We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Baleens

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Baleens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Baleens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 371: English reviews
Svendborg, Denmark
Reviewed 24 February 2016

The Baleens Hotel is a cosy little guesthouse in a relaxed and secure area with holidayhomes.The host was very helpful. The familyroom for four had enough space and good beds. Our balcony had a view of the beach and sea. The kitchen is only a sink and a fridge and for coffee making, you can not cook, there is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanneskovc
NiciMeier, Manager at Baleens, responded to this review

Apologies for the swimming pool being out of action, we had a problem with the pool pump and it took several days for the pool specialist to come and repair. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay apart from this. Look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind regards Nicole Meier

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 February 2016

This is a friendly relaxed place. The rooms are basic rather than luxurious, but they have everything you need. The owner, Nato, is a perfect host, and other staff are friendly and attentive. Nicely cooked breakfast, but the fruit is from a tin. Located on the edge of Hermanus in a quiet suburb. You will need a car to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthony19482014
Witbank
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Our stay over 4 nights was fair, but in hindsight this accommodation would be more suited for a business trip and not for leisure. The bed was exceptionally hard and the bathroom dated. The room and bathroom were clean & functional. The breakfast was basic, cold coffee in flasks and the breakfast times did not allow for a lie in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
NiciMeier, Manager at Baleens, responded to this review

Hi Richard, I am not sure if this review was meant for the Baleens Hotel Hermanus as we never serve coffee in flasks, we have a coffee machine. Our breakfast times are 7.30 - 9.30am which seems fair enough for a lie in. We also try to accommodate our guests if they make prior arrangement i.e. if they are out...

Vilnius
Reviewed 7 February 2016

When we arrived to Baleens on the late afternoon, we were sorry at first that it was only one night’s stay, for this guesthouse is really a charming place. It seemed like a visit to relatives (very nice and personal service), lovely kind of old-fashioned house with numbers of interesting items on display. General picture of cosiness. Rooms were great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acorna
NiciMeier, Manager at Baleens, responded to this review

Hi Acorna, We are 7km from Hermanus centre, it does show where we are on the map when you make a booking. Unfortunately the lagoon is closed to the sea at this time of year and there has been a problem with the water, they were doing some testing so this is the reason for the mosquito's. On warm barmy...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Thank you, we had a wonderful, restful stay and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Being able to walk and be on the beautiful beach within a couple of minutes was a real bonus. Substantial breakfast to start the day off with and the all coffee/tea station was much appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 504keithk
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Excellent location with beautiful mountain and sea views. Minutes walk from the beach. Very spacious family room with nice and comfortable bedding. Well furnished family room. Beautiful play room. However on the down side there is a very small sweeping pool that was not cleaned during our stay. Customer service not so good. Breakfast not bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sakhiwemichaelg
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Overnight stay - location is beautiful and would have no hesitation to stay here again .... our stay was made more enjoyable by the host who went way and beyond the extra mile for us. We occupied 3 rooms, all of which were clean and comfortable. The whole place has an African old world feel to it with extras such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJTeam
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Room was old and dirty. Linen was stained. Bathroom and shower mouldy. Toilet had broken seat and was stained on the seat. TV remote broken. Veranda off bedroom was in desperate need of TLC. paint peeling off the floor tiles, plants were dead, veranda furniture was old and falling apart. Breakfast was simple but edible. Owner/managers wife very unfriendly. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philippa C
NiciMeier, Manager at Baleens, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We accept that some of the rooms require a complete refurbishment, which we are working towards. The hotel manager Nato recalls speaking with you during your stay and on check out and none of the above was mentioned. We would happily have moved you to...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2016

Business. We had a nice time......but the mattress was too soft and the hotel needs new pillows. Towels a little too small. Only one milk and one coffee put in room for the morning. (There was enough tea bags and suger) TV in room cauld be a little bigger and maybe more movie channels expecially if it's raining. Will come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank verneen
NiciMeier, Manager at Baleens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you will visit again. We are new owners, we took over mid 2015 and we have so far managed to fully reburbish 9 of our 21 rooms. All the other rooms should be completed in May 2016, new matresses, full bed linen, curtaining, new larger televisions. I am sure that you...

Reviewed 13 January 2016

The hotel is clean and comfortable. Sea view rooms have chairs so that you can enjoy the view on the balcony. Location is lovely, out of the hussle of the town, really close by to Grotto Beach. Breakfast was ok, could be some more variety. Staff could have been a little more friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanisha H
NiciMeier, Manager at Baleens, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I must apologise if you felt the staff were unfriendly, if you had mentioned that during your stay, we could have addressed that, I am not sure who you are referring to. We feel our breakfast is adequate with range of fruit juices, yogurts and fruit, variety of cereals, breads with cheese and preserves and...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
5.6 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
5.0 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
5.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hermanus
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
594 reviews
1.6 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
370 reviews
2.7 km away
Four Pines Lodge
Four Pines Lodge
#12 of 12 in Hermanus
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baleens

Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: ₹ 3,123 - ₹ 4,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Baleens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Baleens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for beach facing balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles damascusjockgirl, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a sea view then you must ask for this.”
 of 5 bubbles JanineV928, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to request views with balcony sea views and one the first floor to avoid lots of stairs and walking.”
 of 5 bubbles kausark2014, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Views to the Beach seem to be the upper rooms in the first level”
 of 5 bubbles nadinebC4632FI, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are better.”
 of 5 bubbles SkyeJess, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay