We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kwelanga Country Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kwelanga Country Retreat
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kwelanga Country Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 41: English reviews
Korea
Reviewed 7 December 2014

We stayed here at the end of a 6 week roadtrip - travelling from the Kruger, down the N2 and staying in backpackers and camping along the way. This was our final stop before heading on the Cape Town. The cabin was lovely, spacious and clean, with an amazing view over the ocean and the Wildebeest grazing on the property....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rianperry
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We only stayed for a night but I wished it was longer. The Hosts were lovely and very obliging. The little log cabin was modern, neat and clean with a awesome view. We took a lovely walk on the grounds even though it was a rainy day. I would really recommend a weekend at this lovely lodge. Just 5 km...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SharonS1312
South Africa
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Oceans vista, wildebeests grazing, eagle cruising , bunny hopping happily around, piece and quiet, what a beautiful place ! We enjoined it so much, outdoors and in the lodge , very cosy by the fire. Best steaks ever ! Thank you Mark and Petra for your hospitality, we will bring the mountain bikes in summer.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CXEmP
Jeffreys Bay
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Kwelanga 27-29 June 2014. It was a pleasant and comfortable weekend with plenty of natural beauty and attentive hosts, Petra & Mark. The chalet's are neat with quality beds and linen, and the food served by their restaurant staff is delicious. At night we could hear the calming sound of frogs in the distance, and by day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Freshfire
Addo, South Africa
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived 22:00 in the evening and Mark still welcomed us with a smile. We went to our room and immediately knew that this is our kind of place. The room had an open lounge with a kitchen; two bed rooms and a bathroom with a nice shower. Everything was just beautiful and nicely decorated; slept like a baby on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Melissa V
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you need some R & R away from the bustle of every day city life yet don't to stray too far from the garden path then Kwelanga Country Retreat is a must. Mark and Petra are amazingly attentive hosts and we truly couldn't have felt more welcome. The food was delicious and plentiful (their butternut soup must get a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kimble2204
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We decided to go to Kwelanga Country Retreat and it was indeed the best choice we could have made. The service we received was exceptional. I dealt mostly with Petra via emails and phone calls and she was quick to reply and help me. The hospitality is amazing! Mark and Petra are really the best hosts you will ever have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ammie7
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you need a break away from home, but you still want the comfort and the warmth of home, this is the place to be. WE had the most awesome reception from Mark & Petra - You guys are the best with their awesome daughter - Best hosts I have ever come across. The cleanliness & breath taking views is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lizelle224
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Mark, the Manager is the rudest person and did not help at all with the booking request. TERRIBLE SERVICE. If this is how he treats potential customers, i am amazed that they even get customers... If there is special running, the person, especially the manager should know what the special is and not be unsure of the standard breakfast cost...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Anelene2014
Mark_Kwelanga, Manager at Kwelanga Country Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Madam I feel so terribly sorry that you feel that way. I do however remember your call vividly and in fact is is you that was rude. I did after all, explain to you that I was in the middle of serving lunch to guests that were at Kwelanga at the time. I did however take the time to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My Mother and I were travelling along the Garden Route over Christmas and arranged to stay at Kwelanga for two nights. Mark (and all the staff) were incredibly hospitable, guiding us on the phone when the GPS misdirected us, walking us around the site and helping to set up our camp. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed numerous G&T's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jessica h

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
0.0 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 km away
Loerie Guest Lodge
Loerie Guest Lodge
#10 of 57 in George
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mountain Dew Guest House
Mountain Dew Guest House
#37 of 57 in George
7 reviews
0.0 km away
Aziza Guest House
Aziza Guest House
#2 of 57 in George
103 reviews
0.0 km away
Ibis Place Country House & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Kwelanga Country Retreat

Address: No 5 Beach Road | Hansmoeskraal, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kwelanga Country Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms further from the restaurant are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles traveltogether67, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have an excellent view with plenty bird life”
 of 5 bubbles AlegriaBay, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Take a walk around the property , its beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles PAMARU, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have the most amazing sea views”
 of 5 bubbles Q3201WQjulieb, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Near the lodge is good with kids and a single chalet is nice”
 of 5 bubbles KBRITTIN, 13 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5