We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fernkloof Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fernkloof Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of Fernkloof Lodge
 Click to rate
Montabaur, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hosts gave us a very warm and personal welcome, including pre and after contacts by e-mail. Lodging included all amenities you could wish for. Nice breakfast brought to the table on the terrace by the hosts themselves. Any kind of information available and offered immediately. The lodge is located up the hill on the edge of the nature reserve so...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mervek717
Brignoles, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful home from home atmosphere, freshly prepared copious breakfasts on the terrace, great African style sitting room & bedroom on first floor with a great view onto the golf course. Bathroom small but adequate for one at a time. Owners Izac & Gail extremely helpful with restaurant and golf reservations, and suggestions for local walks, beaches, etc.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_WN7298VY
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, David. Yes, the small bathroom is an issue but unfortunately it can't be enlarged :-( It was a pleasure having you & Else to stay and I hope you enjoyed your golf at Kleinmond!

Springs, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2017

had a wonderful stay at Fernkloof lodge Gail and Izak were great host, would go back again. The lodge was peace full lovely garden and home. Would recommend fernkloof lodge to family and friends when they visit Hermanus

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillianq2017
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, Gillian. It was great having you to stay & that your Mom could celebrate her birthday here! All good wishes for the build & hope it runs smoothly!!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We had a 3 day stay here and wish it could have been longer. Very welcoming and helpful hosts. Beautiful accommodation and spotlessly clean. Breakfast by the pool and a private balcony to sit and relax in the evening overlooking the golf course. Plenty to do in Hermanus and the Lodge was within easy reach of the town centre. Fabulous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazel r
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, Hazel. We enjoyed having you to stay. I'm glad you enjoyed Hermanus even though the weather wasn't as warm as we'd have liked! Wishing you a wonderful 2017 filled with good health, joy & happiness :-)

Edinburgh
Reviewed 22 December 2016

This is a lovely B&B in a quiet location away from the town centre. We had our freshly prepared breakfast outside each morning and were entertained by the birds also enjoying theirs. I really appreciated the gluten free granola and bread! Izac and Gail were friendly and helpful and gave us a great recommendation to walk in the Fernkloof Nature...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenb2015157
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review, Jennifer. I'm so pleased you enjoyed what we regard as our little piece of paradise :-) I do hope the rest of your holiday was as good. (And for being kind about the noisy "alarm clocks" in the guinea fowl!!) Wishing you both a happy & prosperous 2017.

Port elizabeth
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We had a 3 day stay here in Hermanus. Our hosts Izac and Gail were so welcoming and helpful. Our accommodation was spotlessly clean, very spacious and comfortable. We had a private balcony overlooking the golf course. Lovely to sit out in the evening with a glass of wine!. The gardens were beautifully maintained. To the back a gorgeous sitting...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciamL6380QL
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a wonderful review :-) I'm so pleased you had a good time despite the slightly cool weather, but as you say, it's still warmer than Scotland!! We look forward to having you to stay again one day. Wishing you a joyous Festive season & a bright, happy 2017!

Helsinki
Reviewed 19 November 2016

It is wonderful staying Fernkloof Lodge because it is rather like an art gallery and where our hosts were both helpful and extremely kind. The standard of room and breakfast were excellent. We felt so refreshed after our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 675gavind
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I do hope the rest of your holiday was as good especially as it was Sirkka's first visit to SA :-)

Lelystad, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Spacious appartment with nice view. Great breakfast. Could have easily stayed longer. There is no door between the front door and the appartment so there is an open connection to the general area downstairs. Bit strange

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidlZ8545QL
gail k, Manager at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review David. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Hermanus - we feel very blessed to live here :-) Incidentally, there is a door between the staircase to the apartment & the living area - you were probably not aware of it.

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

First day of our road trip and a lovely warm welcome (and 2 beers!) clean and spacious room with a lovely garden terrace and parking on the property. Totally recommended. Unfortunately the whales didn't make an appearance, but we enjoyed the walks along the coast!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 648jadec
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Jade (especially as there were no whales as promised!! ) I do hope the shark-cage trip made up for it & that the rest of your SA holiday was awesome!

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We were well received. The place is quiet and peaceful. We really enjoyed ourselves and we will surely visit Hermanus again. The places of interest are within reach but very expensive. Hermanus is neat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 34zanelet
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review Zanele! I'm so pleased you had a good relaxing few days with us and enjoyed Hermanus & the surrounding areas. We are blessed to live here and would love to have you return one day :-)

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 km away
Francolin Manor
Francolin Manor
#59 of 89 in Hermanus
8 reviews
1.0 km away
Robin's Rest
Robin's Rest
#60 of 89 in Hermanus
10 reviews
0.7 km away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#11 of 89 in Hermanus
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
0.3 km away
Selkirk House
Selkirk House
#1 of 89 in Hermanus
211 reviews
1.0 km away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#33 of 89 in Hermanus
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfort, beauty & warm hospitality await you at Fernkloof Lodge, nestled below the majestic mountains overlooking a world class golf course & a sweeping view towards the sea. Fernkloof lodge is an artistically & uniquely decorated home. Each suite is beautifully appointed with an eclectic combination of old & new touches & original works of art. Breakfasts served on the sun-drenched patio. As the sun sets, cool down in the sparkling pool or sip a sundowner at your leisure! The tranquility of Fernkloof Lodge is just a doorstep away! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fernkloof Lodge

Address: 43 Fernkloof Drive | Hermanus Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: ₹ 3,743 - ₹ 7,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernkloof Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fernkloof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fernkloof Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Africa Suite is spacious and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles jenb2015157, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the luxury suite, its worth it!!!!!”
  • View from the patio
  • Mountain view
  • Patio
  • Patio
  • Living room
  • Stairs to the suite
 of 5 bubbles 432varunr, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs African suite is spacious with own sitting room and two balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles FandRD, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The two room "African Suite" with the big roof terras is stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles ulfs585, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Every room is great”
 of 5 bubbles hippychickchris, 1 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5