We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This hotel offers value for money and a walking distance to VnA complex. Very friendly for business travel and the rooms offer lots of space - sofa n work desk! The area around the hotel is currently going through a lot of upgrades and once completed this hotel will be in a prime spot. The breakfast offered in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gift M
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The general feeling is that this hotel clearly has a theft problem. My brother's watch came off whilst he was sleeping and landed in the bedding. When we realised it was missing we queried it with the staff and reported it as stolen. It would appear as the watch was stolen and we were advised by management that we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clara-Marie H
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel itself isn't too bad, but the surrounding construction is intense (they even leave you a laminated paper warning about how awful your stay is going to be on your bed) I would recommend DO NOT STAY HERE if you are going to be in the hotel at all between 7am and 8pm, Monday to Sunday until the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shmevie
Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we visited City Lodge Hotel V&A during festive with my family, we stayed one night as we were travelling garden route. Rooms were excellent and clean, we will book at city lodge again for our next stay. and the price was very affordable for festive season. Mosemodi le Mosemotsana & Family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M.c S
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the City Lodge Waterfront and the hotel was good. The rooms were very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Karel the manager was very obliging and always accessible to assist with anything. The food was good. I found the pool a bit small though, more like an oversized Jacuzzi, And it was heated. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkHalpern
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing wrong in terms of friendliness or cleanliness, however the rooms itself are rather dated, ugly and really cumbersome. We found things oddly positioned and certain items of furniture to be unnecessary. Even the chair in the room looked like it was thoughtlessly purchased from a department store at the last minute. Found ourselves bumping into things.... Housekeeping was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ziyadj2015
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you liked the location, the cleanliness and our friendly staff. We’re sorry about the aspects of your stay that you did not like and will bring these issues to the attention of management.

Brisbane
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location is on the very edge of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront...no good. Rooms are of a low standard, staff cannot be bothered and our first room had a broken toilet and smelled of piss...a bad "Travelodge" is the best way to discribe this place next to a noisy building site....I do not recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigTeapot
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and will certainly look into the matters you have raised – especially with regards to staff and the broken toilet. Alas, we cannot do anything about the construction work – just like our guests, we’ll be very glad when it is over.

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel in a good position, about 15 minutes walk to the waterfront. Lovely breakfast, clean rooms. Tea making facilities, even a U.K. Three pin power socket. Good service. I would have given max stars if it wasn't for the building work next door of which it's not the hotels fault.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essexeddie
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not a bad place and a great location, just poorly managed, Starting with check in messed up reservation to check out and a messed up bill, they just couldn't seem to get it right including transportation from airport. Decent property with great breakfast and reasonable price, just poor management.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you liked the hotel, the breakfast and the price – we’re sorry about the other issues which we will bring to the attention of management.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was clean and comfortable. The only problem is that the hotel is under construction and the noise can be irritating if you sleeping-in or have come back early from your day's travel. I had breakfast at about 9:30 and was a bit disappointed to see most of the selections had cleared out by then. Perhaps the hotel could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirith2301
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Kirith, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 106 in Cape Town Central
854 reviews
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
528 reviews
3.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
689 reviews
0.3 km away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
314 reviews
0.2 km away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 8,053 - ₹ 11,604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Fresno, California
4 months ago
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
3 months ago
Durban, South Africa
26 days ago
Lagos

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms are well fitted and the service is great”
 of 5 bubbles MarkHalpern, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea facing room”
 of 5 bubbles charliemF4727SZ, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views and they serve the best breakfast, the views outside the breakfast area is the best to view the V&A”
 of 5 bubbles vusumzibernard, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe rooms on the 1st floor and above would get more sunlight. The ground floor room where I was would get quite dark.”
 of 5 bubbles X5817CJahmede, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room seemed quiet but we were very tired.”
 of 5 bubbles conniec353, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay