We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Canal Quays

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Canal Quays
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If we had know that less than 50m away was a massive building site would not have booked this apartment. Building work started at 6am and continued all day till 6pm. Pile driving was very noisy and dust made the balcony not useable during the day. Also things supposed to be in the flat or replenished by the cleaners, mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Kampala
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well equipped and good reception and signing in with Nash, who did a great job welcoming us and orientation us! Apartment is spacious and has all the necessary facilities. Well maintained and neat....clean and nicely lit with an outside patio...Unfortunately looking onto a very industrial harbour development...with construction going on. The couch is extremely hard and uncomfortable even when using...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Koos K
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The apartments are well equipped, overlooking a canal and very comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and it is about a 10 min walk to V&A waterfront. There is very good security with apartment security as well as the Home from Home staff. We were able to cook breakfast and prepare food with the utensils supplied in the kitchen. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwisfly
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking your time to review our apartments. We are grateful for the feedback. Our staff appreciate the commendation. You seem to have had a real Home from Home experience and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regrads Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

A beautiful self contained apartment. High level apartment with Great view, no noise. Everything you required,dishwashing liquid, laundry detergent washer + a clothesdryer. Lovely spacious lounge + balcony. Would stay here again. Great location. Helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking your time to review our apartment.We appreciate your feedback.Above all ,we are just delighted that you had a fantasic stay and we look forward to be of service again in the future. Kind Regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 October 2016

What a disappointment! We stayed here before 2 years ago, but on the 7th floor - and that was amazing. This time we were on the 3rd floor. The 2 bedroom unit was nicely furnished and was spacious. But if you want a good nights' sleep, I'd avoid! Not only were we situated right opposite a massive contraction site on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We are sorry that your stay this time around wasn't as pleasant. Our sincerest apologies for this, some of the issues ,we can address ,like the noise from fellow tenants but the vibe of the City is unfortunately difficult to compress. All you have to do is...

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This is my second time staying at this property. Lovely one bedroom apartment noise is a problem with the highway. Staff very responsive. The team strives to be accommodating. Very close to the waterfront.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alvin D
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for staying with us at Canal Quays Luxury Apartments, we appreciate the review on our property.We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay on your return. We are please that you have made this your Home from Home. We would love to welcome you again to our apartments. See you soon. Kind Regards Warren...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Appartment 701 four nights two bedroom self catering. Check-in was smooth and efficient however reception was a little difficult to find as it's not at the main entrance it is situated about 20 m to the right via a small door leading to the small reception counter. Apartment 701 was relatively large and clean however there were several items that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TW52
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your extensive review on our apartment. We apologise for the maintenance issues in the apartment you stayed in. We will address your concerns and get them resolved. Kind Regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager

Jeffrey's Bay, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Beautiful, well equipped and quality furnishings in this studio apartment. Once you know its location it is easy enough to find. Very secure for those who are very security conscious, great undercover parking a nd a very, very comfortable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reg M
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking you time to review our apartment. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to make strides to improve were need be but also to continue providing the best service our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city and hope you will stay with us again. Kind Regards...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Very nice apartment. Friendly and accomodating staff. Everything was in working order. Some items were incomplete e.g. Forks and glasses. No housekeeping on Sundays. Had a housekeeper on the Saturday and she was quick and efficient. Had a lovely stay and will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chavonn J
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Services Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking your time to review our apartment. We are very happy to get this good feedback. We will communicate with our team to make sure that we have enough inventory. We appreciate the commendation of our staff ,we look forward to your return. Kind Regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager

East London
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Lovely set up, the Studio apartments are a bit narrow for my liking, but the 1 bedroom apartments are adequately sized. I was fortunate to be in a 2-bed apartment on the 7th Floor, watch a view! These are fully serviced apartments, the location is right behind the Convention Centre and priced right!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
HomefromHomeCT, Guest Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for staying with us.We are delighted that we could offer you a Home from Home in our studio apartment.We look forward to your return. Kind Regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
307 reviews
0.5 km away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#63 of 106 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
0.7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,346 reviews
0.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
386 reviews
1.2 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to a serene location overlooking the beautiful working harbour of Cape Town. Canal Quays is a modern property classically furnished and ideally positioned on the canal waterway. This venue affords guests the comfort of spacious self-catering apartments in a quiet area of the city. Canal Quays is ideal for business and leisure as it's a stroll to the Cape Town International Convention Centre, and within walking distance to the city's financial district and a short drive to various shopping centres, restaurants and major attractions. Each modern apartment is equipped with a kitchen, open-plan dining and lounge areas, including spacious bedrooms, which makes Canal Quays suitable for short and long stays in Cape Town. Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharge applicable). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canal Quays

Address: 1 Lower Burg Street | Convention Centre Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 5,482 - ₹ 13,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Canal Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Quays Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canal Quays staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Canal Quays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“keep voile curtains closed all day keeps the mosquitoes out.”
 of 5 bubbles Z7477YFjohnd, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Convenient, accessible and well located except for the lack of nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles KoosK_12, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High rooms may get a view , being built out”
 of 5 bubbles kiwisfly, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request apartment on higher level with Great view, no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 8sandyw, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the 7th floor to avoid the traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenC591, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay