We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived in evening and stayed for just a night. Very helpful staff at reception who managed to have a simple meal sent to my room although the kitchen had almost closed. Loved the view of the water (and waterfront). Spacious rooms. Well decorated. Would certainly return here again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kunal M
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Kunal M, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your short visit and that our team could assist with your requests. I hope that you will have more time to spend in our wonderful city on your next visit. Kind regards conradJ General Manager

Arlington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Considering the cost, I can't complain. The room was actually really nice (though there was only one available plug and only one trash can--in the bathroom--which is particularly odd given that there was a kitchenette). Amenities are the biggest downside -- restaurant's offerings are modest, pool's dirty, no bar. I'd say about 50 percent of the staff is lovely, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_From_Va513
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Traveler_From_Va513, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay. I have taken special note of your concerns and will ensure that it is addressed with the relevant team members. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Isle of Wight, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location just about walking distance to V&A waterfront although we didn't and you wouldn't want to at night. Right on main road. underground parking- secure. I wouldn't agree that the building was tired, I did think the pool looked like it could do with a revamp but others we using it so presume ok. Room a very good size and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gardengel-IoW
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Gardengel-IoW, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you found the location convenient and our rooms spacious and comfortable. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend during a business trip. It is quite run down in general. The furniture in the rooms needs replacing. The staff were friendly but didn't go beyond the basic. No water given in the room Breakfast was poor, and chef really didn't care about the food she was putting out. Wouldn't recommend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archer9999
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Archer9999, Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent stay. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the concerns raised. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team...

Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here as a family. The room is equipped with a microwave, a stove and all other self-catering utilities. The location was central to exploring Cape Town's Table Mountain, the V&A Waterfront, the different beaches with Über cabs. Fantastic hotel staff and the a relaxed restaurant downstairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramere
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Ramere, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our self catering facilities came in handy. It is great that you were able to explore our wonderful city from our central location. We look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 3 November 2016

My family we were away for the Holiday I really don't complain everything was exactly as it was on the advertisement, and my kids really enjoy, it is also a walking distance to Water front I can refer families to visits the hotel when they are in CT

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NomsaMhembiri
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear NomsaMhembiri, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that we met all your expectation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We were disappointed on initial impressions as you enter from the street via a rickety security gate or car park lift. However the staff were pleasant and our room was large. We had hoped for a view but there was no option when we checked in. They suggested we may have been able to move but we didn't push and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki E
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Vicki, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a great stay and were able to enjoy our comfortable rooms and scrumptious breakfast. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards conradJ General Manager

Hants
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The staff at this hotel were very polite and very helpful nothing was to much trouble. The rooms were very spaceous and comfortable we had a great view of the V/A. Just a 15 minute walk to the waterfront where my daughter and I had no problems walking to or from. All in all a great hotel we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LezzaHants
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Lezzahants, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that we met your expectations and that you were able to enjoy the great views from out spacious rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for six nights, on a vacation in Cape Town. We were given a room with a fabulous Table Mountain view, room 77. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. There was a safe in the closet which we used to lock our valuables. The hotel was quiet, with friendly staff. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank isabella_deruiter
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Isabella_deruiter, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the team...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

The Protea Cape Castle is a great value. Clean, perfect location for excursions to Downtown, de Waterkant, V&A Waterfront, and within walking distance to beaches and Seapoint. Staff were helpful and courteous. My room faced Table Mountain had spectacular views! Hotel is in need of updates. Power outlets were especially challenging, and kitchen was pretty basic-but met my needs. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Randy P, Thank you for your valued feedback. I am happy that you found our central location ideal to explore our beautiful city during your visit. I trust that the Table Mountain view will bring you back to Cape Town soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
0.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
516 reviews
2.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
928 reviews
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 106 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
0.0 km away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 5,257 - ₹ 11,660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles Gardengel-IoW, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was on the 7th floor”
 of 5 bubbles NomsaMhembiri, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front have some views but may be noisy. Suggest level 2 or higher.”
 of 5 bubbles VickiE340, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mountain side is away from the main road .”
 of 5 bubbles tys259, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sorry not familiar with rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mbh368, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay