We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windsor Hotel & Apartments

2.0 km from Hermanus centre
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Wifi
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windsor Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 445: English reviews
Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The Windsor Hotel is an old Hotel but very comfortable. I enjoyed my stay and the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and the hotel offered a wide selection of food. My room was on the mountain side so I did not get to enjoy the sea view but there are many nice view points within the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DRC787
johanri M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day DRC787, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your visit to Hermanus. We thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given us regarding you stay and we would me more than happy to welcome you back again to enjoy a sea facing room. Hope you have a wonderful week. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Our stay here was varied. We didn't get the sea view room we were expecting , and having complained, got a sea view for half our stay, changing rooms three times in 8 days. The rooms were tired and dated, however clean and relatively comfortable. The plumbing, archaic and noisy. Breakfast adequate. I suppose this hotel was OK for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exmothian1
johanri M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Exmothian1, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your visit to Hermanus. We thank you for the feedback you have given us regarding your stay with us. The Hotel is in the process of undergoing upgrades and renovations to help to improve on our guest experience. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon....

Reviewed 18 May 2016

I have enjoyed each and every day of being in this Hotel I will go again,•Describe the service you experienced •Tell us how you liked the room - Very Clean •Talk about the location & amenities - walking distance •Say what you liked best & least - I loved everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tshepisos2014
johanri M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day tshepisos2014, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel and Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given us. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 16 May 2016

This hotel is a family favourite - we come back here a few times every year even for a night and we are never disappointed. The view from the sea facing rooms is by far the best for whale watching - whales come right into that bay and frolic right in front of hotel. Imagine having breakfast and seeing a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank normamx
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We only spent one night although the staff were very helpful and friendly. A glass of wine on arrival sure did help too! Our room had everything we needed with the most magnificent view of the ocean - I just wish I had spotted a whale! Breakfast buffet was a great start to the day with a good choice between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britt_SmithCT
johanri M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Britt_SmithCT, We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel and Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. Also thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given us. We are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed your time with us and this helps us to improve on our guest...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Built in 1896, the Windsor Hotel is a great place to stay and has a wonderful view. I highly suggest getting a water front room with a balcony. It has many sitting tables, a fireplace room to relax in the evening, full bar and breakfast is included. The staff here is absolutely excellent and cater to your every need.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikepamr
johanri M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Mikepamr, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel and Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Hope you have a wonderful day. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

The Windsor may not be a 5 star establishment - but to me it is my favourite spot in Hermanus. Right on the sea - great rooms and amazing service. Delicious breakfast and all of the best restaurants are a quick walk away. Easy parking. A hotel I will visit whenever I can - just wish I could spend more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D2644YAlouisec
johanri M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day D2644YAlouise, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel and Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. It gives us such a great pleasure to know that you have had such a good time staying with us and that you visit us so often. We continue to improve on our guest experience and the wonderful...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Dated to the 19th century, it is clean and has a timeless location overlooking the water. We were there off season (April) but can imagine what it is like at peak times, with many nooks and alcoves to enjoy. Literally one very small block away from the main part of Hermanus but on the water - highly recommended location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adamchik
johanri M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Adamchik, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel and Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At The Windsor Hotel we continue to give our guest the most comfortable and enjoyable experience. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon....

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 29 April 2016

If staying here, try to get a room with a sea view! The hotel itself is a throwback to an earlier era, but none the worse for that, provide you accept being in a time warp. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. The location is stunning, looking out onto a magnificent bay and five minutes walk for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommywelltravelled
johanri M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Tommywelltravelled, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The hotel itself is a little dated, but it is in a fantastic location and our sea-view room was very good value. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main restaurants. Good breakfast selection and fast wifi (compared to other hotels we stayed at on our South Africa trip).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan71
johanri M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Allan71, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue to make our guest experience more enjoyable. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.5 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
484 reviews
0.6 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
634 reviews
0.5 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: ₹ 3,965 - ₹ 7,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A sea view room is the best option as the rooms in the rear overlook the parking lot and the back of adjacent buildings”
 of 5 bubbles pjgriffiths10, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you can't get an ocean view room, don't even think about staying here!”
 of 5 bubbles elvistoo, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview with a balcony.”
  • Sunset from the Hotel
  • View from Hotel
 of 5 bubbles bronwynn193, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are best”
  • Sea view from our room
 of 5 bubbles SvB-CvB, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any sea facing upper floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles clivealisonk, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5