We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windsor Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 473: English reviews
George, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We arrived slightly early at the hotel and this was not a problem at all. We were shown to our room and to my absolute dismay the bathroom floor was terribly stained. I went to reception and asked for housekeeping who told me I had to accept it as other rooms were the same. I was furious. We went out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeniWallace
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day JeniWallace, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so very pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback you have given. We do apologise for the look of the tiles in the bathrooms, in the very...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 September 2016

If you looking for best view in Hermanus surely this hotel is one good choice. But that's it, other than having awesome view everything else is way below standards. Carpet in room are really sticky (when I say sticky imagine walking on sugar syrup, not sure how they manage to do that). Room are spacious but lack of maintenance and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GargiSid
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day GargiSid, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We value the feedback you have given us regarding your stay at The Windsor Hotel and all the points you have pointed out have been noted and actions has been taken. The carpets in the rooms will come...

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

An old fascinating hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The sea front ones are great. You could spot a whale from the window! Excellent breakfast and very kind and nice staff. Loved the old furniture, the black and white pictures on the wall and the big living room with the fireplace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fstefanini662001
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day fstefanini662001, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given us regarding your stay here at The Windsor and we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer Marketing Windsor Hotel

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Dec 28 night: We could not manage to book any hotel since it was peak season. Finally, we managed to book this one with 2 rooms. When we reached, we were not disappointed as the hotel has a beautiful front overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. When we checked in, one of the rooms was really stinking. Since, we were to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maulin_Parekh
Windsor H, Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Maulin_Parekh Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for the wonderful feedback you have given us. Here at The Windsor Hotel we are constantly improving on our guest...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Clean rooms, attentive staff, and gorgeous location. Rooms are a bit dated, but definitely part of the charm and experience of the Windsor. Comfortable accomodations in a gorgeous setting. The Breakfast was worth the stay as well!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank King4025
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Kind4025, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during you visit to Hermanus. We are very pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have had a wonderful experience. The Rooms are a dated, but the hotel will be undergoing upgrades and renovations to improve our...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Sometimes it is an absolute pleasure to write a review, the Windsor has charm and history, its staff is both friendly and helpful and their sole aim is to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible; the rooms are clean and comfortable and the sea views extraordinary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. It is such a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the wonderful review you have given us. We are always trying our best to make our guest...

Stratford-upon-Avon
Reviewed 23 July 2016

I spent 5 nights at the Windsor hotel with my boyfriend earlier this week. Firstly, I want to address some points made by other reviewers. 1. The interior - yes, the hotel is old. It's the oldest in Hermanus, so you are bound to find an older bathroom than in typical hotels, but does it function? Yes. It's simple, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresWithNess
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day AdventuresWithNess, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are very pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. Also thank you for the valuable feedback and points you have made regarding your room and our service. We have taken all of them in...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 July 2016

This accommodation was adequate for our one night stop over, clean and neat, but in definite need of an upgrade, especially the bathrooms. The breakfast was not too bad! The sea view rooms were great. This is an old hotel, which really could do with an upgrade in some areas, but it is in a good position and as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeWaals
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day DeWaals, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Windsor Hotel is in the process of undergoing upgrades and renovations and on that list is our bathrooms. We appreciate your feedback and we...

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

The staff make the hotel fantastic. There is an abundance of people willing to help. Yes, the rooms are dated. But they are clean, comfortable and have plenty of space. The hotel has several seating lounges, on more than one floor. We did not see any Whales from the hotel , but - it is perfectly possible as it has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MultitaskingGlamMum
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day MultitaskingGlamMum, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so very pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. As always we try our best to make the guest experience as comfortable and memorable as possible. We are also waiting for the Whales...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

We've just finished a one night stay at this apartment. It was in the perfect location, close to the ocean (across the road) and near the town. We could see the ocean from our large apartment. That and the size are probably the best things!!! It really was a great size. However the apartment was old and in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzTrina
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day nzTrina, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given. Looking forward to welcome you back and hope you have a wonderful weekend....

295 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.5 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
494 reviews
0.6 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
651 reviews
3.9 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: ₹ 3,993 - ₹ 7,724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles 631derekp, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Excellent Seaview rooms with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles sdwOudtshoorn, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay for a view unless they promise not to block it!”
 of 5 bubbles Irthlingborough43, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A sea view room is the best option as the rooms in the rear overlook the parking lot and the back of adjacent buildings”
 of 5 bubbles pjgriffiths10, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you can't get an ocean view room, don't even think about staying here!”
 of 5 bubbles elvistoo, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5