We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cellars-Hohenort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cellars-Hohenort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cellars-Hohenort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 309: English reviews
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 March 2016

The Cellars-Hohenort is a nice Hotel with a long History in a very green lush garden. The rooms are ok. We had a room with a Patio so we could sit in the garden. The bath could use some refurbishment. A big plus are the 2 Restaurants the Conservatory good Food in a nice Ambiente. But the Greenhouse was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veroca2000
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear veroca2000 Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you got to experience both of our restaurants, especially the Greenhouse! We will be refurbishing our bathrooms in the coming winter season and look forward to your return Best wishes

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This hotel nearly ticks all the boxes, we had a lovely week there and would go again. We were looked after splendidly. Our room (ground floor suite) was large and very comfortable with a huge bed. The staff were very friendly and they put themselves out to help us when needed.The gardens are wonderful and the domestic ducks were lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsPE
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Mrs PE Many thanks for your feedback, we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us, we have also made notes of the slower than usual service at breakfast and we will certainly make a note to improve on this. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit Kind regards Dominic

Peyia, Cyprus
Reviewed 24 February 2016

The place is clearly high class and the room was very nice even if at the second floor without lift. The reason not to give full points is the service which in some cases has been less than perfect: Telephone room not working, internet very poor, service at the breakfast not excellent. Overall a very good location with some space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agi94
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Agi94 Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback and assure you that we will attend to the issues mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind regards Dominic

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016

The magnificent grounds and spectacular setting in the Constantia Valley didn't quite compensate for the stained carpets, rattly and leaky air conditioner unit, and musty "damp" smell in the amply proportioned suite. As such, the international jet-set 5* room rates are somewhat of a cheek. The average age of the clientele is 70 or more and moves at the genteel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MCMLXIII
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear MCMLXIII Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, we have noted the maintenance issues that were pointed out and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. We have recently installed a fiber optic cable and expect that this will overcome slower internet when volumes are high. We will be refreshing many rooms and public areas over the...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

For such a highly rated Relaix Chateau hotel the afternoon tea was a disappointment. The room, looking out on to the beautiful garden and Greenhouse restaurant, was lovely. But the food was poorly prepared and presented. The "finger sandwiches" we're too large and made with thick slices of brown bread. The fillings were also a little agricultural. The two scones...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan D
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Alan D Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies that you were disappointed in the tea service recently. I have discussed the comments with my service team and executive chef who assure me that corrective action will be taken. We appreciate that you have taken the time to in form us of our shortfalls and I assure...

Gent
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Fantastic hotel, located at one of the top places nearby Cape. We had a beautifull room and great view on the Table Mountain. Every employee is so helpfull which makes you feel like home. Food at the restaurant is good and the wines they offer are top quality. We stayed 5 nights and have really enjoyed. This is a place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Okegem
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Okegem Thank you for your magnificent review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food and service and I will pass on your compliments to my Team. I look forward to welcoming you back where you must of course book to enjoy our award winning Greenhouse restaurant Kind regards Dominic

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel had been recommended to us and booked by our SA agent!! On arrival it looked OK but it is certainly not quiet or secluded. In fact the nearby main road is busy. When we first arrived I had a horrible feeling. The chap taking the cases was over the top and the reception personnel were rather grumpy. When...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark R
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Mark R We are terribly sorry that the room did not meet your expectations that led you to depart soon after your arrival at the Hotel. I assure you that the Team at the Hotel pride themselves in maintaining high standards of cleanliness and hygiene and we wish to apologize that this was not met for you. I must...

London
Reviewed 13 February 2016

This was our third visit to The Cellars in January and it did not disappoint. We were sad to hear of the death of Liz McGrath last year and were wondering what effect this would have on 'The Collection'. As far as ‘The Cellars’ is concerned (and The Plettenberg, see other review) we need have had no such concerns. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin G
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Robin G Many thanks for your wonderful review, my Team and I are delighted that you enjoyed relaxing in our tranquil gardens and that you enjoyed both The Conservatory and Greenhouse restaurants. We are all saddened by the passing of Mrs M and the entire staff wish to ensure that we maintain her legacy of exceptional guest service. We...

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 9 February 2016

This small hotel on the slopes of Table Mountain is set within 9 acres of beautifully maintained gardens, and is located minutes from Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, V&A Waterfront, and Constantia Valley Wineries in a quiet upscale neighborhood. The comfortable rooms feature large bathrooms/dressing rooms, comfortable beds, and lavish bed linens that complement the Cape Dutch architecture. The heated pool on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen144
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Eileen144 Thank you for taking the time to amplify your experience at The Cellars-Hohenort, we appreciate your lovely comments As our rooms are all very unique, spacious and not in a corporate city Hotel style, we are aware of the challenges with the plug access points and have a plan to overcome this problem which will be implemented in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2016

A few years ago we went to see the Cellars and were very taken with the appearance and ambiance of this hotel. On our most recent visit I booked for us to be there for four nights. We prefer to be out of town for a number of reasons - not least that we like the tranquility of a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Casata2014
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Casata2014 Thank you for your fabulous review of our Hotel, we too love the tranquility and gardens that surround us and so happy you enjoyed afternoon tea and services at the poolside. I will pass on your kind words and compliments to my team, I only played a small role in making your stay more comfortable and it was...

222 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
443 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Constantia
162 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 6 in Constantia
163 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Price Range: ₹ 14,502 - ₹ 32,748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cellars-Hohenort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can recommend room 61”
  • View out front
  • The room has its own garden
  • Overlooking the garden
  • The living room
  • View out back
  • Bathroom
  • Looking out the front door
  • The living room
 of 5 bubbles Foxy-Froggy, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best room is the Luxury Double with verandah overlooking gardens with view of the mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles Gjill122016, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 was lovely, with a terrace onto the gardens, where the ducklings ran around.”
 of 5 bubbles harrietkfoster, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor patios with rose-covered trellis”
 of 5 bubbles TyE403, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms and suites that give easy and direct access to the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Gregorypeck186338, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay