We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We arrived in George very late at night and didn't want to wake the family so we opted to stay the night in the Hotel. We were helped by a friendly young man and a lovely security gentleman. The room was comfortable and clean and the hotel was very nice and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SonjaGeorge
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear SonjaGeorge Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Outeniqua George. As a valued guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I was very disappointed by the Protea Outeniqua on my last visit. The manager contacted me and I recently stayed there again. There has definitely been an improvement. Good service, clean, and a lot quieter. They have also made arrangements for emergency lighting. Breakfast was great. Perhaps I was too harsh in my previous review? Perhaps they improved by that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy2010
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Travelbuddy2010 Thank you for your review update. We are very happy to hear that your subsequent stay was a vast improvement and are delighted that you left happy. Thank you for your feedback.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I was really surprised by this unassuming hotel situated in the heart of George. Very clean ,efficient and really friendly staff. Great breakfasts to boot! I like the fact that it is situated close to a whole collection of restaurants and fast food joints. Rooms are clean, obviously recently refurbed from an old base but really nice with wifi that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garth J
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Garth J Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Outeniqua George. As our valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Excellent Service. Friendly staff and always available for queries. The restaurants are in walking distance. From the time of arrival I felt most welcome. The breakfast is more than enough and preparation of the highest quality. From Candice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candice S
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Candice S We are pleased that you have taken time out to review us on TripAdvisor, thank you! I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff friendly and available and service excellent. Making our GUESTS feel welcome and at home is very important to us. Our chef will be most pleased to hear your feedback on breakfast!...

Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Friendly and helpful service from all staff members from the time we arrived until departure. Centrally located and easy access to the Granden route. Would have have liked to have a fridge in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danie H
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Danie H We appreciate the time you have taken to place your review on TriipAdvisor and that you were happy with your stay. We have fridges available and would have brought one to your if only we had known! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The Protea Hotel Outeniqua is situated in York street, which is the main street of George. The hotel is built in the old Cape Dutch style and the small hotel (about 60 rooms) is a real gem. The staff is very friendly and helpful - we inquired about the free complementary coffee late on the Saturday afternoon and one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asteffens
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear asteffens Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor! It is feedback such as this that inspires our TEAM to go even further to meet and exceed our GUESTS expectations. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Suzhou
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Nice hotel with goo rooms. Staff is friendly, but very slow and inefficient. The rooms are clean, but the bathrooms do need more maintenance. The hotel is noisy. You can hear door slamming, the shower in the rooms next to you and other things you may not want to listen to. The breakfast is OK, but not exciting. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear ThomasC Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Feedback from GUESTS is very important to us. Your comments will be discussed and used constructively to improve our service levels and facilities wherever we possibly can. Our breakfast is a full buffet - hot and cold - with many and varied choices and we generally have very positive feedback on...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Stayed at this hotel quite a few times. rooms are always clean, variety of breakfast to choose from, staff is friendly .. I will recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a convenient stop over for a few days and it being central is a advantage. THANK YOU PROTEA HOTEL OUTENIQUA!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronca1701
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Ronca1701 Thank you for taking the time to review our quaint hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear how happy you are with our service and standard. We are fortunate to have a great TEAM here that work together like family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Reviewed 31 January 2016

The hotel is situated in a great location. But that’s were the buck ends. The taps and shower had no pressure in the mornings. The bar was never open and you had to ask for it to open The breakfast was overpriced for what was on offer and so is the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyangelcapetown
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Johnnyangelcapetown Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are most perturbed to hear about the experience you had as I can assure you, this is not the norm for our hotel. We truly aspire to going out of our way to meeting and exceeding our guests expectations. Ideally, we would have like to remedy any issues immediately while...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2016

When travelling from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth by car, I would advise a stop-over at this hotel. It breaks the + 8 hour journey and one certainly do not feel tired on reaching PE. My wife and I did this during this festive season and what a sound decision it was. The hotel is very central and is surrounded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ismail J
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Ismail J Thank you for taking a moment of your time to review our quaint hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you found your stay good enough to return! :) We are very fortunate to be so central and easy to find as well as a great mid way point to overnight between Cape Town &...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
11.0 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
3.5 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Far Hills Country Hotel
4.8 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
418 reviews
11.7 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua - located in "The Urban Hub" of George. Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua is strategically situated in the urban business, retail and residential hub of George. Vibrant shops and restaurants are abundant in the precinct. Minutes away from the Garden Route Shopping Mall, forests, majestic mountains and majestic coastline, for which the Garden Route is renowned. There is always something to do, from hiking, fishing, abseiling, nature trails and more - all on our doorstep. Easy access to the George Airport and Beaches (15km). An ideal halfway stop between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth and perfect mid-point to base yourself for exploring the whole Garden Route and Klein Karoo. Nestled amongst the well-renowned golf courses of the Garden Route (George Golf Course 2 km) - it is the ideal base to stay and play. Unrivalled convenience and value for money. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua

Address: 123 York Street, George 6529, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Outeniqua George)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: ₹ 3,547 - ₹ 5,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid down stairs”
 of 5 bubbles etiennevanr, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the rooms close to the kitchen and entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles langley122016, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go 4 a "SUPREME ROOM" make sure U hv everythin U need in there cause of the name & the price, "THE HIGHER YOU GO THE QUIETER IT BECOME"”
 of 5 bubbles zwelidanile, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 206 was on the top floor and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Radford007, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in a superior room, so cant advise on other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles nathanstitus, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay