We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Protea HotelsUS$ 131*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 157*
US$ 131*
Great Deal
US$ 134*
US$ 133*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

945 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 729: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
 Click to rate
Germany
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have been visiting cape town a couple of times already but stood in this hotel my first time. The staff is nice and kindly, the room a clean and fitted with air condition and TV. Internet was for free. The restaurant is suitable for breakfast and dinner (lunch i dont know) ;-) They have good selection of foods for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asgad
Johannesburg
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived late at night and had an early start the next morning, but nothing was too much trouble for the people on this team. The check-in was incredibly efficient as they recognised my fatigue, and they even managed to share a little bit about their history as a prison. In the middle of the night I could hear the foghorn,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AkiJohannesburg
Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well positioned in Cape Town. Rooms are clean, cozy and luxurious. The SPA staff is great. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom in the room is large. Me and my husband are very happy about this stay. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElisaBolzano
Perth
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic location, 2 minutes walk right to the waterfront. Very safe and easily accessible. Staff were helpful and friendly. Only down side was the double bed wasn't very comfy and too small for a tall guy and his girlfriend together. If you are planning on staying ask for a queen or king bed in your room. We asked but none...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca K, Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at our Hotel. Our location is a very popular destination for both the locals and the international tourists as it offers a range of interesting restaurants, shops and entertainment. And the cherry on top is that it is within walking distance of our hotel. We...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here recently for 4 nights and it was the perfect base for tourists wishing to explore Cape Town. Right opposite the hotel you have the bus stop for the hop on hop off tours and the staff there were so helpful and explained the best routes for us etc. We used the buses loads and they went everywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte E
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte E, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you found our Hotel useful as a base while exploring our beautiful countryside. The Hop On Hop Off bus in very popular with both the local and international tourists as it offers many wonderful scenic tours of our stunning city. No holiday is complete without visiting...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Love Protea hotels. Will always be my number one choice if I have the option even though loosing some of its charm with the changes. This hotel is very nicely placed near city centre near highway and close to sea point. Room was adequate but not designed for a business visit . The buffet was terrible,in the in house restaurant,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColmV
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ColmV, We appreciate and thank you for your candid review. It is wonderful to read that you love our brand and that we will always be your number one choice. We are centrally located, which allows our GUESTS easy access to all the Tourist Attractions in and around Cape Town. We have 7 different room types, hence if you...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ideal location and helpful staff make this your best choice for your first time to Cape Town. Connected to the Waterfront so you can walk immediately there (safest and most fun place to be a first-time visitor), quick Uber to Table Mountain, easy highway access for Cape Point and Wine Country, etc. The rooms are great too. Yes it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew H
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andrew H, Wow, thank you for your fantastic review and the high score! You have definitely chosen one of the few hotels who have a fantastic location, which is within walking distance of the Waterfront, and as you mentioned, it is safe with many restaurants and shops to choose from. We are also centrally situated which allows our GUESTS...

São Paulo, SP
Reviewed 1 week ago

UPSIDE Good location if you have an early flight the next day, but you should probably try another hotel that provides more confort for the same price and location. Also, no explanation was clearly provided about the free transfer between the airport and the hotel and we ended up paying $150 for a 5 minutes taxi drive to the place....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo M
Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice little hotel , a former prison but now remodelled and furnished . This was an end of cruise stop over . Walking distance from a wonderful range of restaurants that cater for all tastes . Only criticism was the breakfast room was a long walk to another building on the same grounds . But when you got there the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 271roym
Kokstad, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

perfectly well positioned hotel in cape town .you can walk to the Aquarium and the V&A waterfront. well secured car park so you have peace of mind.will definitely be staying at Protea again and recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mobiltas

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
320 reviews
15.5 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,188 reviews
0.4 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
594 reviews
0.2 km away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a rich piece of history balancing modern-day comfort when you stay at this hotel right next to Cape Town's fabulous V&A Waterfront. Just a minute away from restaurants, theatres and shops, the hotel is perfectly positioned in the heart of the V&A Waterfront and 25km from Cape Town International Airport. The hotel is also near all the main routes to the beaches, mountain walks and city hotspots as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and Cape Town Stadium. The hotel is closely linked with the University of Cape Town's Graduate School of Business and features 18 conference venues, four public lounges, gym, SPA, business centre, 24-hour secure parking - 250 parking bays, airport transfers, laundry service. The hotel boasts with 191 modern environmentally conscious rooms with standard rooms, business suites and family units. All rooms are equipped with minibar fridge, free uncapped WIFI, tea/coffee facilities, air-conditioning, LCD flat screen TV, telephone and laptop-friendly electronic safes. Stonebreakers Restaurant offers a la carte & buffet menus daily in a relaxed atmosphere with magnificent views of both the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. A selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages is available from our full service bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: ₹ 6,163 - ₹ 15,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge South Africa
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each room is unique. Because it was a jail before :-)”
Asgad, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a view of Table Mountain .”
271roym, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“From 1012 you can see Table Mountain. 1011 faced the courtyard.”
Kladower, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Check to see if some rooms are larger than others.”
sugartime4, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms very noisy - wind noise. Side facing rooms - no view.”
diannaw1044, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Protea Hotels
US$ 131* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 134
Booking.comUS$ 133
CancelonUS$ 157
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates