We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fountains Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Fountains Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 367: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Got and excellent rate for the center of Cape Town during the week between Christmas and New Year. It is a typical inner city hotel that is not on the high end... cramped parking garage, but grateful to have one, rooms are small but clean, bathrooms have had a 'light' facelift and are clean, but tiling work was sloppy so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanl783
FountainsGM, Guest Relations Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joanl783 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we did not make your trip a memorable one we always try to cater to every need and we do apologies that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune...

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's not a bad hotel. The breakfast is great, and also is the location. But, for the high price, I would expect that the air conditioning would not rattle so much, nor be so noisy. For what I paid, I could have been in a better hotel at Cape Town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRod003
FountainsGM, Guest Relations Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RRod003 Thank you for your review . I do agree that the Fountains Hotel is in the perfectly located for any urban traveller and I am glad to see that you were able to make the most of our location . Regarding your concerns thank you for bringing them to our attention , I can assure you that they...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parking attendant who helped to guide car into one poorly designed Lot in a poor carpark demanded tip even before finishing to guide in a bad tone. Tip is fine. Demands are poor reflections. Use the tips to build a better car park pls. Another incident where the reception simply told me to 'go online' to book tickets, when it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoyLRS
FountainsGM, Guest Relations Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RoyLRS Thank you for your review. Please accept our most sincere apology for the service you’ve received, please take comfort in the fact that this matter has been investigated and corrective measures have been taking to insure that this is not an incident that will be repeated. Kind Regards Chane Achterbergh Sales and Marketing coordinator.

Strand, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night and was very impressed with the helpful staff, especially at Reception. Rooms are spacious, although showing some decay on the walls. Breakfast was good, but too many dirty and used tables and not being cleaned in time. Would go back any time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouisCornelius
FountainsGM, Guest Relations Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LouisCornelius I am delighted to read that our helpful staff met your expectations and that the rooms were to your liking, at the Fountains Hotel we always strive to meet all of our guests needs and in this case it showed. We do however apologize for the few matters that were less than satisfactory and I do assure you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights after deciding to move out of our guest house accommodation in Seapoint. Booked last minute and got a great deal. Room, breakfast and staff were all great - very well looked after.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham_B_Mcr
FountainsGM, Guest Relations Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham_B_Mcr Thank you for this amazing review. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Fountains Hotel your review will be shared with the team for their motivation and consideration. We hope to make your next trip to Cape Town a memorable one . Kind Regards Chane Achterbergh Sales and Marketing coordinator.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me start by telling this is one of the worst stay I have encountered in South Africa till date. The only good thing about this accommodation was having a good and delicious breakfast. 1. The air condition was not working on the room i checked in. Did wait for 2 hrs before I made my first complaint. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goutham K
FountainsGM, Guest Relations Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goutham K Thank you for your review and bringing your concerns to my attention. We value all feedback received from our guests, as we continually strive to not only improve our level of service. Could you please contact our General Manager at gm@fountainshotel.co.za, as we would like to do a thorough investigation into this matter? This is definitely not...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There is a fair spread of food in the morning. The cooks are generally friendly. The room we had was generally okay just old. The shower water temperature is temperamental. There's a small gym which helps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colbert N
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i feel that when boxes are being delivered to the hotel, that the courier service should have a separate enterance or atleast the hotel should allocate a lift for these boxed to be delivered to where it should be. One of your courier people that delivered some boxed did not want us to use the lift as they said the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rubykevina
FountainsGM, Sales and Marketing coordinator at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear R Adams Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I can assure you that all your concerns have been taken to heart and corrective measures have been actioned. We hope that you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and we can assure you that this is not our normal standard of...

Elancourt
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I spent about ten days in this hotel, my wife being hospitalized in Cape Town, the management and the staff my particularly well handled. The service, the rooms and the food are excellent. I strongly recommend this hotel very well placed in Cape Town, in city center and near the Waterfront. Martine et Jean-Paul Migeon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPetMElancourt
FountainsGM, Sales and Marketing coordinator at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jean-Paul Migeon Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Fountains Hotel. I am pleased to learn that our exceptional service and excellent location contributed to a most memorable experience at the Fountains Hotel. I do agree that our buffet offers quite a variety be it breakfast, lunch or dinner; I am delighted to learn that...

Cape Town
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Their breakfast is terrible and need real improvement perhaps include cappuccino as part of breakfast cause their coffee is bad. Cockroaches in the rooms. Dirty surfaces, hazardous parking, they must treat humans equally.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank liziwed
FountainsGM, Sales and Marketing coordinator at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear liziwed Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. It is unfortunate that you had a less favorable experience during your stay. I can assure you that your concerns have been taken to heart and corrective measures have been actioned. I trust that you accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused and I can assure you this...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
594 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
414 reviews
AHA Inn on the Square
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parliament Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
529 reviews
City Bowl
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#93 of 106 in Cape Town Central
241 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 5,461 - ₹ 9,489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fountains Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fountains Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles LouisCornelius, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on St Georges mall are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles JPetMElancourt, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms that you can see the garden and the road, and also if you stay on the top floors the better”
 of 5 bubbles hetyd, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A wonderful view from the rooms facing the fountain: the Table Mountains all yours!”
 of 5 bubbles 466gianninav, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rent an apartment”
 of 5 bubbles DuPreezvW, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay