We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hermanus Backpackers

Booking.comUS$ 29*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hermanus Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hermanus Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

It was a very nice stay at the Hermanus Backpackers. You will meet a lot nice people here. They also offer nice shark cage diving trips against the beste price you can get. There is toast and jam in the morning and the double room in the penthouse is very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rick436
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Lots of social space. Plenty of parking. Great ideas for activities - very informed. Great staff- they were fun and very helpful (letting us use phone, making bookings, general chat) Comfy beds. Decent bathroom stuff. Friendly house pets - jocky the dog seemed really clean and likes attention, and then the fattest cat I have ever seen which is worthy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie B
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I chose Hermanus Backpackers due to the discount on the shark cage diving. Unfortunately, it was cancelled due to the weather conditions, and I decided to move on to Cape Town. I only stayed there for a few hours, but was surprised with the level of comfort. HB have one of the coziest dorms I saw during my 1-month trip...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pedro L
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2015

I read great reviews about Hermanus Backpackers and so to be honest I was expecting more. Positives: Hayley, Emma and Gavin are all lovely. Good chill out area in the front couches for reading or watching tv. Good location. BYO alcohol. Negatives: Terrible breakfast. Just bread and jam. Kitchen cleanliness not the best, nor were bathrooms. The entire hostel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missyassi1
NaughtyCatCapeTown, Owner at Hermanus Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Hayley here, it was such a shame about the incident in front of the premises, but please be assured that this was a one-off, it's never happened before - the bust up was actually two local guys, not staff or guests of the backpackers, although a staff member and a guest did try to intervene. We don't offer breakfast...

Reviewed 6 October 2015

Hermanus Backpackers is amazing! We couldn't get a room because there was a public holiday and we didn't book in advance. So the owner Braam called other backpackers if they had space for us (4 people). As there was no accommodation at all, they allowed us to sleep in the staffs' room for 1 night, those guys had to take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hoot_ab
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Nothing was too much trouble for staff here, an excellent team. The Dorm was clean and comfortable and my only comment is that they need ladders for the bunks as people can stand on you in the night. When the whole town was full staff were helping travellers and even had them sleeping in the lounge and staff areas, just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaneMangnall
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

This is a great place to stay! The staff is super friendly and helpful(especially Hailey), common areas are pretty nice, bathrooms and rooms are always clean. It has a very well equipped kitchen if you need to cook as well. Good wifi if you need.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pato C
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 21 September 2015

The staff here were great, this hostel was so chill. They got us situated right away and told us to pay later. The staff socialized with us and played a great mix of tunes in the lounge area. Also has a pool table and bbq. Good comfort, good location too.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BackpacksAndMiles
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Very very friendly and helpful staff - nice rooms and relaxing areas - fair prices! We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the time. There is a beautiful garden with pool and grill, free wi-fi and a light breakfast. The guys help you with booking different activities or call other backpackers to reserve your next dorm. Our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katisi2015
Ingolstadt, Germany
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We stayed for one night in a double room with shared bathroom. The room was in a separate building, which was really nice. Modern kitchen, clean bathrooms, open living room and free Wi-Fi. It has a beautiful little garden with a pool in it. Room was also nice and clean. It only got a bit loud during nighttime as other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvaMaria1234

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
6.0 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
519 reviews
1.0 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
10.7 km away
Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: ₹ 1,745 - ₹ 3,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hermanus Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hermanus Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room K with double bed and en-suite bathroom.”
  • ROOM K OUTSIDE AREA
LouiseFourie, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The cottage is quiet and really beautiful. You can also hang out in the main building where most of the "action" is.”
McGill_Tripper, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The dormitory was very good, quiet and comfortable.”
pedrohenriquef328, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The cottages are quieter than the main building”
537eileenb, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Definitelly go for the separated house just for you!”
Vitproch, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 29* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 39
Hostelworld.com
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates