We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

40 Winks Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
40 Winks Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 40 Winks Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Namur, Belgium
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked an apartment in this hotel for 5 nights. Pictures on the website were good. They said "5 minutes from the center and 10 minutes from the ocean". In fact the appartment was on the Main Road (4 lines) very noisy. Just not possible to open a window! The appart himself was "technically" okay but really not nice, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine M
Namur
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The description and pictures of the apartment has nothing to do with what you actually get. We ended up in an apartment next to a high trafic road, far from the guesthouse, noisy and dusty. We decide to leave and had to find another place to stay. Worst thing is that despite very nice attempts to get a partial refund,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoffrey D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights. The service was good and staff were pleasant. The room was pretty basic and the décor has a lot to be desired. It was like sleeping in your grandmas living room. There were nick nacks everywhere. The internet service was poor as the only place I could access was sitting outside the room. There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darrel G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It is a 4 star guest house not hotel which I think is different, as far as ratings go. Really convenient location for the city, V & A Waterfront and surrounds. My room was very comfortable, clean and attractive and there was soap, shower gel, coffee, tea etc. TV (only M-net - no DSTV which was a surprise) but the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joanmac303
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Shoddy service, terrible breakfast, all staff finish at 4pm and only start again at 7am!! Owner never there. Towels frayed and quite frankly wouldn't let my dog sleep on them. Room was basically in the parking lot with cars shining their lights directly into your bed at night. Dreadful experience and more like a one star!! Baffled how they can...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Viv K
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I booked a room here the night before. The bedroom is fine. the only amneties in the bathroom was your towel. i am used to better in 4 star hotels. service is awful. oh the people are nice, just not there. i wanted to make phone calls, and was looking for someone to explain how their phone system worked. no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moryl P
Johannesburg
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The aircon was not working so was moved to another room. Was given a talking to in the morning on why did I move rooms? not to sure as it was the night managers decision. The breakfast was uninspiring and can not see where the 4 stars come from. Will not visit again One towel for two guests and office...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elvavisser
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I was not impressed that I had to pay an additional R70 fee for parking. Breakfast was okay, but had to share a table. O, they were out of sausages the first day. Also serve breakfast only from 7:30. By that time Im usually on my way to the site already. My room looked nothing like the pictures on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanet v
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We booked to stay at 40 WINKS after checking online on what Cape Town had to offer in terms of an economical stay in a Guest House with a family room since i was sharing with my 2 adult children.I only saw the ratings after i had booked so was quite worried at what i would find on the ground.We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackie294207
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My boyfriend took me to Cape Town for my birthday weekend. When we got to 40 Winks we were given Room 12. The room is right next to the reception hall. So, you hear everything (the ringing phone, the gate buzzer, the early morning breakfast preparations). This place was awful. There is no bathroom door, no windows in the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IzzyElla
winkwink, Manager at 40 Winks Guest House, responded to this review

In reply to your post on TripAdvisor, I am the manager that you spoke to about your "problem check list". You say that I speak a lot, and that, is indeed the truth. However the reason for your unsuccessful verbal engagement with me, is that you felt that the use of abusive foul language would, somehow, miraculously illicit the refund...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
185 reviews
Wilton Manor Guest House
#28 of 163 in Cape Town Central
258 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
#44 of 163 in Cape Town Central
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
27 reviews
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille ...
#56 of 163 in Cape Town Central
158 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
TGCSA 4-Star accommodation, built on old-fashioned ideals, modern-age comforts, quality service, affordable luxury accommodation, delicious breakfast buffet. Need a place to stay two minutes walk from Green Point Stadium... or maybe during Argus Cycle Tour and Two Oceans....or perhaps just a long holiday near the sea, large shopping complexes and Cape Town's major attractions......then 40 Winks Guesthouse is perfect for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 40 Winks Guest House

Address: 2 Ravenscraig Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Woodstock
Price Range: ₹ 6,021 - ₹ 10,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 40 Winks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Booking.com so you can book your 40 Winks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Winks Guest House Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 40 Winks Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from 40 Winks Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“suggest garden view 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles travelspecialist69, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 18 has a private balcony! It's awesome!!!”
 of 5 bubbles loust03, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The outside rooms are great to stay in!”
 of 5 bubbles ChadleyB, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms upstairs in the house are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles 876franceskaj, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If possible, try not to get a room directly on the courtyard - you can see into the rooms from carpark/breakfast patio.”
 of 5 bubbles Kwosti, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5