We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Marine Hermanus

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Marine Hermanus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 517: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

Spent a weekend at Marine Hermanus. It was a romantic get away. We also used the spa facilities. Spa was amazing, those girls really know what they doing. The hotel is beautifully decorated. A little pricey, and for some reason I didn't get that cozy and warm feeling. The staff is attentive and friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnastaciaJetsetter
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion and I am sorry that you did not get that feeling of "Soul" that we are so proud of here at The Marine. It sounds however that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I do hope you you visit us at least one more time in the near future. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Marine. Fantastic location, very clean room, very pleasant and helpful staff with good food in the restaurant. The lounge is beautiful with a lovely ambience and good views of the ocean. Although our bathroom was clean it could have done with a little updating but we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Indeed The Marine is a special place to stay and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. You will be happy to note that we are planning on updating a number of our bathrooms in 2015 and we hope that you will return to critique the work done. Until then kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Location is great, also the service, breakfast, room all good. BUT 375 Euro for one night is absolutely not worth it. The standard room is good. But not for this amount of money. They seem to forget that they are just a good( business ) Hotel. And that's it. Nothing special. The location is fabulous, but that is not a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aertssas
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments on our food, service and rooms. We constantly strive to be the best at what we do and when we fail, we learn from our mistakes and become stronger and better. I can only apologise that you feel the rates were too high. I trust though that the service you received warranted this. Kind...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 13 February 2015

When you think of Relais & Chateaux, you think of luxury. While the location of the Marine is great, the guest room we had was dirty and shabby. There was paper and hair on the bathroom floor when we checked in, and the grout in the bathroom looked dirty. There were stains all over the carpet. Breakfast was included, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuePapinSears
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I must apologise for what was clearly a terrible experience for you. There is no excuse for finding your room anything but immaculately clean and tidy, something that were are renowned for along with attentive service and delicious food. Your e-mail never came to me unfortunately or I would have answered immediately. Please feel free to mail me on hamish@themarine.co.za...

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2015

A wonderful stay at The Marine, the hotel public rooms have had a stylish update white retaining the elegance of its heritage. Our room although small, had an ocean view and a balcony so my wife was totally content. We felt our room could do with an update as the décor and the bathroom were showing signs of wear, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D H
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and your views of the bathroom have been noted. Indeed we are planning quite a substantial refurbishment of a number of our bathrooms. I do hope you return in the near future and will be able to experience some of these changes firsthand. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. You have the most magical ocean views. The room: We stayed in a Luxury room and had a balcony overlooking the poolarea, it was very quiet.The minibar wasn't complimentary but you recieved a complimentary bottle of red wine at arrival. The hotel: The hotel isn't very big, about 40 rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carpediemgolfer
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

The Marine is indeed an ideal place for you to base yourself if you are looking at playing some of the areas challenging courses. Thank you for your positive feedback and I do hope you return in the near future for a second round. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Have stayed at The Marine a few times over a decade it continues to meet expectations. But as has been observed in other reviews, it needs a little bit of titivation - the bathrooms in particular are looking a bit jaded and the up stairs passage way carpets and furniture are very worn. Service was enthusiastic if not always totally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 204chv
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion and you will be happy to note that we are planning a fairly extensive soft refurbishment in a number of our rooms over the Winter. I hope that you will make time to visit us again and experience these positive changes first hand. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We only stayed at this hotel for 1 night but the hotel is positioned in the prime spot in the town. The views are breath-taking. As we had previous arrangements in the evening we only ate breakfast at the hotel which offered a reasonable buffet and hot food cooked to order. The swimming pool was in a courtyard so didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sim0ngee
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. The Marine is indeed in an exceptionally good location and paired with great rooms and fantastic food, all you could ask for. I am glad that we managed to retrieve your Ipad. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Maldon, Essex
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Certainly the best hotel in Hermanus and perfect for a 3 - 4 day stay in the area. We stayed in 7 4/5* hotels in 2 weeks and apart from The One and Only Hotel in Cape Town, this was the best. Food and wine prices in South Africa are noticeably less than in the UK or Europe and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy-from-Maldon
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I think you hit the nail on the head. All you will find in South Africa is great hospitality, friendly people, amazing sights and delicious food and wine. Why travel anywhere else. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine for the sequel Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

northants
Reviewed 26 January 2015

We love The Marine and will come back again I am sure. This is our second visit. But there are things that need to be improved to warrant the Relais and Chateau listing. The food is good but it is not exceptional (eg no fresh juice or special fresh fruit for breakfast) and the main dining room is closed on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reef-bore
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I agree with all that you noted and have dealt with all of the situations you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our brief slip up. Please return where you will see that in fact we are an exceptionally attentive team. See you soon Hamish Hofmeyr

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hermanus
794 reviews
3.4 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
369 reviews
0.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
4.9 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
464 reviews
1.0 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: ₹ 19,671 - ₹ 47,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the luxury double room with sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles TachlessCps, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms excellent .some face coastline”
 of 5 bubbles F3251RXsusant, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a sea view and if possible a balcony. Room 207 was great.”
  • View from room 207
 of 5 bubbles Tom_Lennie, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view is obviously best”
 of 5 bubbles bushandsea, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I prefer the back room as they are more spacious than sea facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles H5738PScatherinet, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay