We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fancourt

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 310*
US$ 220*
Great Deal
US$ 247*
US$ 247*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Fancourt
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 381: English reviews
Start your review of Fancourt
 Click to rate
Camps Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From our initial booking, to our arrival and departure we received great service. The one bedroom suite we stayed in was spacious with 2 beds in the lounge area for our 3 year olds. Our bedroom area was separated with a sliding door so was perfect if we wanted to watch TV late and not wake the kids. The children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarvBlonde
Staten Island
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 4 fantastic days at Fancourt in May 2017. The accommodations were excellent very nice room modern bathroom and very comfortable. The food was excellent. We had all of our meals on the property and each was excellent. We ate at Monets and near the bar. Breakfast at La Catina was also very good. We golfed at both of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael H
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for taking the time to rate us. Your kind words have been shared with the rest of the team and appreciated.We look forward to welcoming you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please dont hesitate to contact me should you have any queries or requests as my team and I will only...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

FANCOURT is one of my no. 1 hotel in Garden Route. Their service is out of this world. They greet you by name and got a welcoming MCC drink on my 2nd visit. Some of the facilities they offer are Spa, indoors and outdoor pool, 3 world Golf courses, 2 Resturants and a Sports Bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yobanesa
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Yobanesa As a most valued guest your feedback is important to us and taken to heart. We delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Your patronage is greatly appreciated. Kind regards Thomas

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent 5 nights at Fancourt in the second week of April which was my 5th visit to this resort. As usual, the staff were excellent and very welcoming both at reception and in the La Cantina restaurant which has a really good selection of both Italian and other dishes. The main reason for my visit, as usual, was to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear John The Fancourt team are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise for the inconvenience caused due to your wifi not working and will most definately address this. We look forward to welcoming you back home to Fancourt. Please dont hesitate to contact me should you have any queries or requests as my team...

Wallace, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For a resort billed as the Greenbriar or Glen Eagles of South Africa, we were a little disappointed. While the grounds are pretty impressive, our room - while nice - was a little dated. One of our group had to relocate because their room smelled musty. The service (other than the concierge) left something to be desired. They had plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daz1249
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Daz Thank you for taking the time to rate us, as valued guests your feedback is important to us and taken to heart. We were dismayed at not exceeding your expectations and hope to be given the oppertuntiy to redeem ourselves in the not too distant future.Please dont hesitate to contact me should you have any queries or requests...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We have just returned from a 3 day visit to Fancourt and we will definitely be planning many repeat visits in the future. Our package included a stay in one of the Lodges and golf on the Outeniqua course. The Montague was being hollow tined so we didn't get to play that one but that didn't spoil our enjoyment. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Gail The Fancourt team are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we can look forward to many more welcome back home to Fancourt experiences. We believe in creating memories and as most valued guests your patronage is greatly appreciated.Please dont hesitate to contact me should you have any queries or requests as my...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I love Fancourt. I go with my fiancé, I go with my mum, I go alone... its lovely and I highly recommend it especially for the golf and amenities. However, my last visit ended terribly due to unprofessional behavior from staff at The Monet restaurant. We were catching a flight that afternoon and after waiting approximately an hour and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michurquhart
Thomas v, Hotel manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Michurquhart Thank you for taking the time to rate us. On behalf of the whole Fancourt team please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations and for the inconvenience caused. I can assure you that this most definately is not the norm nor is it how we like to be remembered. Would you be so kind as to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Spent a week during the April vacation and the facility is world class. The golf course, the spa the kids club .. makes for a perfect family holiday. There are three restaurants on location to chood from . An indoor pool for the kids is perfect for all year round swimming The gym is well equipped lots on space including...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4Abade
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Guests The Fancourt team are delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us. The indoor pool at our Sports and Leisure center is most definately a draw card for families especially in the colder months. We look forward to you all spending many more memorable vacations with us in the not too distant future....

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This is a wonderful resort, especially if you play golf. Our room was slightly dated, but the bathroom had been redone. With heated floor, heated towel rack, and a decent sized shower, it fit our needs. The golf was top notch. The Links course is a treat to play and experience. The glitch came with management. The first night in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Richard As most valued guests your feedback is important to us and taken to heart. We apologise for all the inconveniences caused and hope that you will give us an oppertunity to redeem ourselves in the not too distant future. Please dont hesitate to contact me should you have any queries or requests as the team and I will...

Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel and lodge rooms with 3 top golf courses, a beautiful spa, salon, tennis courts, and a leisure centre with gym, yoga, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and games room. A variety of dining options as well. And the area has so much on offer too. Really a treat, albeit a bit pricey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGoosen
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Goosen family Thank you for taking the time to rate us and share your experiences. The Fancourt team are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you all back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have any queries or requests...

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.6 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 km away
The Manor House at Fancourt
3.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
16.1 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
34.1 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: ₹ 11,109 - ₹ 21,572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fancourt staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Fancourt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room. Some are overlooking the golf course but the others are fine too.”
Rick23081947, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book tee times in advance - it can get busy. Several large groups during our stay.”
chriskN2659ZJ, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with a view of the course”
542Kenneth, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room overlooking the golf courses”
Chazzer124, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe all of the rooms are excellent rooms.”
LikeHolidayBliss, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 220* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 247
Hotwire.comUS$ 247
AMOMAUS$ 310
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates