We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Far Hills Country Hotel

Agoda.comUS$ 60*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 67*
US$ 60*
Great Deal
US$ 65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Far Hills Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Far Hills Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 227: English reviews
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed the breakfast every morning. It seems that they are doing a lot of renovations and maintenace, to restore this well known hotel to it's former glory. The hotel has so much potential. For what we paid it was value for money.

Thank GustavPotgieter
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We are in the process of renovating and doing maintenance on our Standard double rooms, one at a time. We hope to see you again soon at The Far Hills Hotel.

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

What a total disappointed...what a shock to see how run down the place actually is. Our room was divided by a door that was locked. Two separate 3/ 4beds. The one was more in the shape of a cano. One bedside lamp . No light in ceiling. Other guests children were in the pool at six o clock in the...

Thank Natalia C
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very run down. The luxury room we were shown had very thin sheets you could see the mattress through. The pool was murky no where in the grounds to sit. We didn't stay. Every where was very tired looking.

Thank Helen J
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Worst experience of my life! The rooms were outdated, the pool was dirty throughout our stay and the whole place is run-down with flies everywhere. And to top it all off the room keys work on all of the doors. I was in the bathroom when someone knocked on the door, I yelled "I'm coming", but one of the workers...

Thank LizzyMcDonald
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bardenhorst We, The Far Hills Hotel sincerely apologise for what happened in your room last week Friday. The front desk receptionist was asked to look for our European Adaptors in all of the rooms. He did come to your room, and as per the hotels rules and regulations he knocked on your door three times. He unfortunately did...

Bellville, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I rarely write reviews on multiple platforms but this was just unacceptable!!! All the keys work on all the rooms. We read a review like this before coming here and thought it could not possibly be true. Well to our surprise we quickly learned that it does.. Naive, I know.. But okay, knowig this we always left the key in...

1Thank Michael B
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Badernhorst As per the previous responce that was given to your wife, we at The Far Hills Hotel sincerely apologise for what happened in your room last week Friday. The front desk receptionist was asked to look for our European Adaptors in all of the rooms. He did come to your room, and as per the hotels rules...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I was very disappointed with my stay at Far Hills. The room was ok and bathroom shower not so ok. Door of shower was also difficult to manage. Aircon one of those VERY old ones... Old box tv with very few channels. Bad reception. VERY poor reception. Could not go on internet. Wifi did not work. I also forgot some...

Thank TinyHandz
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Bester We take all reviews on Tripadvisor very seriously. While you stayed at our hotel in one of our Standard double rooms in November there was no complaint received from your room in regards to the shower door and tv, where we could have assisted you immediately fixing the problems to ensure the remainder of your stay is...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed here for 4 days and took it as a pit stop to explore the surrounding areas.The view was really good with all the trees and baboons.The bar staff was also eager to help and was very accommodating...but unfortunately that is were it stopped.The standard room was very very standard..no bar fridge and the bedding was very old..my pillow...

1Thank orange2017
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Rooms are nothing like they seem like on their website. Furniture is old and worn, and rooms are not particularly clean. There was a dead beetle lying next to the bed when we arrived, and 3 days later after 2 housekeeping sessions it was still there. I wonder if it's still there? Location might be good, but it's unkempt, you...

Thank Peter Takis M
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Peter Taki Marakis Please remove this review. As stated in the email you sent the hotel last week, we find it strange that because you were not able to book a special discounted Daddys Deal rate and get an upgrade to stay with us over the past weekend you went to Tripadvisor to complain about our hotel. Even...

South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here after a prior stop over about 15 years ago, en route to Cape Town. We remember a charming place, with amazing views. It is charming and the device is fantastic. It's just a wee bit dated. I can't complain as the room was LARGE, with a big big, huge bathroom. All the amenities were great, just wish...

Thank SouthAfricaLilly4
George, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We had a ball! The dinner we ordered was great, the staff members were friendly and we loved the bar! Sure the room was a bit musty and there are baboons so you can't keep your windows open and the property needs some TLC, but I mean we were there for each other, not to nit pick at the property....

Thank Tanya N

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (98)
Room/Suite (35)
View from Room (9)
Bathroom (13)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Dining (2)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Room/Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
13.0 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
4.1 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
7.6 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
52 reviews
4.5 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: ₹ 3,359 - ₹ 5,749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Far Hills Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“top floor facing the mountains”
jasonvenn2017, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!!”
dongee2017, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lower ground garden / pool rooms.”
freedomoftravel, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking pool have a good view but are very tired,,,,”
, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the newly revamped rooms.”
Tessa143, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 60* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 65
CancelonUS$ 67
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates