We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Winchester Mansions

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,002 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Winchester Mansions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 849: English reviews
Dubai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely fantastic experience. The staff on reception were so friendly and helpful. The guys in the bar were great fun and made my staying alone for a work trip less boring and lonely. Breakfast was great and the location is perfect. Room 326 by far the best room in the hotel having switched from 121 having needed to extend my...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank benmccabe2017
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

I am so happy to hear that the staff treated you well and that you enjoyed their company as I am sure they did yours. They really are what makes the Winchester Mansions special. I glad we were able to accommodate you when needing to extend your stay, and that you were satisfied with the different room type. We hope...

Moira, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Winchester Mansions Hotel for 5 nights. This was the perfect location away from the hustle bustle of the city centre and yet close enough for us to explore Cape Town and the many tourist attractions in this beautiful city. The hotel was of a very high standard, excellent food, excellent staff and bar overlooking the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kay252017
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what your stay was like at the Winchester Mansions and we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. The Winchester Mansions is indeed situated in one of the best locations for tourists as well as locals. Thank you for your recommendation, we really appreciate...

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 7 nights at Winchester Mansions at the end of February/ March. Before we travelled I had researched hotels in Cape Town because we prefer hotels with character that fit the location, and what a location! Not for us a modern high rise glass and metal, cold and clinical hotel where you could be anywhere in the world!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillian K
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for this outstanding review! We are so incredibly happy when we hear how much our guests enjoyed their time with us. This is the type of experience we would want all our guests to experience. It is not often that our guests get to experience 3G as well as Jazz Brunch during their stay, so your timing was...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

service was extremely good, from check in, issues, lunch, breakfast to check out. Rooms are comfortable and pillows fantastic. Best veg pasta I have eaten ever!! good selection for breakfast as well - may however consider more vegetarian options. Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to assist! Wihan was great at solving wifi issues.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank adhir25
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review. Our chef is very happy with your comment about the pasta and he thanks you for mentioning it. We are always looking at ways of improving our breakfast variety and will definitely take your suggestion into consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Winchester Mansions.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Comfortable and spacious spotlessly clean rooms, lovely friendly staff, beautiful decor and a great atmosphere. Pool is a great spot to relax and I highly recommend Winchester Mansions for a relaxing and pleasant stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FayeFelix
Murray N, Managing Direcor at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful rating and incredible comments. Thank you so much for your recommendation, we really appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Junior suite room overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Esplanade out front for long walks and terminates ar Olympic size pool. Have a drink at the downstairs public veranda and enjoy the sunset or a tea and scones party mid afternoon. Great hotel stemmed in history, breakfasts could do with a bit of attention but satisfactory. Wifi is unstable and not secured...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel, we appreciate your feedback. . Please accept my apologies for the WiFi issues you occurred, during the course of your stay. I am delighted to hear that you will stay with us again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Woods Hole
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am giving this a 5 stars for the staff and room configurations and view and location. One has endless options for walking along the sea, watching sunsets out front or from our room, hop on hop off just across the street, and watching paragliders land right across the street. Table mountain is visible from the our 3 floor courtyard...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James L
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for this amazing review!! Feedback like this makes us so proud to be part of the Winchester Mansions Team. We absolutely loved having you here with us and do hope to be your first choice when traveling to Cape Town again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a modern junior suite (upgraded cost for this)- beautiful sea view but not a suite as you know it! No lounge area to speak of. Stay was marred by confusion over payment- double check this at check in. Jazz brunch is good fun

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa V
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not like our Modern Junior Suite, it is not often that we have guests who are not happy with that room type. As discussed with you on check out, your payment was not reflected into our bank account due to the fact that your payment was paid into an incorrect bank account. I hope you...

Woking
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

fantastic position on the front with sunsets etc abounding and cannot fault the location however the rooms are very small the bed the smallest double I have seen in a hotel since the 80's and the rooms are tired and design is just plain stupid! frosted glass wall to bathroom that lights the whole room up when you use it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CassWoking
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry you were not happy with room allocated to you, we have made a note of all the features you pointed out and will do our best to rectify where we can when we do our refurbishment, most it however does not seem like a quick fix, so it will take more time. I am glad to...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great hotel right on the waterfront in Sea Point. Highlights included the beautiful courtyard and the sundowners at Harvey's. The location is great, being a short way in the middle of getting to town and the V&A Waterfront, as well as to Camps Bay and Clifton. You can walk across to the promenade and run/walk on the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexjf
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind rating and for taking the time to let us know what your experience was like at the Winchester Mansions. Thank you so much for your suggestion, you will be happy to know that we are in the planning phase of doing a refurbishment to our bedrooms. Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate...

572 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (304)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Balcony Suite (40)
Viewed
Classic Room (33)
Viewed
Family Room (66)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Modern Classic Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
0.6 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,794 reviews
2.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,433 reviews
2.8 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,203 reviews
2.0 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 8,103 - ₹ 19,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Winchester Mansions staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Winchester Mansions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is worth paying a little extra and getting a sea or mountain facing room.”
adrianl1471, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“105. First floor and close to swimming pool .”
905howardc, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Personal preference for room selection, mountain or sea view rooms, I prefer high up seaview, loft with a window.”
WayneW412, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are wonderful and great for sunset but room can be very noisy with wind etc. Don't bother upgrading to a suite- it's not a true suite so save your money!”
AlexaV_12, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“front facing rooms only and not on upper floor”
CassWoking, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5