beach Villa
#16 of 87 in Hermanus
480 reviews
5.1 km away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#3 of 87 in Hermanus
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#15 of 87 in Hermanus
413 reviews
4.7 km away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#52 of 87 in Hermanus
67 reviews
3.2 km away
Francolin Manor
Francolin Manor
#59 of 87 in Hermanus
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star Guesthouse offering B&B or self-catering within walking distance of two of the swimming beaches and seafront cliff path in Hermanus. Fully equipped luxury one bedroom cottage has two day beds in the lounge/living room for children. All rooms have private entrance and private patio with direct access into the garden. We cater for all dietary requirements, healthy, hearty and vegetarian options available. Secure off street parking, swimming pool and huge garden. Only 3 kms from the Hermanus Golf Club and 5 kms from the centre of Hermanus. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Milkwood Lodge

Address: 152-154 Seventh Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: ₹ 6,223 - ₹ 11,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milkwood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Milkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Milkwood Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy access and sortie to the parking place in the yard.”
Martti974, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The outside cottages are lovely and spacious with very large bathrooms.”
annick252, 3 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Get a room next to the pool as the view is excellent”
global22u, 18 Jan 2015 | Read review
“All units seem to be spacious and quiet.”
annie47491, 6 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Chose the family room for Kids or one of the Luxury single rooms(even one of them with kitchen) if possible. Mountain view and absolutely quiet”
  • Our luxury double room
  • Our luxury double room
  • Beachview nearby
PoulKJ, 17 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 114* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Hostelworld.com
Booking.comUS$ 119
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates